Which states honor another state's license, which accept the NASCLA exam, what each board still requires, and how a qualifying agent gets your company licensed where you have no qualifier of your own.

Operating in multiple states means different licensing boards, trade classifications, exams and compliance rules in each one. The Licensing Company coordinates licensing across every state where you operate or plan to expand, and places a qualifying agent who meets that state's requirements wherever your company needs one.
NASCLA's own participating agency list names 17 states and the U.S. Virgin Islands for the Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors. Checked board by board, the picture splits three ways. Seven states accept it for their main general or commercial classification: Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. Thirteen accept it for some classifications or some exams only: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Idaho, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Virginia and West Virginia. The other thirty do not accept it.
Where a board states what NASCLA replaces, it replaces the trade exam and the state's own business and law exam stays. Nevada never waives its Business and Law exam, Tennessee and South Carolina keep theirs, and Florida keeps its Business and Finance exam plus a Building Code attestation. Arkansas's board materials are silent on scope. Passing NASCLA does not license a company anywhere: each state still takes its own application, and in most states the license must be qualified by a qualifying agent tied to the company.
The full state by state detail, including which classifications each board names, is in the table below and in the NASCLA exam guide.
No state transfers a contractor license. Reciprocity, where a board offers it, means the board waives one part of its own process for a contractor licensed in a named partner state, most often the trade exam, and only for the classifications the agreement names. Twenty-eight of the fifty boards name partner states; the other twenty-two state none, or none as a fixed list. Tennessee's waiver list names Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio and South Carolina, each for specific classifications.
What reciprocity never removes: the state's own business and law exam where it has one, the full application, the financial statement or bond, insurance, and the qualifier. A company expanding into a reciprocity state still needs a qualifying agent that state recognizes, and the table shows how long each board gives a company to replace one who leaves and how many companies one person may qualify.
Planning to expand into more states starts with choosing the right licensing support. Read Companies That Help Contractors Get Licensed in Multiple States as you compare your options.
Pick a state in the table to see its partner states, its exam waivers and its qualifier rules, then open the state guide for the full board process.
Every state below was checked against its own licensing board. Use it to see which states accept the NASCLA commercial exam, which ones honor another state's license, how long a company has to replace a qualifier who leaves, and how many companies one person may qualify. Tennessee and Alabama, for example, still require their own Business and Law exam even where a trade exam is waived. Click a state for its full guide.
Pick your state above to see its details, or show all 50 states.
| State | Reciprocity and endorsement | NASCLA exam accepted | Exam waivers | Time to replace a qualifier | Companies one qualifier may qualify | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | ALBGC: Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana, Tennessee, North Carolina. HBLB: Tennessee, South Carolina, Mississippi, Louisiana, North Carolina | Partial (NASCLA satisfies the trade exam portion of the ALBGC commercial license; the Business and Law exam is still required) | ALBGC: trade portion of the exam waived with written certification from the original state; Business and Law exam never waived. HBLB: Skills section exempt only; Business and Law exam still required | ALBGC: notify board in writing within 30 days, new qualifying party qualified within 60 days of disassociation. HBLB: notify immediately, name a new qualifying representative within 45 days, 100 dollar change fee | ALBGC: one company unless the qualifying party is a majority owner (50 percent or more) of each additional entity. HBLB: no cap stated | August 14, 2026 |
| Alaska | Not stated | No | No waiver; out of state licensees complete the full Alaska registration process from scratch | Residential endorsement: no hard deadline, endorsement reissued as unassigned. Electrical or mechanical administrator: registration becomes void 30 days after the next regularly scheduled administrator exam unless a new administrator is hired | Residential endorsement: no more than two general contractors at a time. Electrical and mechanical administrators: one contractor at a time | August 31, 2026 |
| Arizona | None stated (no named reciprocity agreements; case by case out of state trade exam waiver only) | Partial (accepted for the B 1 and B 2 general commercial and KB 1 and KB 2 dual classifications only, not the residential B classification; replaces the trade exam only, the Business Management or Statutes and Rules exam is still required) | Trade exam can be waived case by case for an active comparable out of state license; the Statutes and Rules or Business Management exam is never waived | Both licensee and qualifying party notify the Registrar in writing within 15 days; requalify within 60 days of the disassociation date or the license is automatically suspended | One licensee; one additional licensee only with at least 25 percent common ownership or a subsidiary relationship | August 25, 2026 |
