Iowa regulates contractors in two layers.
Requirements checked against the Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL) published requirements on October 3, 2026.
| Licensing board | No general contractor license; Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL) runs Chapter 91C contractor registration; the Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board and Electrical Examining Board license the trades inside DIAL |
|---|---|
| License required when | Registration required for any contractor earning two thousand dollars or more a year from construction work in Iowa |
| What the state calls the qualifier | Master of record (PMSB trades: plumbing, mechanical, HVAC refrigeration, sheet metal, hydronic); no qualifier for general registration |
| NASCLA exam accepted | no |
| Reciprocity and endorsement | Electrical: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Wisconsin, Wyoming; none for general contracting since no license exists |
| Exam waivers | Plumbing: South Dakota journeyperson and master licenses earned by written exam skip the Iowa written exam (plumbing only, not mechanical); electrical reciprocity details vary by classification and state |
| Experience required | None for 91C registration; Master electrician needs at least one year as a licensed Class A or Class B journeyman; PMSB hour thresholds not published |
| Application and exam fees | 91C registration fee set by the director, cannot exceed fifty dollars a year |
| Renewal | PMSB contractor licenses run on a three year cycle expiring June 30 of the renewal year, with the fee resetting to its full amount at the start of each new cycle |
| Time to license | No published processing time for 91C registration or the PMSB and electrical contractor licenses |
| Bond and financial requirements | No net worth or bond for in state registration; out of state contractors must file a twenty five thousand dollar surety bond or a statement of prequalification to bid Iowa DOT projects |
| Penalty for unlicensed work | Capped at five hundred dollars for a first violation and up to five thousand dollars per violation after that |
| Time to replace a qualifier | PMSB: contractor may keep operating up to six months without a new master of record only if the board is notified within thirty days; electrical: no published deadline found |
| Companies one qualifier may qualify | PMSB: a master may be the master of record for only one contractor per discipline at a time without prior board approval |
Facts checked on August 26, 2026.
Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file.
Any contractor earning $2,000 or more per year from construction work must register with the state through the Iowa Division of Labor, part of the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing, and a contractor whose principal place of business is outside Iowa must post a $25,000 bond to register. Real licensing happens at the trade level: electrical contractors license under Iowa Code chapter 103, and plumbing, mechanical, HVAC, refrigeration, sheet metal, and hydronic contractors license through the Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board under Iowa Code chapter 105. Each trade licensed firm depends on a designated master: plumbing and mechanical contractors must have a master of record, and electrical contractors must hold or employ a Master A or B electrician.
General building work beyond registration is regulated by local jurisdictions.
Iowa requires a Qualifying Agent for all licensed contractor entities.
Iowa has no general statewide contractor or masonry license, and the 91C registration from DIAL is not a license. A qualifying agent can only qualify Iowa companies in the trades: plumbing, mechanical/HVAC, and electrical, licensed by the Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board and the Electrical Examining Board.
Iowa has no statewide general contractor license and no masonry license. What the state calls contractor registration under Iowa Code chapter 91C is a simple annual registration, not a professional license, and it does not involve a separate qualifying individual. Licensing that a qualifying agent can actually attach to in Iowa exists only in the trades: plumbing, mechanical (which covers HVAC, refrigeration, sheet metal, and hydronics), and electrical, each run by its own board.
The 91C contractor registration is administered by DIAL, the Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (verified on Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing). This program moved from Iowa Workforce Development's Division of Labor during the state's 2022 to 2023 agency consolidation; the former Division of Labor web address for the program, idol.iowa.gov, no longer resolves. The registration itself, its cost, the absence of an exam, and the absence of a quality assurance review, has not changed.
Trade licensing sits with two different DIAL boards: the Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board, which covers plumbing, mechanical/HVAC, refrigeration, sheet metal, and hydronics, and the Electrical Examining Board / Electrical Bureau, which covers electricians and electrical contractors under Iowa Code chapter 103.
Anyone doing construction work in Iowa, including general contractors, carpenters, roofers, painters, masons, and most other building trades, must register with DIAL if they earn at least $2,000 a year from construction work (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing). People working only on their own property, or earning under that threshold, are exempt.
