Oklahoma Contractor License: Requirements, Cost and Exams

Oklahoma has no statewide general contractor license, a point the City of Oklahoma City states outright, so general building work is governed by local contractor registration in cities like Oklahoma City and Tulsa.

Requirements checked against the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB) published requirements on September 29, 2026.

Oklahoma contractor license requirements at a glance

Licensing boardConstruction Industries Board (CIB); no statewide general contractor license, CIB licenses electrical, plumbing, mechanical (HVAC), and roofing only
License required whenNo dollar threshold; no state GC license, a state credential is needed only if the contractor performs one of the four licensed trades, cities run their own registrations
What the state calls the qualifierNot stated
NASCLA exam acceptedno
Reciprocity and endorsementElectrical journeyman: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Texas, Wyoming; plumbing journeyman: Arkansas; none for mechanical or roofing
Exam waiversReciprocity requires a current license that was not grandfathered and has been held at least one year; the board does not state which exam is excused
Experience requiredElectrical Unlimited Contractor 12,000 hours including 4,000 hours and two years as licensed unlimited journeyman; plumbing and mechanical contractor tiers need journeyman qualifications plus one additional year
Application and exam feesPlumbing or mechanical contractor license 330 dollars (300 dollar license fee plus 30 dollar processing fee); PSI exam fee 92 dollars per portion
RenewalElectrical, mechanical, and plumbing contractor renewal 200 dollars; 300 dollars with the late fee after 30 days past expiration
Time to licenseRoofing registration issued or denied within 25 calendar days; other trades have no published turnaround, CIB says wait 30 days before calling
Bond and financial requirementsElectrical, plumbing, mechanical: 5,000 dollar surety bond (or waiver affidavit) plus 50,000 dollars general liability; roofing: 500,000 dollars residential, 1,000,000 dollars commercial liability, no bond; no net worth or financial statement
Penalty for unlicensed workNot stated
Time to replace a qualifierNo CIB published replacement rule found; a 30 day figure that circulates online is not attributed to the CIB
Companies one qualifier may qualifyNot addressed anywhere on the CIB site

Facts checked on September 2, 2026.

Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file.

At the state level, the Construction Industries Board (CIB) licenses electrical, plumbing, and mechanical contractors and registers every roofing contractor under the Roofing Contractor Registration Act. Trade licenses are issued to individuals, and a firm's ability to work rides on that licensed person holding a defined position in the company. Commercial roofing adds an endorsement that the firm's designated qualifying party earns by exam.

Oklahoma has no statewide general contractor license. The Construction Industries Board licenses only electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and roofing, and only if you personally perform that trade. Electrical contractors must be an owner, partner, or officer of the firm; mechanical allows a qualifying employee; plumbing's standard is less clear and should be confirmed with the board.

The qualifier rule

Replacement rules and application timelines

Whether there is a set number of days for a company to replace a departing electrical, plumbing, or mechanical qualifier is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. One claim that circulates states that a departing qualifier who is not replaced within 30 days automatically suspends the license under 59 O.S. Section 1800.7. That citation does not hold up: Section 1800.7 falls inside the Alarm, Locksmith and Fire Sprinkler Industry Act, not the Electrical License Act, which is Sections 1680 through 1697 of the same title. Treat that specific 30 day figure and statute citation as unreliable rather than a confirmed CIB rule, and confirm the actual replacement timeline with the board directly rather than relying on a quoted number. For roofing registration specifically, the enrolled text of House Bill 1628 amending 59 O.S. Section 1151.10 does give a real number: the registrar has 25 calendar days from the date of application to either issue or deny a roofing registration. Beyond that, the CIB's own frequently asked questions page only offers a rough courtesy window, advising applicants not to call the office unless more than 30 days have passed since the application was mailed, which is not itself a promised turnaround. According to the CIB's contractor renewal form, renewal for electrical, mechanical, and plumbing contractor licenses costs 200 dollars, rising to 300 dollars with a late fee after 30 days past expiration.

