Massachusetts Contractor License: Requirements, Cost and Exams

Massachusetts regulates general construction through an individual license, the Construction Supervisor License (CSL), issued by the Board of Building Regulations and Standards through the Office of Public Safety and Inspections in the Division of Occupational Licensure.

Requirements checked against the Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Massachusetts Division of Occupational Licensure (Board of Building Regulations and Standards) published requirements on September 29, 2026.

Massachusetts contractor license requirements at a glance

Licensing boardBoard of Building Regulations and Standards (BBRS) for the individual Construction Supervisor License; Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation (OCABR) for Home Improvement Contractor registration; no state general contractor license exists
License required whenno state general contractor or company license; HIC registration required for residential work on an existing owner occupied 1 to 4 unit building unless the project's aggregate contract price is under 500 dollars; CSL required for the person supervising work under a permit
What the state calls the qualifiernone for general contracting (CSL is a personal credential); electrical uses Licensee of Record (LOR); plumbing uses licensee on record
NASCLA exam acceptedno
Reciprocity and endorsementnone stated (no confirmed agreement; a secondary source claims informal reciprocity with Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Washington and Oregon)
Exam waiversno waiver; out of state applicants should expect to sit the Massachusetts CSL exam
Experience required3 years (roughly 4,500 hours or 36 months full time equivalent) within the past 10 years for the CSL; none for HIC
Application and exam feesCSL license fee 150 dollars; HIC registration 150 dollars plus a Guaranty Fund surcharge of 100 to 500 dollars by employee count; PSI CSL exam 23 dollar application plus 75 dollar exam fee
RenewalCSL every 2 years at 100 dollars with 12 CE units per cycle; HIC registration runs 2 years
Time to licenseroughly 30 days from a passed exam and complete application to an issued CSL
Bond and financial requirementsno bond, no credit or net worth test, no liability insurance required for the CSL; HIC uses a tiered Guaranty Fund surcharge instead of a bond; workers compensation required if there are employees
Penalty for unlicensed workNot stated
Time to replace a qualifiernone for general contracting; electrical LOR: notify the Board within 15 days, license stays valid up to 60 days; plumbing: replacement application within 15 days, business may operate up to 60 days
Companies one qualifier may qualifyno cap for a CSL holder (concept does not exist); electrical LOR up to 2 companies, a 3rd or more requires a Board petition; plumbing rule text states no numeric cap

Facts checked on August 30, 2026.

Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file.

There is no company level general contractor license and no state qualifying agent designation, so the license always belongs to a person rather than a firm. A licensed construction supervisor must oversee construction, reconstruction, alteration, repair, removal, and demolition work on buildings under 35,000 cubic feet and on one and two family dwellings. Contractors working on existing owner occupied homes of one to four units must also register as a Home Improvement Contractor with the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation.

Electricians and plumbers are licensed separately by the Board of State Examiners of Electricians and the Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters.

Massachusetts has no state general contractor or company license. General contracting requires a personal Construction Supervisor License (CSL) from the Board of Building Regulations and Standards, plus HIC registration for residential jobs over $500. Electrical and plumbing businesses instead use a qualifying agent style license naming a Licensee of Record or Master Plumber as the company's qualifier.

Who must hold the license

The big structural difference: there is no state "general contractor" license here

Massachusetts does not issue a single state general contractor license or a company license the way Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, North Carolina, and South Carolina do. Instead, three separate things apply, and none of them substitute for each other. The Construction Supervisor License (CSL) is an individual competency credential issued by the Board of Building Regulations and Standards (BBRS), under the Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Division of Occupational Licensure. For anything larger than a 1 or 2 family home or 35,000 cubic feet, the state requires a registered architect or professional engineer to prepare plans and provide construction control, a separate professional licensing track with its own board, not a BBRS credential (Massachusetts General Law c.112 section 60L). Massachusetts does not use the qualifying agent model that Florida, Georgia, and Tennessee use for general contracting, where the state licenses the company itself through one qualifying individual; that structure does not exist here for general contracting. Under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 142A section 14, the licensing threshold works as follows: there is no state general contractor or company license; HIC registration is required for residential work on an existing owner occupied 1 to 4 unit building unless the project's aggregate contract price is under 500 dollars; and a CSL is required for the person supervising work under a permit.