| Arkansas | Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Louisiana, North Carolina | Partial (accepted toward the Commercial license; secondary sources say it substitutes for both the trade exam and the Business and Law exam, but the board's own materials are silent on scope) | Reciprocity waives only the Business and Law exam; the full Arkansas application is still required, and trade classifications still need the separate trade agency's requirements | Written notice to the ACLB within 15 business days; replacement qualifier fully qualified within 30 days of the departing qualifier's last day or the license becomes invalid | Not stated; neither the Administrative Code nor the board's Qualifier Change form addresses a cap | August 9, 2026 |
| California | Arizona, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina | Partial (only waives the Class B General Building trade exam for someone who already held an out of state general building license in good standing for the previous five years; no other classification; Law and Business exam still required) | Trade exam may be waived at CSLB's discretion for reciprocity applicants with five years of active licensure; the Law and Business exam is never waived | Replace within 90 days of the disassociation date or the license (or that classification) is automatically suspended; one 90 day written extension allowed, so 180 days outside limit | RME: one active license only. RMO: up to three firms in any one year period, and only with at least 20 percent common ownership, a subsidiary or joint venture relationship, or the same majority of partners, officers, or managers | August 7, 2026 |
| Colorado | Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming (Journeyman Electrician only, via NERA) | No | Journeyman Electrician reciprocity needs a current certificate earned by state exam and held at least one year; Master Electrician is by endorsement case by case; plumbing endorsement without a new exam is typical where exam, code base and class match but is a board judgment call; no GC waiver exists | Twenty days to hire a replacement Master Electrician or Master Plumber, then the registration goes inactive | One company at a time for both Master Electrician and Master Plumber | August 8, 2026 |
| Connecticut | Not stated | No | Section 20-333a permits a trade exam waiver only if the applicant's home state grants Connecticut license holders an equivalent license without exam, rarely satisfied; out of state experience counts toward exam hours but does not replace the exam; a NASCLA card gives no shortcut | No published deadline found; business cannot pull permits or sign trade contracts until a licensed individual is again on file as contractor of record | Not applicable; Connecticut does not license companies in any trade, so there is no qualifying agent structure | August 23, 2026 |
| Delaware | Electricians: Maryland, New Jersey. Plumbers full: Connecticut, Iowa, Maryland. Plumbers reduced (seven years proof): Alabama, Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia. No GC reciprocity | No | No GC reciprocity; Maryland or New Jersey electricians need no additional experience documentation while other states must show five years of practice after licensure; plumbers from Connecticut, Iowa or Maryland need no experience proof, the reduced list needs seven years as a master | None found; no qualifying agent company license confirmed | Not applicable; no qualifying agent company license confirmed on official board pages | August 6, 2026 |
| Florida | None stated (endorsement route for an active out of state license at the same level held 10 years or more, no states named) | Partial (NASCLA replaces Contract Administration and Project Management only; Business and Finance exam and a Florida Building Code attestation still required; Certified General, Building and Residential only) | NASCLA holders are excused from Contract Administration and Project Management but still take the Florida Business and Finance exam and attest to a Florida Building Code exam; 10 year endorsement applicants skip the NASCLA exam but Division I and Roofing must complete a 2 hour Florida Building Code course | 60 days under Florida Statute 489.119; on a qualifier's death the board must be notified within 30 days | No hard numeric cap; mandatory board appearance if the qualifier owns less than 20 percent of the additional business or would be on three or more businesses at once | August 4, 2026 |
| Georgia | Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee (commercial); Mississippi, South Carolina, Louisiana (residential); new North Carolina and Tennessee applications paused | Yes | An applicant holding an active NASCLA accredited license for three or more years is excused from the general contractor trade exam but must still take the Georgia Business and Law exam; the named reciprocity routes require a license active for the past three years and free of discipline, with new North Carolina and Tennessee reciprocity applications paused | 180 days after the sole qualifying agent's disaffiliation (O.C.G.A. 43-41-9(e)(1) as amended by SB 503, effective July 1, 2024); owner or officer notice to the board within 45 days (Rule 553-11-.02) | No numeric cap; each business must independently meet financial and insurance criteria | July 14, 2026 |
| Hawaii | Not stated | No | No waiver; every applicant must meet Hawaii's own exam, experience and financial requirements; out of state license experience can count toward the experience requirement when properly certified | Departing RME must notify the Board within 60 days and within 90 days join another licensed entity, become its own licensed entity, or go inactive, or the license is automatically forfeited | One RME per entity unless the Board approves dual status under one of four tests: 51% common ownership, subsidiary or joint venture, or an immediate family relationship | August 13, 2026 |