Exams

NASCLA acceptance

Not applicable in the normal sense, because Oklahoma runs no state general contractor license for NASCLA's commercial exam to plug into. Oklahoma is not on NASCLA's own current participating agency list for the Accredited Commercial Building Contractor exam. The full current list has 20 entries: Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board, Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina Contractors' Licensing Board, South Carolina Residential Builders Commission, Tennessee, Utah, Virgin Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia, and Oklahoma is not one of them. A separate Oklahoma page exists on NASCLA under supplemental forms; that page appears tied to a different NASCLA program, not the commercial exam, and its exact purpose is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page.

Testing and exams (from the candidate bulletins)

Every trade the CIB licenses, electrical, mechanical (HVACR), plumbing, and roofing, tests through the same single PSI candidate information bulletin, "State of Oklahoma Electrical, Mechanical, Roofing, and Plumbing Examinations Candidate Information Bulletin," the live link the CIB's own testing and exam information page points candidates to, where PSI is named as the vendor directly. The detailed figures below reflect the bulletin edition effective December 18, 2025; a candidate who is actively studying should spot check exact numbers against whatever bulletin edition PSI currently posts. Building inspectors and home inspectors are the one CIB program that does not run through PSI; they test through ICC via Prov Exam instead, and that bulletin is not covered here, so nothing below applies to that program. Within the PSI bulletin, each trade carries two separate scored exams a contractor must pass, a shared Business and Law exam and a trade specific exam. The bulletin lists these as distinct line items with their own question counts and reference lists, but the bulletin's own text never states in so many words that both are mandatory for licensure, so treat that pairing as inferred from the bulletin's structure, not a quoted board requirement, and confirm it against the CIB application packet before counting on exactly how many exams a license needs. Below are the four top tier trade exams, one in each of the four licensed trades. Journeyman, limited, residential, and refinery variants of each also exist in the same bulletin with the same format but fewer or different topic weights. The bulletin effective December 18, 2025 only contained a Roofing Business and Law exam and a Roofing Contractor Commercial Endorsement exam, no dedicated Residential Roofing Endorsement exam yet; whether that has since been added is addressed under the roofing exam below.

Unlimited Electrical Contractor

Vendor and scheduling. PSI Services LLC administers the exam under contract to the CIB. Candidates must first be approved by the CIB, then schedule directly with PSI, online through PSI's Oklahoma contractor exam portal or by phone at (855) 834-8750 (Monday to Friday 6:30 am to 9:00 pm, Saturday and Sunday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm, Central time). Telephone registration requires a Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover card.

Question count and time limit. 100 scored items, 240 minutes. Up to 10 additional unscored experimental questions may appear and do not count against the time.

Passing score. 70 percent correct (70 of 100).

Open or closed book. Open book.

What the exam covers, per the bulletin's own content outline: general knowledge (permits and inspections, preservation of structural integrity, needs analysis and estimating), general electrical knowledge (voltage, current, and resistance in series, parallel and combination circuits, AC theory including three phase, the NEC codebook and its definitions, temporary wiring, cranes and hoists, elevators and escalators), electrical installation requirements, services, feeders, and branch circuits, overcurrent protection, grounding and bonding, conductors and cables, raceways and boxes, special occupancies and equipment including swimming pools, low voltage, alarm, signaling and communications systems, lighting and signs, safety, and motors and transformers. The companion Electrical Business and Law exam (50 items, 120 minutes, 70 percent to pass) separately covers bidding and estimating, project management and supervision, contracts, financial and accounting basics, labor and personnel, risk management, payroll and payroll taxes, and licensing requirements. The same Business and Law skeleton is reused for mechanical, plumbing, and roofing with only minor wording changes.

