Utah licenses construction trades through the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, DOPL, under the Department of Commerce. Every licensed contractor names a qualifier under Utah Code 58-55-304, the individual whose experience and exam results carry the license.
Requirements checked against the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) published requirements on September 29, 2026.
| Licensing board | Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Utah Department of Commerce, Construction Trades Bureau; one agency for general, residential, electrical, plumbing, HVAC and specialty; no local licensing layer |
|---|---|
| License required when | Not stated |
| What the state calls the qualifier | Qualifier; must be paid for at least 12 hours per week (or 20 percent of operating hours if the company runs under 50 hours a week); owner qualifiers hold at least 20 percent, officers or managers take W2 wages |
| NASCLA exam accepted | partial (Utah is a NASCLA participating agency; a passing score satisfies the two year experience requirement for general classifications only and does not waive the Utah Business and Law exam) |
| Reciprocity and endorsement | Arizona, Nevada, Idaho, Colorado, Wyoming (third party guides only, not confirmed on the DOPL site); endorsement route available via DOPL's Contractor Endorsement map |
| Exam waivers | Endorsement applicants must still pass the Utah Business and Law exam and meet bonding and insurance; Utah has had no separate GC trade exam since May 2019 so there is no trade exam to waive |
| Experience required | 4000 hours (about two years) paid construction experience; substitutes: 2 years as a Utah qualifier, a construction management degree, an active Utah PE license, or a passing NASCLA score |
| Application and exam fees | 175 dollars primary classification |
| Renewal | Licenses expire November 30 of odd numbered years regardless of issue date; renewal 128 dollars every two years |
| Time to license | No firm processing time published; DOPL says contact the office if no response within four weeks of a complete submission |
| Bond and financial requirements | No flat net worth minimum; surety bond only if the financial responsibility standard is not met: 50000 dollars B100 or E100, 25000 dollars R100, 15000 dollars specialty. GL insurance 1000000 dollars per occurrence and 2000000 dollars aggregate from April 20, 2026, H100 included |
| Penalty for unlicensed work | Not stated |
| Time to replace a qualifier | Qualifier and licensee notify DOPL in writing within 10 days of the qualifier's last day; 60 days from that notice to replace the qualifier or the license risks revocation |
| Companies one qualifier may qualify | Up to three licensees at any one time; a fourth requires showing material authority over the additional businesses and getting Division and Commission approval first |
Facts checked on July 14, 2026.
Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file.
Utah runs on education more than trade exams: the general classifications require a 25 hour pre licensure course plus a five hour business and law course, with the division administered exams built on that material and the Utah Contractor Business and Law examination. Utah also participates in the NASCLA Accredited Commercial General Building Contractor exam program, which helps contractors building licenses across multiple states.
Utah requires a Qualifying Agent for all licensed contractor entities.
Yes. The Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), within the Utah Department of Commerce, issues contractor licenses covering general, residential, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, and specialty work. A qualifier, who can qualify up to three licensed companies at once, must hold the required license, pass the applicable exams, and meet Utah's experience, bonding, and insurance requirements to qualify the company.
Utah licenses by scope of work, not by a stated dollar ceiling per license the way Tennessee does. The three general classifications are B100 General Building Contractor (nearly all construction work except electrical, plumbing, factory built housing, HVAC, and elevators, though B100 can do HVAC on single family homes and buildings up to four units), E100 General Engineering Contractor (heavy construction such as roads and utilities), and R100 Residential and Small Commercial Contractor. R101 is a narrower residential remodel classification limited to non structural work and to individual projects under 50000 dollars including materials and labor, and an R101 holder cannot hold any other specialty classification (Cornell LII mirror of Utah Admin Code R156-55a-301). B200 and R200 cover modular unit and factory built housing installation. There are roughly 15 specialty S series classifications, including solar, carpentry and flooring, masonry and siding, asphalt and concrete, drywall and paint, roofing, foundation and excavation, landscape, HVAC through the legacy S350, radon mitigation, fire suppression, boiler and waste water, sign installation, elevator, and a case by case S700 limited scope license, plus the separate E200 or E201 general or residential electrical lines and the P200 or P201 general or residential plumbing lines (Cornell LII mirror of Utah Admin Code R156-55a-301). A licensee may hold up to three specialty classifications at once in addition to any general classification.
