Kentucky has no statewide general contractor license. State licensing runs through the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction, which licenses electrical contractors, master electricians and electricians, master and journeyman plumbers, and master HVAC contractors and mechanics.
Requirements checked against the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction published requirements on October 1, 2026.
| Licensing board | No statewide general contractor license; general contracting is city and county level. Trades (electrical, plumbing, HVAC, boiler, fire sprinkler) are licensed by the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC) in Frankfort. |
|---|---|
| License required when | Not stated |
| What the state calls the qualifier | Designated master license holder on the company trade license (master electrician, master plumber, or master HVAC contractor); no general contractor qualifier |
| NASCLA exam accepted | no |
| Reciprocity and endorsement | Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia (electrical only). Louisiana is named by a secondary source but not confirmed by the board. |
| Exam waivers | Electrical reciprocity application for licensees of Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia requires copy of active out of state license, letter of good standing, application, fee, photo, driver's license. Confirm current details with DHBC before relying on an exam waiver. No reciprocity stated for plumbing or HVAC. |
| Experience required | Master Electrician: 16,000 hours since age sixteen plus exam. Master Plumber: journeyman license held 2 years within past 5 years. Master HVAC: 2 years holding a journeyman license. |
| Application and exam fees | Electrical Contractor 400 dollars per two year term (Master Electrician 200, Electrician 100). Master Plumber 150 dollar exam fee plus 250 dollar license fee. Master HVAC 250 dollar application plus 150 dollar exam fee. Prov exam fee 80 dollars for electrical and HVAC. |
| Renewal | Electrical: 400 dollars per two years for contractor. Plumbing: 250 dollars annually. HVAC: 250 dollars annually. |
| Time to license | No published official processing timeline for DHBC trade licenses. |
| Bond and financial requirements | No bond or net worth stated. Electrical Contractor must carry general liability plus workers compensation and unemployment insurance proof. |
| Penalty for unlicensed work | Not stated |
| Time to replace a qualifier | Electrical: 30 days to pass a replacement exam or the license stops being valid. Plumbing and HVAC: 180 days only when the master dies (notify within 10 days); no stated day count for a voluntary departure, notify DHBC immediately. |
| Companies one qualifier may qualify | No numbered cap found in any source. Confirm with DHBC before relying on any limit. |
Facts checked on August 15, 2026.
Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file.
General contractors answer to local governments instead: Louisville Metro requires contractor licensing through its Division of Construction Review, and Lexington requires contractor registration with Building Inspection before any permit is issued. Where the state does license a trade, the license is tied to a designated master licenseholder, which is where a qualifying agent arrangement matters in Kentucky.
Kentucky requires a Qualifying Agent for all licensed contractor entities.
Kentucky has no state general contractor license. The Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC) licenses electrical, plumbing, and HVAC contractors individually. Each trade business license must have its own qualifying individual, a Master Electrician, Master Plumber, or Master HVAC Contractor, attached to it.
The Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction, DHBC, is the state authority for construction trade licensing, but its authority covers trades rather than general contracting (confirmed on Kentucky Housing Buildings and Construction). DHBC licenses and certifies electricians and electrical contractors, plumbers and plumbing contractors, HVAC mechanics and HVAC contractors, boiler contractors, and sprinkler and fire alarm contractors, plus building inspectors. Kentucky does not have a state general contractor license. The trades DHBC licenses, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, carry state level requirements, and each business license must have a qualifying individual attached to it.
None of Kentucky's three state licensed trades, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, work like a general state GC qualifier model where one broad license covers all commercial work. Each trade carries its own qualifying credential, Master Electrician, Master Plumber, or Master HVAC Contractor, that must be attached to that trade's contractor business license specifically. A cap on how many companies one qualifying individual may represent at the same time is not stated in the regulation text reviewed for this page for electrical, plumbing, or HVAC. Confirm this directly with DHBC before assuming there is no limit, especially if a decision depends on it.
One source describes an initial electrical contractor application as remaining pending for up to one year after submission while the applicant completes outstanding requirements, with license issuance after a passed exam typically taking one to two weeks to process. These timelines could not be confirmed against a readable DHBC source for this page; treat them as general planning figures and confirm current processing times directly with DHBC.