Approved references, with editions. NFPA 70, National Electrical Code, 2023 edition as adopted by the Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission (NEC Handbooks and spiral bound copies of the NEC are explicitly NOT allowed). Code of Federal Regulations, 29 CFR Part 1926 (OSHA), latest available amendments, available free through OSHA or as a purchased hard copy from Mancomm or the PSI Online Store. Ugly's Electrical References by George V. Hart, any edition. For the Electrical Business and Law companion exam the reference list is different: the CIB's own free Unofficial Administrative Rules and Courtesy Exam Study Aids Book, the Oklahoma Electrical Industry Regulations (Title 158, Chapter 40), the Oklahoma Fine Schedule (Title 158, Chapter 10), the Oklahoma Electrical License Act (Title 59, Chapter 40A), the Oklahoma Lien Law (Title 42, Chapter 3), and the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Basic 14th Edition. Except for code books, later editions of any listed reference are allowed; code questions are tested only against the specific edition named.

Tabbing and highlighting rules. Open book, but candidates bring their own copies. References may be highlighted, underlined, and indexed before the exam. Nothing may be written in them during the exam, or the candidate will have the reference confiscated and be reported to the CIB. Tabs must be permanent; Post it notes and other temporary tabs are not allowed and must be removed before the exam starts. Anything downloaded from the internet must be spiral bound, hole punched into a binder, or stapled at the top left corner before it can come into the room. Only a silent, non printing, non programmable calculator is allowed. PSI provides a magnifying glass on request.

Where to test. The bulletin directs candidates to enter their zip code on PSI's scheduling site to see the nearest test centers, in state or out of state; it does not print a static list of Oklahoma city names. Business listings show active PSI Exams test centers in Oklahoma City at 3800 N Classen Blvd and in Tulsa at 2816 E 51st St; confirm the current nearest location directly through PSI's scheduling tool. The bulletin does not mention remote or online proctoring for any of these four trades; every administration is in person on a PSI computer at a physical test center.

Retake rules and fees. Each exam portion costs 92 dollars, charged every time whether it is a first attempt or a retake, and registration fees are not refundable or transferable. There is no expiration on approved eligibility. After a first failure, the wait before retesting is 30 days. For electrical exams specifically, every additional retest after that also carries only a 30 day wait. For every other trade in this bulletin (mechanical, plumbing, roofing), the wait grows to 90 days starting with the second failure onward. According to the CIB's plumbing and mechanical application materials and the PSI bulletin, the application fee schedule is: plumbing or mechanical contractor license, 330 dollars (300 dollar license fee plus 30 dollar processing fee); PSI exam fee, 92 dollars per portion.

HVACR Contractor Unlimited (Mechanical)

Vendor and scheduling. Same PSI vendor and same scheduling channels as electrical above (online through PSI's Oklahoma contractor exam portal or phone (855) 834-8750).

Question count and time limit. 90 scored items, 240 minutes.

Passing score. 70 percent, 63 correct answers out of 90 (the bulletin prints the raw passing count directly).

Open or closed book. Open book.

What the exam covers: electrical knowledge and controls (general electrical theory, motors, DC and AC circuits, controls), natural gas (piping, valves, connectors, accessories, hangers and supports, sizing, materials, testing), air distribution systems (duct definitions, sizing and design, assembly and installation, materials and shapes, insulation, fire and smoke control, hoods and exhaust, testing and balancing, ventilation requirements, plans and symbols), refrigeration and air conditioning systems (theory, refrigerants, equipment sizing and components, piping, installation, operation and troubleshooting), heating systems (theory and types, combustion air, vents and chimneys, equipment sizing and installation, hydronics), and safety. The companion Mechanical Business and Law exam runs on the same bidding, project management, contracts, financial, labor, risk management, payroll, and licensing skeleton as electrical's.

Approved references, with editions. International Mechanical Code, 2018 edition, with Oklahoma revisions. International Fuel Gas Code, 2018 edition, with Oklahoma revisions. ACCA Ductulator (duct slide rule). Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning by Althouse, Turnquist, and Bracciano, 20th or 21st edition, or Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology, 5th edition, 2005. Manual N, Load Calculation for Small Commercial Buildings, 5th edition, 2008 (ACCA). Mathematics for Plumbers and Pipefitters by Lee Smith, 8th edition, 2013. 29 CFR Part 1926 (OSHA), latest amendments. The NCCER Heating, Ventilating, and Air Conditioning Books 1 through 4 are also allowed in the room under the same physical conditions as the other references, even though they were not used to write the exam questions.