Construction Supervisor License (CSL): categories

Seven categories exist under the current, 7th Edition state building code. The Unrestricted, Restricted, and Masonry Only CSL categories have existed since the early 1980s. Four Specialty License categories were added effective July 1, 2008: Residential Roof Covering (RCCSL), Residential Window and Siding (WSCSL), Residential Solid Fuel Burning Appliance Installer (SFCSL), and Demolition Only (DCSL). Unrestricted covers any single or two family dwelling of any size, plus any other building under 35,000 cubic feet of enclosed space, farm buildings, and retaining walls under 10 feet. Restricted covers only single and two family dwellings and their accessory structures, with no size limit, but does not cover larger buildings. Masonry Only covers residential fireplaces, chimneys, masonry egress stairs, and masonry retaining walls retaining 4 feet or more of fill. Each of the four Specialty licenses is narrow: holding one does not allow work under any of the other three, and none of them allow building a home. A Restricted or Unrestricted CSL supersedes and covers all four Specialty categories automatically.

CSL: experience, exam, fees

Experience: 3 years, described as roughly 4,500 hours or 36 months of full time equivalent experience in building construction or design, accumulated over the past 10 years and not necessarily consecutive. A 3 or 4 year vocational high school or vocational program in building construction can substitute for 1 to 2 years of that requirement, and a relevant bachelor's, master's, or PhD can also count toward it. License fee: a first time Specialty License card costs a flat 150 dollars regardless of how many of the four specialty categories are sought at once, since qualifying experience must still be demonstrated separately for each category claimed. Renewal is every 2 years, currently 100 dollars, with a 1 year grace period after expiration and an additional 100 dollar late fee allowing renewal up to 2 years past expiration, after which the exam must be retaken. Continuing education requires 12 CE units every 2 year renewal cycle, at least 6 of which must cover current code updates when a new code edition is adopted. Processing takes roughly 30 days from a passed exam and complete application to an issued license. Confirm current fees and the continuing education requirement with the Board of Building Regulations and Standards before relying on them.

Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) registration

Licensed plumbers, electricians, and sheet metal workers are exempt from HIC when working strictly within their own licensed trade's scope. Registration attaches to the business entity, sole proprietorship, partnership, LLC, or corporation, not to an individual employee, unless the registrant is a sole proprietor. No exam and no continuing education apply to HIC; it is purely a consumer protection registration, unlike the competency tested CSL. The Guaranty Fund compensates consumers up to 25,000 dollars per claim, or the claimant's actual loss if less, and caps payouts tied to a single registrant at 150,000 dollars per rolling 12 month period rather than any lifetime total, per 201 CMR 14.21 as amended effective June 6, 2025 (checked August 30, 2026). Earlier figures of 10,000 dollars per claim and a 50,000 or 75,000 dollar aggregate applied before the June 2025 amendment and are now superseded. A sole proprietor doing residential contracting work needs both an HIC registration and a CSL; the two are legally separate, and neither substitutes for the other.

Exams

NASCLA acceptance

Massachusetts is not a NASCLA state. It does not appear on NASCLA's own current list of participating state agencies for the Commercial exam (checked August 30, 2026); that list currently runs 20 agencies across Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, the Virgin Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia. A NASCLA pass does not shortcut any Massachusetts credential, Restricted, Unrestricted, or Specialty; there is no NASCLA pathway here.

Testing and exams (from the candidate bulletins)

The current state building code is the 10th Edition, effective since January 1, 2025. Every board covered on this page, the BBRS for the CSL, the Board of State Examiners of Electricians, and the Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters, uses the same exam vendor: PSI Services LLC. No ICC, Prov, or Pearson VUE program for any Massachusetts trade license is stated in the board materials reviewed for this page; every bulletin reviewed named PSI as the sole administrator, and Massachusetts state website itself routes candidates to PSI's site to apply, pay, and schedule.