Utah licenses the company through a qualifier, and Utah sets a specific cap: one individual can qualify up to three licensees at any one time. Qualifying a fourth or further company requires showing the Division and the licensing Commission that the person has material authority over the additional businesses and obtaining their approval first (Utah Admin Code R156-55a-304, verified via utrules.elaws.us mirror). A qualifier also has to stay actively involved, meaning paid for at least 12 hours of work per week for the business, or for at least 20 percent of the business's total operating hours if the company runs fewer than 50 hours a week. Owners take that pay as profit distributions or dividends and must hold at least 20 percent ownership, while officers or managers take it as W2 wages.
When a qualifier leaves, both the qualifier and the licensee are required to notify DOPL in writing within 10 days of the qualifier's last day. The license stays in force for 60 days after the qualifier's last day (Utah Code 58-55-304(6)), so the licensee has 60 days from that last day, not from the date of notice, to replace the qualifier. Missing that window can put the license at risk of revocation (Utah DOPL contracting FAQ).
ProV Exams is DOPL's contractor exam vendor, and no pre approval is needed to sit for an exam (Utah DOPL contractor exam information). A Utah Business and Law exam is required for B100, E100, H100, R100, E200, E201, P200, and P201, and electrical or plumbing classifications additionally require the qualifier to already hold the relevant Master license. Exams run either in person at one of 21 ProV testing centers or online with remote proctoring through Examroom AI. Candidates get three attempts, 30 days apart for the first retake and then 180 days apart for any attempt after that. Since May 2019, Utah has not required a separate trade knowledge exam for general contractors, so passing the NASCLA exam or meeting one of the other experience substitutes above is what candidates lean on instead of a Utah specific trade test (Utah Department of Commerce; NASCLA, participating state agencies page for Utah). ProV is the exam vendor named here; testing vendors can change, so confirm ProV remains current before relying on this detail (Utah DOPL contractor exam information).
Utah's Construction Trades Bureau is a listed participating agency for the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors (NASCLA, official participating state agencies page). In Utah's case, a passing NASCLA score satisfies the two year experience requirement for a general classification, but it is not a waiver of the Utah Business and Law exam, which every general applicant still has to pass separately through ProV. This route only applies to the general classifications, not to electrical, plumbing, or HVAC.
The vendor, testing format, retake cadence, and center count are confirmed directly at Utah Department of Commerce: ProV as vendor, 21 centers plus Examroom AI remote proctoring, and three attempts with a 30 day wait before the first retake and 180 day waits after that. The fee, ISBN, and content outline details below reflect the bulletin dated at the end of this section; confirm the exact current fee or edition at Prov or PSI Exams before relying on it.
Four exams matter most for Utah work: the Utah Business and Law exam every general classification qualifier sits, the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractor that a lot of out of state agents already hold, the Master Electrician Rule and Laws exam an E200 or E201 qualifier must have passed before they can qualify a company, and the Utah HVAC Written Exam tied to the H100 rollout. All Utah specific written exams are delivered by Prov Inc (Prov); the NASCLA exam is delivered nationwide by PSI Services LLC (PSI Exams) under contract to NASCLA, not by Prov.