Tabbing and highlighting rules. Identical policy to the electrical exam above: highlight, underline, and index before the exam, no writing during it, permanent tabs only, downloaded material bound or stapled at the top left corner, only a silent non programmable calculator, magnifying glass on request.

Where to test. Same PSI network and zip code lookup as electrical above, no static Oklahoma city list in the bulletin, no remote or online proctoring offered.

Retake rules and fees. Same 92 dollar per portion fee, non refundable and non transferable, no eligibility expiration. First failure means a 30 day wait. Because mechanical is not electrical, every failure from the second one onward carries a 90 day wait, not 30.

Plumbing Contractor and Natural Gas

Vendor and scheduling. Same PSI vendor and same scheduling channels as above.

Question count and time limit. 85 scored items, 180 minutes.

Passing score. 75 percent, 64 correct answers out of 85 (a higher bar than electrical's or mechanical's 70 percent).

Open or closed book. Open book.

What the exam covers: general plumbing knowledge and regulations (head pressure, pipe joints and solvent welding, area and volume and water supply friction loss calculations, permits, job costs, fire integrity, condensate disposal, fitting identification), piping and valves across PVC, CPVC, galvanized, copper tubing and piping, polyethylene, PEX, underground, cast iron, and steel, plus connecting dissimilar materials, fixtures and equipment, water supply and backflow protection, drains and sewers including health care plumbing and storm drainage, vents, traps and interceptors and indirect and special waste, isometric drawing analysis, fuel gas (distribution pipe sizing, pressure regulators, hangers, joints, valves, drip legs, water heaters, confined spaces, combustion air, chimneys and vents, permits, cost estimates, testing and inspection), and safety. The companion Plumbing Business and Law exam runs the same shared skeleton described above.

Approved references, with editions. International Plumbing Code, 2018 edition, with Oklahoma revisions. International Fuel Gas Code, 2018 edition, with Oklahoma revisions. Mathematics for Plumbers and Pipefitters by Lee Smith, 8th edition, 2013. 29 CFR Part 1926 (OSHA), latest amendments.

Tabbing and highlighting rules. Same policy as the two exams above: highlight, underline, and index before the exam only, permanent tabs only, no Post it notes, downloaded references bound or stapled at the top left corner, silent non programmable calculator only, magnifying glass on request.

Where to test. Same PSI network and zip code lookup, no static Oklahoma city list in the bulletin, no remote or online proctoring offered.

Retake rules and fees. Same 92 dollar per portion fee structure and no eligibility expiration. First failure, 30 day wait. Plumbing is not electrical, so the second failure onward moves to a 90 day wait.

Roofing Contractor Commercial Endorsement

Vendor and scheduling. Same PSI vendor and same scheduling channels as above; the CIB's testing and exam information page also carries a direct link into the PSI registration portal specifically for roofing.

Question count and time limit. 50 scored items, 150 minutes.

Passing score. 70 percent, 35 correct answers out of 50.

Open or closed book. Open book.

What the exam covers: general roofing knowledge, low slope roofing (the largest single topic weight on this exam), architectural metal roofing systems and sheet metal flashing, moisture and energy control, repairs and reroofing, and safety. The companion Roofing Business and Law exam (50 items, 120 minutes, 70 percent, 35 of 50 to pass) covers the same bidding, project management, contracts, financial, labor, risk management, payroll, and licensing skeleton as the other three trades, with its reference list built from the International Residential Code for One and Two Family Dwellings (2018 edition, with Oklahoma revisions), 29 CFR Part 1926, the Oklahoma Workers' Compensation Act, the Oklahoma Lien Law, and the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Basic 14th Edition.