Massachusetts Unrestricted Construction Supervisor Exam. Candidates schedule through PSI's Massachusetts Construction portal, online or by phone at 855 746 8173. The exam is 75 questions in 240 minutes, four hours; a score of 70 percent or higher, 53 of 75, passes. It is open book. The 75 items break out as Massachusetts Administrative Responsibilities under 780 CMR (5 items), Plan Reading and Estimating (6), General Building Construction Knowledge (8), Energy Efficiency (5), Accessibility (3), Sitework and Foundations (5), Concrete and Masonry (7), Moisture Intrusion and Protection (4), Structural Framing in steel and wood (6), Roofing and Exterior Walls (6), Associated Trades including interior and exterior finishes and windows and doors (8), Interior Environment covering mechanical and ventilation (3), Fire Protection (3), and Safety and OSHA (6). Approved references, brought by the candidate, are the International Building Code 2021, the Massachusetts Amendments to the Building Code Base Volume for commercial work under 780 CMR Tenth Edition, the International Residential Code for One and Two Family Dwellings 2021, the Massachusetts Amendments to that residential code under 780 CMR Tenth Edition, the International Energy Conservation Code 2021, the Massachusetts Residential Stretch Code and Commercial Stretch Code amendments under 225 CMR Tenth Edition, the Architectural Access Board Rules and Regulations under 521 CMR (2006), and 29 CFR Part 1926 OSHA; any current edition of each is allowed except the codebooks, which must match the listed edition. References may be highlighted, underlined, and annotated before the exam, and may be tabbed or indexed with permanent tabs only; temporary tabs such as sticky notes must be removed before the exam starts, and no writing in the references is allowed once the exam begins. Testing is in person only, at PSI centers in Auburn, Charlestown (Boston), Fall River, Lawrence, and West Springfield; PSI centers in other states may also be used for this exam, and no remote or online proctored option exists for this program. Candidates who fail may retest, subject to seat availability, commonly within two business days. Fees are a 23 dollar application fee plus a 75 dollar exam fee.

Massachusetts Restricted (One and Two Family) Construction Supervisor Exam. This exam uses the same vendor, portal, phone line, test centers, application process, and 23 dollar application fee as the Unrestricted exam. It is 60 questions in 240 minutes, four hours; 70 percent or higher, 42 of 60, passes. It is open book, with the same reference and tabbing rules as Unrestricted. The 60 items break out as Massachusetts Administrative Responsibilities (5), Plan Reading and Estimating (5), Energy Efficiency (5), Sitework and Foundations (6), Concrete and Masonry (4), Moisture Intrusion and Protection (4), Structural Framing in steel and wood (7), Roofing and Exterior Walls (5), Associated Trades (6), Interior Environment (3), Fire Protection (5), and Safety and OSHA (5). References are the same list as Unrestricted minus the commercial building code volume, since Restricted only covers one and two family work. The exam fee is also 75 dollars, with the same retake and testing location rules as Unrestricted. Confirm the exact time limit and exam fee for both the Unrestricted and Restricted exams directly with PSI before relying on them for a specific date.

The five CSL specialty exams (Demolition, Insulation, Masonry, Roof Covering, Solid Fuel Burning Appliance, Window and Siding) are each shorter, open book exams on one narrow topic: 30 to 50 questions, 120 to 180 minutes, the same 70 percent passing score, the same five test centers, the same PSI vendor, and a 65 dollar exam fee each. Full content outlines for each sit in the same PSI bulletin.