Utah Business and Law Exam. Vendor is Prov, scheduled online at Prov exam registration (choose "UT Contracting" as the certifying body, then "Business and Law" or the Spanish language version) or by phone at 801 733 4455, staffed 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Mountain time Monday through Friday. It is 60 scored questions in a 2 hour window, computer based, cut score 70 percent (42 of 60), open book. Only one primary reference book comes in with the candidate: NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law, and Project Management 4th Edition (ISBN 978 1 948558 15 0), or the Utah Contractor Education Book (HBA) 11th Edition 2020 from the Home Builder Association of Utah, or its Spanish edition, or The Utah Contractor Business and Law Manual (AGC) 1st edition from the Associated General Contractors of Utah. Older or newer printings of these are allowed, though the bulletin says the exam is written against the newest edition. Six Utah statutes and rules are also available directly on screen during the test through an in program lookup tool, not brought in physically: the DOPL General Rule R156 1, the Construction Trades Licensing Act Title 58 Chapter 55, the Trades Licensing Act Rule R156 55a, the Workers Compensation Act Title 34A Chapter 2, the Centralized New Hire Registry Act Title 35A Chapter 7, and the Pre construction and Construction Liens statute Title 38 Chapter 1A. The content outline splits the 60 questions as Business Organization 4, Licensing 10, Estimating and Bidding 6, Contract Management 6, Project Management 5, Labor Laws 6, Lien Laws 3, Financial Management 6, Risk Management 5, Tax Laws 5, and Safety 4. Tabbing and highlighting follow Prov's standard rule, stated in the attached candidate instructions handout: permanent tabs only (gummed tabs, self adhesive tabs, or insertable dividers for three ring binders), no movable tabs or Post it notes, highlighting and underlining allowed in pen only and never added during the test itself, no handwritten notes anywhere in a reference book, no photocopied books unless the exam details say so, and nothing glued, taped, or stickered into a book. It is offered at 17 fixed Prov centers stretching from Logan (Bridgerland Technical College, Utah State University) through Ogden, five separate Salt Lake City area campuses, Orem, Ephraim, Price, Richfield, Blanding, Cedar City, and St. George (Dixie State University), or remotely at home through Prov's Examroom service (needs a computer under three to four years old, Chrome or Firefox, a working webcam and microphone, and upload speed over 3 Mbps). The bulletin names no neighboring state testing option since this is a Utah specific exam. A failed attempt requires a 30 day wait before retaking; after three failed attempts the wait becomes 180 days between each further attempt. The fee is 85 dollars every time, first sitting or retake (current bulletin: "UT Contractors CIB 2025.08.12," Prov Inc 2025).
NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractor. Vendor is PSI Services LLC under contract to NASCLA; Utah's Construction Trades Bureau accepts a passing score to satisfy the two year general classification experience requirement, but it does not replace the Utah Business and Law exam above. Scheduling is a two step process: apply and get pre approved by NASCLA at NASCLA exam application portal first, then PSI emails a candidate ID and a scheduling link; book online at PSI NASCLA exam portal or by phone at 855 746 8177. The exam is 115 scored questions across 330 minutes, computer based, with 10 additional unscored pretest questions mixed into the same sitting, their time already folded into the 330 minutes. Cut score is 81 of 115, about 70 percent. It is open book, though the bulletin is explicit that answers to code questions are graded only against the specific listed code editions, while non code references can be an earlier or later edition at the candidate's own risk. The content outline across 12 areas totals 115 items: General Requirements 31, Site Construction 25, Concrete 15, Masonry 6, Electrical Systems 6, Wood 6, Thermal and Moisture Protection 5, Doors Windows and Glazing 5, Mechanical and Plumbing Systems 5, Finishes 4, Metals 4, and Procurement and Contracting Requirements 3. The reference list runs to roughly 20 named texts and codes, among them the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management Basic 14th Edition, International Building Code 2021 or 2024, 29 CFR Part 1926 (OSHA) 2023 edition or PSI's OSHA Excerpts 2025, ACI 318 14 or ACI 318 19 (2022), ICC A117.1 2017, Construction Project Management 4th edition (2014) or 5th edition (2022) by Gould and Joyce, Construction Jobsite Management 4th edition (2017) or 5th edition (2024) by Mincks and Johnston, Mechanical and Electrical Systems for Construction Managers 4th Edition 2024, Carpentry and Building Construction 2016, Modern Masonry 9th edition 2020, and the Gypsum Construction Handbook 7th edition 2014, plus narrower trade titles covering precast erectors, steel joists, steel deck, post tensioning, EIFS, and stormwater plans. The exact current list of all 20 plus reference texts, with publishers and ISBNs, appears in the NASCLA Candidate Information Bulletin itself; a physical diagram and blueprint packet is also handed out at the test center as part of the exam. References may be highlighted, underlined, and tabbed with permanent tabs only; temporary tabs such as Post it notes are not allowed and must be removed before the exam starts, and references must otherwise be unmarked, with no loose or attached extra papers. Test sites are nationwide PSI centers; the exact list only appears once a candidate schedules, and the bulletin names no specific Utah cities. The bulletin's identification rules mention a remote testing option, excluding military ID specifically for remote testing, but do not spell out the remote platform, hours, or system requirements the way Prov's Examroom pages do; confirm those details directly on the scheduling portal before relying on them. Retakes: up to three sitting attempts within one year of NASCLA's application approval date, with no cooling off period stated in the bulletin between those three attempts, only a requirement to reapply for a fresh one year window if all three are used without passing. The fee is 130 dollars, valid for one year from the date of payment (current bulletin: PSI Candidate Information Bulletin for the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractor, updated 7/7/2026, PSI Services LLC).