Approved references, with editions, for the Commercial Endorsement trade exam itself. Architectural Sheet Metal Manual, 2012 (SMACNA). International Building Code, 2018 edition, with Oklahoma revisions. NRCA Roofing Manual, Membrane Roofing Systems, 2023. NRCA Roofing Manual, Metal Panel and SPF Roof Systems, 2024. NRCA Roofing Manual, Steep Slope Roof Systems, 2021 or 2025, with the bulletin noting the 2021 edition stops being allowed as of March 15, 2026, so only the 2025 edition remains valid after that date. NRCA Roofing Manual, Architectural Metal Flashing, Condensation and Air Leakage Control, and Reroofing, 2022. 29 CFR Part 1926 (OSHA), latest amendments.

Important gap. The PSI bulletin effective December 18, 2025 only contained a Roofing Business and Law exam and a Roofing Contractor Commercial Endorsement exam; it did not yet contain a separate Residential Roofing Endorsement exam. That tracks with the roofing history above, since the new residential endorsement exam created by HB 1628 does not need to be sat until the transition window opens January 1, 2027, and a bulletin effective December 2025 would not yet need to carry it. Whether a residential specific exam has since been added to the bulletin should be confirmed with PSI or the CIB directly, closer to the January 2027 date, before relying on that exam's format.

Tabbing and highlighting rules. Same policy as the other three trades: highlight, underline, and index before the exam only, permanent tabs, no Post it notes, downloaded references bound or stapled at the top left corner, silent non programmable calculator only, magnifying glass on request.

Where to test. Same PSI network and zip code lookup, no static Oklahoma city list in the bulletin, no remote or online proctoring offered.

Retake rules and fees. Same 92 dollar per portion fee structure and no eligibility expiration. First failure, 30 day wait. Roofing is not electrical, so the second failure onward moves to a 90 day wait.

What is confirmed and what is not

Confirmed directly from the bulletin's own text, edition effective December 18, 2025: PSI as the sole vendor for all four trades, the exact question counts, time limits, and passing scores for all four flagship exams above, the open book status and full reference lists with editions, the tabbing and highlighting rules (identical across all four trades), the 92 dollar per portion fee, and the 30 versus 90 day retake wait split between electrical and everything else. Not stated in the board or bulletin materials reviewed for this page: a static list of Oklahoma PSI test center cities (the bulletin only offers a zip code lookup tool and names no cities in its own readable text), whether remote or online proctoring exists for any of these programs, the exact mailed paper registration process, whether the Business and Law exam is explicitly mandatory alongside each trade exam for licensure (inferred from the bulletin's structure, not from an explicit statement). Whether the bulletin has been updated with a dedicated Residential Roofing Endorsement exam since its December 18, 2025 effective date should be confirmed directly with PSI or the CIB. ICC's building inspector and home inspector bulletin is not covered here; confirm those programs directly with ICC.

The bulletin these details come from is the "State of Oklahoma Electrical, Mechanical, Roofing, and Plumbing Examinations Candidate Information Bulletin," published by PSI, effective December 18, 2025, available through the CIB's testing and exam information page. Confirm current figures directly with PSI or the CIB before relying on them for a scheduled exam.

Bond and insurance

Bonding and insurance

Active Plumbing, Electrical, and Mechanical Contractors each carry a 5,000 dollar Corporate Surety Bond payable to the CIB, or a bond waiver affidavit instead, plus a minimum of 50,000 dollars commercial general liability insurance with the CIB listed as certificate holder. Letting that insurance lapse deactivates the license immediately. The CIB's active contractor requirements page states it in these exact words: "5,000.00 Corporate Surety Bond," "50,000.00 commercial general liability insurance," and "Failure to keep current insurance will cause your license to become inactive." Roofing runs on a different, much higher insurance bar rather than a bond: a residential only roofing registration needs at least 500,000 dollars general liability, and any roofing contractor doing commercial work needs at least 1,000,000 dollars. Both figures appear in the enrolled text of House Bill 1628 amending 59 O.S. Section 1151.5 and directly on the CIB's own active roofing contractor requirements page, which does not reference a bond requirement for roofing. A CIB issued financial statement or net worth requirement, the kind some other states demand, is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page; Oklahoma's published requirements for these trades rest on bonding and insurance alone.