Electrician exams (Journeyman, Master, Systems Technician, Systems Contractor). Schedule through PSI's Massachusetts electrical exams portal online, or by phone at 855 834 8745. Each license level is a two part, open book, computer generated exam; both parts must be passed to be licensed, and each part is scored independently, so a candidate who fails only one part retakes only that part. Journeyman Part I (written) is 80 questions in 180 minutes, 70 percent (56 correct) to pass; Journeyman Part II (applied) is 30 questions in 60 minutes, 70 percent (21 correct). Master Part I is 90 questions in 240 minutes, 70 percent (63 correct); Master and Systems Contractor share a Part II called Business and Law, 50 questions in 120 minutes, 70 percent (35 correct). Systems Technician Part I is 60 questions in 120 minutes, 70 percent (42 correct); Systems Technician Part II (applied) is 30 questions in 60 minutes, 70 percent (21 correct). Systems Contractor Part I is 70 questions in 180 minutes, 70 percent (49 correct), then the shared Business and Law Part II. The exact item counts per subject within these parts could not be confirmed for this page; confirm specific counts with PSI. The subject areas are clear, however: Journeyman and Master trade content covers state specific electrical requirements, advanced electrical knowledge and theory, services, grounding and bonding, wiring methods and devices, motors, and transformers, plus for Master specifically contracts, business organization, risk management, and environmental and safety; the Business and Law Part II covers Massachusetts licensing, estimating and bidding, lien law, financial management, tax laws, labor laws, and project management; Journeyman Part II covers circuit calculations under Ohm's Law, electrical schematics and plans, materials and components, troubleshooting and testing, and Massachusetts amendments and licensing laws; Systems Technician and Systems Contractor content leans into intrusion detection and notification, fire detection and notification, NEC alarm requirements, low voltage distribution, special occupancies and equipment, overcurrent protection, lighting, alarm systems, photovoltaic, and energy storage systems. Approved in center references are the current adopted National Electrical Code, the Massachusetts Electrical Code amendments under 527 CMR 12.00, Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 141 (Supervision of Electricians) and the inspection sections of Chapter 143, the lien law under MGL Chapter 254, the Massachusetts overtime and minimum wage law under MGL Chapter 151, the workers compensation law under MGL Chapter 152, the state unemployment law, 29 CFR Part 1926 OSHA, the Board's own Rules and Regulations under 237 CMR 12 through 23, NFPA 72 the National Fire Alarm Code, and, for the Master and Systems Contractor business exam specifically, the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Basic 14th Edition. On markup rules the bulletin genuinely contradicts itself: one FAQ answer says underlining and highlighting of the original text are allowed but handwritten notes would not be admissible, while the itemized list of items allowed in the exam room separately lists handwritten notes in the margins of those same references as allowed, so long as they are written before the exam begins; tabbed or untabbed copies are both fine either way. Formulas may be written on the blank pages of the codebook before the exam starts. Confirm the current markup rule directly with PSI before the exam rather than assume one instruction is correct over the other. Testing is in person only, and must take place in Massachusetts, at the same five PSI centers as CSL; unlike CSL, no out of state or remote/online proctored option exists for this program. Retakes: a failed part may be retaken up to six times within 12 months of the application approval date, with a minimum 24 hour gap between attempts; after three failed attempts a candidate must show proof of additional targeted coursework, a board approved prep course, or the 15 hour continuing education course, before continuing; after six total failed attempts the full original education hour requirement must be repeated, and after 12 months without passing both parts a whole new application is required. Fees: application plus exam fee totals 226 dollars for Journeyman or Systems Technician and 276 dollars for Master or Systems Contractor, dropping to 195 and 210 dollars respectively for veterans, active military, and their spouses under the Valor Act fee waiver. The license fee, paid separately at the test center after passing, is 104 dollars for Journeyman or Systems Technician and 155 dollars for Master or Systems Contractor. A full two part reinstatement exam, both parts retaken, totals 135 dollars. The bulletin also prices retaking a single failed part on its own, but that figure could not be confirmed for this page; confirm the exact single part retake fee with PSI.