Utah Master Electrician Rule and Laws Examination. This is the exam a would be E200 or E201 qualifier must pass to hold the Master Electrician license DOPL requires before that person can qualify a general or residential electrical contracting company; it replaced separate Theory and Code exams for Master candidates starting August 1, 2025. Journeyman and Residential Electrician candidates instead sit a combined Theory and Code exam of their own: 100 questions, 240 minutes, 75 percent cut score. Vendor is Prov, scheduled at provexam.com/scheduler or by phone at 801 733 4455. It is 80 scored questions in a 240 minute (4 hour) window, computer based, cut score 75 percent (60 of 80), open book. The content outline across 21 areas totals 80 items: Current, Resistance, Voltage Drop 8; DOPL Licensing Act 8; Construction Trades Licensing Act 7; Electricians Licensing Act Administrative Rule 7; General DOPL Licensing Laws Administrative Rule 7; Grounding and Bonding 5; NFPA 70E 5; Utah Labor Code 5; Services, Feeders, and Branch Circuits 4; Utah NEC Amendments 4; Special Occupancies and Equipment 3; Conductors and Cables 3; Motors and Controllers 2; Overcurrent Protection 2; Special Conditions 2; Utah Health and Safety 2; Utah Occupational Health and Safety 2; Communications Systems 1; Definitions and General Requirements 1; Lighting and General Use Equipment 1; and Raceways and Enclosures 1. Reference list: NFPA 70, National Electrical Code 2023; Ugly's Electrical References 2023 (Jones and Bartlett); the Utah DOPL Licensing Act Title 58 Chapter 1; the Utah General Rule R156 1; the Utah Electricians Licensing Act Rule R156 55b (2020); and the Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Title 58 Chapter 55. Tabbing and highlighting follow the same Prov policy described for the Business and Law exam above: permanent tabs only, pen highlighting and underlining only, no handwritten notes, no loose papers, nothing glued or stickered in, as stated in the candidate instructions handout shipped with this bulletin. Written exams run at Prov's statewide Utah network from Logan to St. George, or remotely at home through Examroom; the hands on practical electrician exam, separate from this written Law and Rules exam, is offered at only four fixed Prov testing centers in Utah with no remote option, per the bulletin's own FAQ. No neighboring state centers are named. Retakes require a 30 day wait after a fail; after six failed attempts the wait becomes 120 days between each further attempt, looser than the Business and Law exam's three attempt trigger. The fee is 85 dollars per written sitting and 25 dollars per practical task, the same price whether it is a first attempt or a retake (current bulletin: "UTElectrical_CIB 2025.11.26," Prov Inc 2025).
Utah HVAC Written Exam. This is the exam tied to the H100 classification that takes effect for applications submitted online or postmarked on or after April 20, 2026, as described in the trades overlay section of this page. The bulletin for this exam was published ahead of that date and already reflects the new program. Vendor is Prov, scheduled at Prov exam registration (choose "UT HVAC," then "Utah HVAC Written Exam") or provexam.com/scheduler, or by phone or text at 801 733 4455. The exam contains 110 items on screen, of which 100 are scored and 10 are unscored pilot items mixed in unlabeled, in a 2 hour window, computer based, cut score 70 percent. It is open book. The content outline covers General Knowledge 17 (understanding and applying the International Mechanical Code, how the National Electrical Code applies to HVAC equipment installation, factors affecting heat gain and loss, heat pump installation and service, hot water and chilled water system terms, and fume or exhaust system codes), Systems and Sizing 16 (indoor air quality and energy saving accessories, humidifier types, single, multiple, and satellite compressor systems, basic pressure testing requirements, and HVAC design principles), Rules and Law 25, Plan Reading 8 (reading blueprints and architectural plans, applying the NEC to HVAC equipment, and pulling heating information from drawings or the job site), Maintenance 7 (solder and solder flux uses, and isolating and correcting malfunctions in heat pumps and gas heating systems), Refrigeration Systems 7 (refrigerant identification and classification, piping hangers and supports, refrigeration cycle components, vent system selection, duct sizing, and condensate piping design), Piping 7 (cutting, reaming, and threading ferrous pipe, flare and compression tubing joints, and purge gas identification for brazing), Math and Calculations 7 (basic air distribution system measurements), and Electrical 6 (isolating power, load, and control