Who may qualify the company: ownership, not just employment

Oklahoma's own Electrical Application Information form states, for the Unlimited, Limited, and Residential Electrical Contractor tiers alike, that the applicant "must be an Owner, Partner, or Officer in the electrical firm after obtaining and activating license." That form states no employee only path anywhere for the contractor tier. Mechanical is meaningfully different: the CIB's own mechanical contractor page says "All mechanical contractors must be a permanent employee, owner, partner or officer in the mechanical firm," which does open a plain employee path, not just an ownership path.

Plumbing has a partial answer. The CIB's own plumbing contractor page does not spell out ownership language directly; it only points to the underlying law. A summary of that law, the Plumbing License Law of 1955, now codified at 59 O.S. Section 1012, rather than a directly read copy of the statute's own full text, states: "it shall be unlawful for any person, firm, partnership, association or corporation to act as a master plumber or plumbing contractor until such person, or a bona fide member of such partnership, or a bona fide officer of such firm, association, or corporation... shall have qualified and is licensed as a plumbing contractor." That "bona fide member" or "bona fide officer" language reads much closer to electrical's strict Owner, Partner, or Officer model than to mechanical's broader employee friendly language, but that plain English reading is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. It is statute language, not a board confirmed plain answer, so confirm the structure with the board directly before relying on it for a plumbing qualifying agent.

Whether one qualifying individual can qualify more than one firm at a time in any of these trades is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. Confirm this directly with the board before structuring a placement that depends on it.

Reciprocity

Reciprocity and exam waivers

The CIB's current reciprocity guideline page is reachable through the electrical section of the CIB's own site. The old Oklahoma CIB former website reciprocity URL simply redirects to the CIB homepage, but the live page exists at the address above. The current, board confirmed electrical journeyman reciprocity list is Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Texas, and Wyoming. This list has changed: as of September 29, 2026, New Mexico is no longer on the board's own list and Iowa is now on it. A Texas TDLR press release dated February 5, 2026, on master electrician reciprocity with Iowa, is consistent with Iowa being a recent addition. A New Mexico licensed electrician no longer qualifies for Oklahoma reciprocity under the board's current list. The general reciprocity requirements are confirmed directly on this same primary page: the applicant's current license must not be a grandfathered license, and it must have been held for at least one year. Plumbing reciprocity is reported as a single active agreement with Arkansas for plumbing journeymen, per the news section of the CIB's own site; confirm it with the board before relying on it. Mechanical and roofing reciprocity agreements with other states are not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page.

Trades

The four state licensed trades, tiers, and exam vendor

Electrical, plumbing, and mechanical each run the same basic ladder: apprentice, journeyman, then contractor. PSI is the exam vendor for all of them, along with roofing and home inspectors; the CIB's testing and exam information page states plainly "PSI is the testing vendor for electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and roofing exams." Building inspectors test through ICC instead, via Prov Exam.

Electrical breaks into more tiers than the other two: Unlimited Contractor, Limited Contractor for engineers and estimators who are barred from doing apprentice or journeyman field work themselves, Residential Contractor limited to one and two family dwellings, Unlimited Journeyman, Residential Journeyman, and Refinery Journeyman for work strictly inside crude oil refining facilities. These tiers come from the CIB's Electrical Application Information form, revised June 2024. Hour requirements are steep and specific: Unlimited Contractor needs 12,000 verifiable hours including 4,000 hours and two years as a licensed unlimited journeyman and 6,000 hours in commercial or industrial work, all while employed by a licensed electrical contractor; Unlimited Journeyman needs 8,000 hours as a registered apprentice with 4,000 in commercial or industrial work; Residential Contractor and Residential Journeyman have their own separate, somewhat lower hour ladders limited to one and two family dwellings; Limited Contractor requires either an electrical engineering degree plus 8,000 hours, or 16,000 hours with no degree, and that license holder is prohibited from doing apprentice or journeyman field work. Up to 2,000 hours, in most tiers, can be satisfied through verified classroom education instead of field hours. Utility electrical work never counts.