Plumbing and Gas Fitting exams (Journeyman Plumber, Master Plumber, Journeyman Gas Fitter, Master Gas Fitter, LP Gas Installer). Schedule through PSI's Massachusetts plumbing exams portal online, or by phone at 855 834 8745. All five license types are closed book, computer generated exams split into a written part and a practical part; each part is independent, and a candidate who fails only one part retakes only that part, with passing scores valid for one year. Journeyman Plumber and Master Plumber are each 80 written questions in 160 minutes plus 40 practical questions in 160 minutes. Journeyman Gas Fitter and Master Gas Fitter are each 60 written questions in 120 minutes plus 20 practical questions in 80 minutes. The LP (liquefied petroleum) Gas Installer exam is 50 written questions in 100 minutes plus 15 practical questions in 60 minutes. All five pass at 70 percent per part. The written part for the Plumber exams covers general regulations, inspections, and permits under MGL Chapter 142 and 248 CMR sections 3 through 11, including safety and excavation, gas piping, equipment, and appliances (design, materials, inspection, testing, purging, underground installation, CSST, regulators, combustion air, and equipment over 400,000 BTUs), venting, traps and cleanouts, fixtures and clearances, water heaters, piping, valves, and controls, water supply including backflow prevention, hangers and supports, drain, waste, and vent systems, separators, interceptors, and grease traps, and joints and connections; the practical part is isometric analysis and general trade calculations plus gas piping and gas venting problems. The exact item count per subtopic could not be confirmed for this page from the bulletin's nested outline, so only the subject list above is quoted; confirm a per topic breakdown with PSI. Gas Fitter and LP Gas Installer content is the gas piping, gas venting, and combustion, dilution, and ventilation air portion of that same outline. Because the exam is closed book, no references of any kind are allowed in the room; candidates instead study from 248 CMR Sections 3.00, 4.00, and 5.00 (2021), 6.00 (2014 amendments to NFPA 58), 7.00 (2014, large gas utilization equipment), 11.00 (2021), 248 CMR 10.00 through 10.23 (the Massachusetts Uniform State Plumbing Code, 2023), the Massachusetts General Laws general provisions on plumbing and gas work, NFPA 54 the National Fuel Gas Code (2012), NFPA 58 the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code (2011), and MGL Chapter 142 (Supervision of Plumbing). Testing is in person only, at PSI centers in Auburn, Braintree, Charlestown (Boston), Fall River, Lawrence, and West Springfield, one more location than the CSL and electrician programs use (Braintree). The bulletin does not say whether out of state PSI centers may be used for this program the way the CSL program allows, and a remote or online proctored option is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page; confirm testing options with PSI. Retakes: Master Plumber and Master Gas Fitter have no limit on attempts; Journeyman Plumber, Journeyman Gas Fitter, and LP Gas Installer must pass within 12 months of application approval or file a new application, and after six failed attempts must petition the Board in writing before scheduling again. Fees: an 80 dollar exam administration fee for every one of these five license types, whether first attempt or retake, plus a separate license fee paid after passing of 52 dollars for Journeyman Plumber, 78 dollars for Master Plumber, 52 dollars for Journeyman Gas Fitter, 97 dollars for Master Gas Fitter, and 52 dollars for LP Gas Installer; veterans qualifying under the Valor Act are not required to pay PSI the Massachusetts license fee portion.

The figures above come from the Candidate Handbook for Construction Supervisor Licenses, covering Unrestricted, Restricted, and all five specialty categories under the 10th edition code, dated February 2026; the Board of State Examiners of Electricians Examination Candidate Information Bulletin, effective November 1, 2024; and the Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters Licensure Candidate Exam Application Information bulletin, dated October 3, 2025 (checked August 30, 2026).

Bond and insurance

Financial and insurance requirements

The BBRS does not require CSL holders to carry liability insurance as a condition of the license itself, though the Department of Industrial Accidents separately requires Workers Compensation insurance for contractors who have employees. HIC registration carries no bonding or personal credit test; its consumer protection mechanism is the tiered Guaranty Fund surcharge paid at registration, not a bond. A personal credit score test comparable to Florida's 660 threshold, and a net worth or working capital tier comparable to North Carolina's Limited, Intermediate, and Unlimited tiers, are not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page for either the CSL or HIC framework. A broader personal finance gate on licensure, of the kind typical in NASCLA states, is likewise not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page.

Reciprocity

Reciprocity

A reciprocity or exam waiver agreement for the CSL with any other state is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. Reports vary: some describe no reciprocal endorsement under current BBRS policy, while others describe informal reciprocity with Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Washington, and Oregon; neither version is confirmed in the board materials reviewed for this page. Contractors moving to Massachusetts from another state should expect to sit the Massachusetts CSL exam, and should confirm current reciprocity status with the Board directly rather than assume a waiver will be granted. Electricians may have a licensure by endorsement path referenced in 237 CMR 8.01 for applicants from states with equivalent requirements; the specific list of qualifying states was not confirmed for this page; confirm it with the Board of State Examiners of Electricians.

Trades

Qualifying a company: general contracting has none, electrical and plumbing do

For general contracting, the CSL is a personal, portable credential that is not attached by regulation to any single business entity. A CSL holder can work as an employee, a subcontractor, or a licensed designee supervisor, for any number of different companies at once; whoever is actually designated to supervise the work under a given permit is the one who must hold the license, regardless of who holds the permit. A rule capping how many businesses one CSL holder can be associated with is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page, because general contracting here does not record a qualifier's name against a company's license the way Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, and North Carolina do; that qualifying agent structure does not apply to Massachusetts general contracting.