circuit problems, applying the Energy Conservation Code, and HVAC electrical components), plus the 10 unscored pilot items. The reference list: International Mechanical Code 2024 and the Utah Amendments to the International Mechanical Code 2015; International Fuel Gas Code 2024 and the Utah Amendments to the International Fuel Gas Code 2015; International Residential Code 2024; Residential Load Calculation, Manual J, 8th Edition Version 2.5 (ISBN 978 1 892765 25 3); Manual D, Residential Duct Systems, 3rd Edition Version 2.5 (ISBN 978 1 892765 43 7); Manual S, Residential Equipment Selection, 3rd edition; the ACCA Duct Slide Rule; Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning 22nd Edition (ISBN 978 1 63563 877 6); Utah Administrative Code R156 1 (specifically sections 102, 307, 308, 309, and 501); the Construction Trades Licensing Act Rule R156 55a (sections 301, 302, 303, 304, 308, 501, 502, 503, and 602); and the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing Act Title 58 Chapter 1 (sections 103, 301, 302, 305, 401, and 501). Both current and previous year code books are explicitly permitted. The HVAC bulletin available for this exam did not include the candidate instructions handout that the Contracting and Electrical bulletins carry, so the specific tabbing and highlighting rule for this exam could not be confirmed here. Since it runs on the same Prov program, the same permanent tabs and pen only highlighting policy most likely applies, but confirm that directly with the board before relying on it. It is offered at 21 fixed Prov centers across Utah (Layton, Logan, Ogden, Nephi, Provo, the Salt Lake City area, Sandy, Cedar City, Kanab, St. George, plus Ephraim, Price, and Richfield in central Utah), or remotely at home through Examroom if the candidate's system qualifies. No neighboring state centers are named. Retakes require a 30 day wait after a fail; after three failed attempts the wait becomes 180 days between each further attempt, the same cadence as the Business and Law exam. The fee is 85 dollars per sitting, first attempt or retake (current bulletin: "UTHVAC_CIB 2026.04.09," Prov Inc 2026).
Current bulletins for this section: "UT Contractors CIB 2025.08.12" (Prov Inc, Utah Business and Law); the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin for the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractor, updated 7/7/2026 (PSI Services LLC); "UTElectrical_CIB 2025.11.26" (Prov Inc, Utah Electrical Exams, Master Electrician Rule and Laws); and "UTHVAC_CIB 2026.04.09" (Prov Inc, Utah HVAC Written Exam). Checked July 14, 2026.
The baseline is 4000 hours, about two years, of paid construction industry work experience. Utah accepts several substitutes for that clock: two or more years already served as the qualifier on a Utah contractor license, a two year or four year construction management degree, an active Utah professional engineer license, or a passing score on the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors (Utah Department of Commerce, general contractor application page).
Utah does not require a flat net worth minimum to get licensed, but it does require every contractor to meet a financial responsibility standard, and if that standard is not met, DOPL requires a surety bond instead (Utah Admin Code R156-55a-602, verified via Cornell LII and Justia mirrors). The bond requirement is triggered by things like delinquent tax, payroll, workers compensation, or liability insurance debts within the past two years, a bankruptcy within the past seven years, a judgment within the past five years, or negative net worth where liabilities exceed assets. When a bond is required, the amount is 50000 dollars for a B100 or E100, 25000 dollars for an R100, and 15000 dollars for any specialty classification, though DOPL and the licensing commission can adjust the amount up or down based on the contractor's actual financial statements (Utah DOPL contractor insurance requirements). General liability insurance is required at 1000000 dollars per occurrence and 2000000 dollars aggregate from April 20, 2026 onward, with the H100 HVAC classification included in that requirement.
A firm processing timeline is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. DOPL's own guidance is to contact the office if there has been no response within four weeks of a complete submission (Utah DOPL contracting FAQ). Contractor licenses in Utah expire on November 30 of odd numbered years, regardless of when in the cycle they were issued (Utah DOPL contracting FAQ). The application fee is 175 dollars for the primary classification, and renewal is 128 dollars every two years, due by that same November 30 expiration date in odd numbered years (Utah DOPL fee schedule).