Plumbing and mechanical both use a simpler three tier ladder, apprentice, journeyman, contractor, with the contractor tier requiring the same qualifications as journeyman plus one additional year of experience, per the CIB's plumbing and mechanical contractor pages.

The trades overlay

Because Oklahoma has no state GC license, the trades overlay is not a footnote here, it is the entire state license system. Electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and roofing are the only four trades the state licenses. Everything else, framing, carpentry, painting, concrete, drywall, and general building work itself, has no state license anywhere in Oklahoma, only whatever the city requires.

The residential roofing rules are confirmed directly on the CIB's own news page. House Bill 1628 first created a brand new Residential Roofing Endorsement layered on top of the existing Roofing Contractor Registration. Senate Bill 1873, which became law without the Governor's signature on May 7, 2026, moved the transition period to start January 1, 2027 and set the deadline to actually hold the endorsement at January 1, 2028. Do not read "the transition period starts January 1, 2027" as meaning the endorsement is mandatory that day. It is not. The grandfathering window runs January 1, 2027 to January 1, 2028, and the endorsement only becomes mandatory for every residential roofing contractor on January 1, 2028. Anyone who already held a current commercial roofer endorsement as of January 1, 2027 is fully exempt from both the exam and the extra continuing education. During the grandfathering window a roofer can qualify either by completing 10 hours of CIB approved continuing education specifically for grandfathering, or by passing the PSI exam, minimum score 70 percent. Once obtained, the endorsement carries its own ongoing 4 hours of continuing education annually to keep it active. New applicants who are not already registered before the deadline must pass the exam first, and a first failed attempt means a 30 day wait before retesting, a second failure means a 90 day wait. Roofing labor only crews working directly for an already endorsed contractor, and not supplying any materials themselves, are exempt from needing their own endorsement. The 500,000 dollar residential and 1,000,000 dollar commercial liability insurance minimums remain unchanged under the new endorsement rules. The correct dates to rely on are January 1, 2027 and January 1, 2028, not July 2026.

The board

Who licenses general contractors

Oklahoma has no statewide general contractor license. The Construction Industries Board, known as the CIB and reachable at Oklahoma Construction Industries Board, states on its own site: "General Contractors are not currently required to have a state license in Oklahoma for general contracting." The CIB instead licenses four specific trades statewide, electrical, plumbing, mechanical meaning HVAC, and roofing, plus building inspectors and home inspectors. A general contractor in Oklahoma only needs a state credential if that contractor personally performs or offers to perform one of those four licensed trades. Oklahoma therefore falls into the category of local and registration states rather than statewide license states for general contracting itself.

The CIB itself was scheduled to sunset, meaning cease to exist under Oklahoma's Sunset Law, on July 1, 2026. Senate Bill 1457 passed the Senate 40 to 3 on March 3, 2026 and the House 80 to 8 on April 29, 2026, and was enrolled and sent to the Governor to extend that sunset date. The Governor's signature date and the exact new sunset date are not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. The CIB's website and every trade licensing page on it remain live and fully operational well past the old July 1, 2026 sunset date, and the board continues issuing licenses today.

Licensing Board

Official Licensing Authority

Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB)

All contractor license applications, renewals, and qualifying agent changes must go through this board.

Visit Board Website

How The Licensing Company qualifies your company in Oklahoma

We place a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a full time W-2 employee and prepare the qualifier filing with the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB). Tell us your trade and what you have going on, and pick a time for a discovery call. Or call 615-219-2110.

Submit Licensing Inquiry

Provide your information for a compliance assessment.

All inquiries are confidential and handled by our compliance team.

Sources