Electrical, by contrast, genuinely runs on a qualifying agent style system. An electrical or systems business needs an A1 (electrical) or C1 (systems) business license from the Board of State Examiners of Electricians, and that license must name a Licensee of Record (LOR), a Massachusetts Master Electrician or Systems Contractor, tied to that specific registered business. Board policy allows one LOR to serve up to 2 licensed companies without extra scrutiny; serving as LOR for a third or more company requires a petition to the Board demonstrating the LOR can actually execute oversight duties across that many companies. If the LOR separates from the company, the company must notify the Board within 15 days of separation, and the license stays valid for up to 60 days from the separation date while a business amendment naming a new LOR is filed; the same 15 day notify, 60 day cure structure applies if the LOR dies.

Plumbing and gas fitting also run on a qualifying agent style system. A plumbing or gas fitting business, including an LLC, needs a Master Plumber or Master Gas Fitter as its licensee of record, and for an LLC that master must be a listed manager of the LLC with plumbing or gas fitting work specifically named as one of the LLC's stated disciplines on its Certificate of Organization. If the licensee of record withdraws, a new master must file a replacement business license application within 15 days of the withdrawal, and the business can keep operating for up to 60 days from the withdrawal date or until the Board denies the new application, whichever comes first, per 248 CMR 3.03 (checked August 30, 2026). That regulation states no numeric cap on how many companies one Master Plumber or Gas Fitter can serve, unlike electrical's separately documented 2 company soft cap; treat this as the rule's own text rather than a guarantee, since Board practice could still apply an unwritten limit the way it does for electricians.

A Massachusetts contractor who needs a general contractor license is best served by a conversation about the individual's own CSL and HIC registration, not a company qualifying arrangement. A Massachusetts electrical or plumbing business is a genuine qualifying agent opportunity, complete with a replacement clock when the qualifier leaves.

Trades overlay: electrical, plumbing, HVAC

Electrical runs entirely separately from CSL/HIC, under the Board of State Examiners of Electricians. The individual ladder runs Apprentice to Journeyman (1 year experience plus 75 hours of Board approved education to sit for Master) to Master (1 year as Journeyman plus 150 hours of education), with a parallel Systems Technician to Systems Contractor track; only a Master Electrician or Systems Contractor can pull an electrical permit, and all exams are administered by PSI.

Plumbing and gas fitting run entirely separately, under the Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters. The ladder runs Apprentice to Journeyman (300 clock hours of theory plus 1,700 hours, roughly 1 year, of practical experience) to Master (an additional 1,700 hours, roughly 1 year, as a Journeyman plus the 110 hour tier five of the Board's five tier educational program). A Journeyman can only perform plumbing work as an individual; only a Master may operate as a firm or corporation and employ Journeymen and apprentices.

HVAC and refrigeration run under the Bureau of Pipefitters, Refrigeration Technicians, and Sprinkler Fitters, Division of Occupational Licensure. A Refrigeration Technician or Refrigeration Contractor license is required for any refrigerant containing part of a refrigeration or air conditioning system of 10 tons or greater. A Journeyman Refrigeration Technician needs 1,000 hours of approved schooling, 700 shop hours, 100 hours of refrigeration theory, and 100 hours of Massachusetts electrical code training, or an apprenticeship hours ladder of 6,000 hours with 250 hours of education, 4,000 hours with 500 hours of education, or 2,000 hours with 1,000 hours of education, plus an EPA Section 608 Universal certification. Straight duct and sheet metal HVAC installation without refrigerant appears to fall under CSL/HIC rather than this Bureau, though that point is not confirmed in the board materials reviewed for this page; confirm it with the Board directly.

A Massachusetts contractor pursuing a plumbing, electrical, or refrigeration license is dealing with a completely separate board from BBRS/OCABR, each with its own exam ladder and, for electrical and plumbing, its own qualifying agent style business license structure.

Licensing Board

Official Licensing Authority

Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Massachusetts Division of Occupational Licensure (Board of Building Regulations and Standards)

All contractor license applications, renewals, and qualifying agent changes must go through this board.

Visit Board Website

How The Licensing Company qualifies your company in Massachusetts

We place a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a full time W-2 employee and prepare the qualifier filing with the Office of Public Safety and Inspections, Massachusetts Division of Occupational Licensure (Board of Building Regulations and Standards). Tell us your trade and what you have going on, and pick a time for a discovery call. Or call 615-219-2110.

Submit Licensing Inquiry

Provide your information for a compliance assessment.

All inquiries are confidential and handled by our compliance team.

Sources