Utah does not have reciprocity. Instead, Utah allows for licensure by endorsement (Utah DOPL contracting FAQ). DOPL points applicants to a Contractor Endorsement to Utah map to check whether their current state has an equivalent license, but endorsement applicants still have to pass the Utah Business and Law exam and meet Utah's bonding and insurance requirements. A claim that Utah has standing bilateral reciprocity for general contractors and electricians with Arizona, Nevada, Idaho, Colorado, and Wyoming is incorrect for general contracting: DOPL's own language rules out reciprocity by name and describes endorsement instead, which is a real but different path, since endorsement still requires passing Utah's own law exam rather than a straight license swap. When an applicant already holds a license from another state, the correct term for Utah's process is endorsement, not reciprocity.
Electrical work runs through E200 General Electrical and E201 Residential Electrical, and both require the qualifier to already hold a Master Electrician license. Plumbing runs through P200 General Plumbing and P201 Residential Plumbing, both requiring a Master Plumber qualifier (Utah Department of Commerce, general contractor application page). NASCLA also runs a separate electrical exam track through Utah's Electricians Licensing Board, but that route only supports the endorsement pathway for someone bringing an out of state electrician license to Utah; it does not substitute for or waive Utah's own Master Electrician Rule and Laws exam for anyone licensing fresh in Utah (NASCLA, electrical exams participating state agencies page for Utah).
The H100 HVAC classification is fully in effect. HB 442, passed in the 2025 legislative session, is the law behind the change; the H100 rule took effect March 30, 2026, and any application submitted online or postmarked on or after April 20, 2026 must meet the H100 standard. That standard means an RMGA certificate or an equivalent Certified Natural Gas Technician credential accepted by DOPL for the qualifier, two years of HVAC specific experience verified by W2 forms, and passing both the Utah HVAC written exam and the Utah Business and Law exam through ProV (Utah DOPL contracting). The legacy S350 specialty classification did not simply disappear for existing holders: anyone who held an S350 license in good standing on January 1, 2026 is being carried as an Interim H100 Qualifier, with that interim status good through November 30, 2027, giving existing HVAC contractors time to meet the new natural gas certification and experience standard. The exact mechanics of the interim qualifier status could not be confirmed on the materials reviewed for this page, so confirm the January 1, 2026 and November 30, 2027 dates directly with DOPL before relying on them.
General liability insurance minimums also stepped up on that same April 20, 2026 date. Utah Admin. Code R156-55a-302d requires every licensed contractor, H100 included, to carry at least 1000000 dollars per incident and 2000000 dollars in total, and DOPL's contracting page states the same 1 million and 2 million minimums for the new H100 license. The 3000000 dollar total that some filing services quote for H100 actually comes from R156-55a-305a, which covers only unlicensed contractors claiming the exemption for projects between 3000 and 7000 dollars, so it does not apply to a licensed HVAC contractor.
A single agency handles contractor licensing in Utah. The Division of Professional Licensing, known as DOPL, inside the Utah Department of Commerce, licenses general, residential, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, and specialty contractors statewide, all under one Construction Trades Bureau (Utah DOPL contracting, NASCLA). Unlike states such as Florida that split electrical off into its own board, Utah runs every trade through the same DOPL desk. There is no separate local or county licensing layer for contractors in Utah.
Official Licensing Authority
All contractor license applications, renewals, and qualifying agent changes must go through this board.
We place a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a full time W-2 employee and prepare the qualifier filing with the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL). Tell us your trade and what you have going on, and pick a time for a discovery call. Or call 615-219-2110.
Provide your information for a compliance assessment.
Contractor licensing and qualifying agent guides from The Licensing Company.
What a contractor license is, who needs one, and the board, dollar threshold and exams in every state.
Learn the definition, role, and legal responsibilities of a qualifying agent.
Get matched with a verified, licensed qualifying agent in your state and trade.
Turn your active contractor license into additional income by qualifying other businesses.
Understand qualifier requirements, the legal process, and how to find one in your state.
What a responsible managing officer and a responsible managing employee are, and how the two differ.