The fee is $50, renewed annually, and DIAL sends a renewal notice the month before expiration; renewing on time keeps the same registration number (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing). There is no exam, no experience requirement, and no financial review, since this is registration rather than licensure. Out of state contractors need an Iowa unemployment insurance account number and typically must post a $25,000 bond (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing).
This registration does not function like a license, and there is no qualifying individual role attached to it. Anyone whose only Iowa work is general building or masonry will likely want to look at the trade licenses below, or at licensing requirements in the state they are trying to expand into.
Iowa does not accept the NASCLA Accredited Commercial Building Contractor exam. This was checked directly against NASCLA's own current participating state agency list (NASCLA), which names 20 agencies across 18 jurisdictions and does not include Iowa. Some third party sites list Iowa as a NASCLA state; that information is incorrect. Because Iowa has no state general contractor license in the first place, NASCLA acceptance would not carry the same meaning here that it does in a state like Georgia or Tennessee, where a state GC license exists for it to apply to.
A standard processing timeline for the 91C registration or the trade board applications is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. Confirm current processing times directly with DIAL before relying on a specific turnaround.
Whether Iowa has a reciprocity or exam waiver agreement with another state is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. This should not be treated as confirmation that no such agreement exists. Anyone asking about reciprocity into or out of Iowa should confirm directly with the relevant board, whether DIAL, the Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board, or the Electrical Examining Board, before relying on it.
This board licenses plumbing and mechanical trades, where mechanical includes HVAC, refrigeration, sheet metal, and hydronic systems, and it also issues contractor licenses and medical gas piping certification (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing).
License levels run apprentice, journeyperson, master, and an unlicensed helper tier for general laborers working under supervision (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing).
Kirkwood Community College is the board's approved examination provider for these trades (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing). Some other sources name PSI, Prometric, or Pearson VUE instead; confirm the current exam vendor with the board before registering for an exam.
To sit for a master exam, an applicant needs either a journeyperson license plus two years of experience in that discipline, or an existing master license from another jurisdiction (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing). The application fee is $35 per trade exam, and Kirkwood charges its own separate, non refundable exam fee on top (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing).
Company licensing works through a master of record. A contracting business needs a master license holder serving as its master of record, and the board's own language states a master "may only be a master of record for one contractor in any particular discipline at any one time" (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing). A person who holds master licenses in more than one discipline can be master of record for a different contractor in each discipline, but not for two contractors in the same discipline at once. This is a firm one person, one company, per discipline rule.
If a master disassociates from a contractor, Iowa requires notice to both the board and the contractor within 30 days of the disassociation (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing). A specific deadline for the contractor to install a replacement master is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page; confirm this directly with the board before relying on a specific window.
Classifications include Class A Master, Class A Journeyman, Residential Master, Residential Electrician, and Special Electrician categories (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing).
PSI Services LLC delivers Iowa's electrical licensing exams under contract with the state (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing). Passing score is 70 percent; exams are open book with the NEC codebook and limited references allowed.
An Electrical Contractor License requires the business to be affiliated with a Class A or Class B Master electrician, either because the applicant personally holds that license or because the firm employs one as its qualifying party (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing). The application fee is $375.
Whether one master electrician can qualify more than one electrical contracting company at a time, and whether there is a fixed deadline to replace a departing qualifying master, is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. Confirm both directly with the Electrical Examining Board (515 725 6147) before relying on a specific number.
All Iowa electrician licenses ran on a cycle ending December 31, 2025, with the next 2026 to 2028 renewal cycle effective October 1, 2025 (Iowa Inspections, Appeals and Licensing); this is a renewal timing detail only, not a new licensing requirement.
Official Licensing Authority
All contractor license applications, renewals, and qualifying agent changes must go through this board.
We place a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a full time W-2 employee and prepare the qualifier filing with the Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL). Tell us your trade and what you have going on, and pick a time for a discovery call. Or call 615-219-2110.
Provide your information for a compliance assessment.
Contractor licensing and qualifying agent guides from The Licensing Company.
What a contractor license is, who needs one, and the board, dollar threshold and exams in every state.
Learn the definition, role, and legal responsibilities of a qualifying agent.
Get matched with a verified, licensed qualifying agent in your state and trade.
Turn your active contractor license into additional income by qualifying other businesses.
Understand qualifier requirements, the legal process, and how to find one in your state.
What a responsible managing officer and a responsible managing employee are, and how the two differ.