DHBC's Electrical Division issues three credentials: Electrician (the employee level credential), Electrical Contractor (the business license), and Master Electrician (the qualifying individual). An Electrical Contractor entity must have a designated Master Electrician attached to it. Industry licensing guides put the experience requirement for the Master Electrician credential at about six years, roughly 12,000 hours, of practical experience under a licensed master before a candidate can sit the exam. This exact hour count could not be confirmed from a readable DHBC source for this page; confirm it directly with DHBC before relying on it as a fixed number. The business and law portion of the electrical contractor exam is administered by ICC. The trade exam is currently administered by Prov, under contract to Kentucky HBC, as confirmed through DHBC's HVAC exam registration path and the 2025 candidate bulletin, both hosted on Prov. Older sources name PSI as the exam vendor; confirm the current vendor with DHBC before relying on an older source.
Kentucky is on NASCLA's current list of participating agencies for the NASCLA Accredited Electrical Examination Program, confirmed on NASCLA's participating state agencies page, which names the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings, and Construction among roughly nineteen listed agencies. This is a narrower program than the NASCLA Commercial Building Contractor exam, which does not apply in Kentucky since the state has no general contractor license. A Master Electrician or Electrical Contractor credential earned through the NASCLA electrical track can transfer into Kentucky's electrical licensing, subject to DHBC's application and business and law requirements.
If the designated Master Electrician leaves the business: under 815 KAR 35:060, Section 10(2), confirmed on Kentucky Legislature, when the designated Master Electrician leaves employment or no longer holds an interest in the entity, the entity must designate a replacement who has already passed the electrical contractor's exam, or who passes the exam within thirty days. Failing to have a qualified replacement within that thirty day window means the license is no longer qualified to be licensed.
Electrical contractors are commonly cited as needing general liability insurance of at least $500,000, workers compensation coverage if the business has employees, and in some sources a $5,000 surety bond tied to license release. These dollar figures could not be confirmed from a readable DHBC source for this page; confirm the exact insurance and bond requirements with DHBC or the current application packet.
DHBC licenses plumbers at the Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master levels, and licenses the Plumbing Contractor at the business level. A Master Plumber applicant must have held a valid Journeyman license for at least two years within the five years before applying, and must pass the Kentucky master plumber exam with a minimum of eighty percent on each portion, as summarized in industry guides covering Kentucky Revised Statutes chapter 318, with the underlying statute at Kentucky Legislature. The eighty percent threshold could not be confirmed on a readable board source for this page; confirm it directly with DHBC. Reciprocity exists on a case by case basis: Kentucky Revised Statutes 318.040 allows the department to license an applicant who holds a valid license in another state only if that state has a statewide plumbing code, an exam at least equal to Kentucky's, and an agreement to reciprocate, confirmed via Justia's rendering of KRS 318.040. Confirm the current statute text on Kentucky Legislature and check with the board on whether a specific state qualifies.
If the designated Master Plumber leaves the business, 815 KAR 20:030 sets a 180 day interim period, but that period applies specifically to the Master Plumber's death, not to an ordinary resignation or termination. When a Master Plumber leaves the company for other reasons, the regulation requires notifying the department of the change; a fixed replacement deadline for that scenario is not stated in the regulation text reviewed for this page. The 180 day period applies only to the death scenario and should not be assumed to apply to an ordinary departure.
DHBC's HVAC Division issues Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master HVAC credentials; the Master HVAC Contractor is the qualifying credential for the business. The Journeyman exam has 60 questions, is open book, and carries a passing score around 70 percent. The Master exam has 100 questions, is also open book, carries a passing score around 70 percent, and has an exam fee of roughly $80, per the 2025 candidate information bulletin hosted on Prov and corroborated by independent industry guides. As with plumbing, 815 KAR 8:010 sets a 180 day interim period if the Master HVAC Contractor leaves the business, but that period applies specifically to death, with a 10 day notification requirement to the department. For an ordinary resignation, the regulation requires notifying the department of the change in representation; a fixed replacement deadline for that scenario is not stated in the regulation text reviewed for this page.
Official Licensing Authority
All contractor license applications, renewals, and qualifying agent changes must go through this board.
We place a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a full time W-2 employee and prepare the qualifier filing with the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction. Tell us your trade and what you have going on, and pick a time for a discovery call. Or call 615-219-2110.
Provide your information for a compliance assessment.
Contractor licensing and qualifying agent guides from The Licensing Company.
What a contractor license is, who needs one, and the board, dollar threshold and exams in every state.
Learn the definition, role, and legal responsibilities of a qualifying agent.
Get matched with a verified, licensed qualifying agent in your state and trade.
Turn your active contractor license into additional income by qualifying other businesses.
Understand qualifier requirements, the legal process, and how to find one in your state.
What a responsible managing officer and a responsible managing employee are, and how the two differ.