| Idaho | None for the Public Works license; journeyman electrical reciprocity with Colorado, Maine, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Wyoming; journeyman plumbing with Montana, Oregon, Washington (trade lists from secondary sources) | Partial (Idaho Electrical Board appears on the NASCLA Electrical Exam list; not accepted for the Public Works Contractor license or basic registration) | No waiver for the Public Works license; an out of state contractor applies and meets Idaho requirements from scratch; basic registration has no exam to waive | License remains in force 90 days from the date of written notice that the Qualified Individual left | No cap found in the rule text or DOPL FAQ; an open question for DOPL | August 11, 2026 |
| Illinois | None stated (roofing has no reciprocity; plumbing reciprocity exists in statute but no partner states are named) | No | Roofing: no waiver, full process required. Plumbing: exam waived only if the home state's requirements are substantially equal and a reciprocal agreement exists; without an agreement the applicant must still pass the Illinois exam | Roofing: both parties notify IDFPR within 30 business days; the license goes inoperative immediately; the licensee has 60 days from the date of its notice to name and register a replacement qualifying party | Roofing: one licensee per qualifying party unless at least 25 percent ownership or management interest in each entity, or a licensee and its licensed subsidiary; plumbing: no numeric cap | August 10, 2026 |
| Indiana | None at state level; Indianapolis's own electrical Board reciprocates with a defined list of Indiana cities and counties plus the Illinois cities Belleville, Waukegan, Granite City and Rock Island (city level only; needs a sponsoring jurisdiction letter confirming a Prometric exam passed at 75 percent or higher) | No | State plumbing: an out of state license plus four years of experience replaces the Indiana apprenticeship but the PROV exam is still required, an experience bridge rather than an exam waiver | Not stated | State plumbing cap not published; Indianapolis electrical Craft License Holder cannot be connected to more than one partnership, LLC or corporation at a time | August 5, 2026 |
| Iowa | Electrical: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Wisconsin, Wyoming; none for general contracting since no license exists | No | Plumbing: South Dakota journeyperson and master licenses earned by written exam skip the Iowa written exam (plumbing only, not mechanical); electrical reciprocity details vary by classification and state | PMSB: contractor may keep operating up to six months without a new master of record only if the board is notified within thirty days; electrical: no published deadline found | PMSB: a master may be the master of record for only one contractor per discipline at a time without prior board approval | August 26, 2026 |
| Kansas | None stated (only in state electrician reciprocity between Kansas counties and cities under K.S.A. 12-1526) | No | No interstate waiver. Every out of state applicant must test and apply fresh in the Kansas jurisdiction where they will work. In state electricians licensed in one Kansas county or city are excused from retesting in another. | Not published by Johnson County, Sedgwick County, or Topeka. Confirm directly with each department. | Not published locally. Each program requires a named qualifying individual (owner or full time employee); whether one person can qualify multiple companies must be confirmed with each county or city. | August 12, 2026 |
| Kentucky | Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia (electrical only). Louisiana is named by a secondary source but not confirmed by the board. | No | Electrical reciprocity application for licensees of Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia requires copy of active out of state license, letter of good standing, application, fee, photo, driver's license. Confirm current details with DHBC before relying on an exam waiver. No reciprocity stated for plumbing or HVAC. | Electrical: 30 days to pass a replacement exam or the license stops being valid. Plumbing and HVAC: 180 days only when the master dies (notify within 10 days); no stated day count for a voluntary departure, notify DHBC immediately. | No numbered cap found in any source. Confirm with DHBC before relying on any limit. | August 15, 2026 |
| Louisiana | Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi, North Carolina (electrical board), Tennessee, Utah as older bilateral partners, not confirmed on the board's official list. A December 2024 policy reportedly accepts a matching trade exam from any state and voided the bilateral agreements. | Yes | Trade exam passed in any state is accepted if it matches the Louisiana classification and was passed without waiver, exemption, or grandfathering. NASCLA satisfies the commercial trade exam. The Louisiana Business and Law exam is never waived. | Notify the board in writing within 30 days of disassociation; new qualifying party qualified and approved within 60 days of the disassociation date. | No numeric cap. An owner may qualify any company they own; an employee may qualify the licensed company and its related entities. No limit on qualifying parties per company. | September 1, 2026 |
| Maine | Electricians, Master level: New Hampshire, Vermont. Journeyman level: New Hampshire, Vermont, North Dakota, Idaho, Oregon, Wyoming, plus NERA. Plumbers: no fixed list, case by case equivalency. General contracting: not applicable. | No | Master Electrician reciprocity requires a sworn application, proof of home state licensure, having passed that state's own written exam, and at least six years as an electrician. Plumber reciprocity is granted case by case when the home state's standards are at least equivalent and reciprocate back. No GC exam exists to waive. | No statutory replacement deadline published; confirm with the relevant board. | No cap found. Maine licenses the individual, not the company; there is no company level electrical or plumbing license (former Title 32 section 1202-A repealed 2023) and no formal qualifier of record filing. | August 18, 2026 |
| Maryland | MHIC: none. Electricians: Delaware, Virginia, West Virginia (PSI bulletin also names Washington DC). HVACR: Virginia, Delaware. Plumbing: none found. | No | MHIC: no waiver, every applicant sits Maryland's own exam. Master Electrician written exam waived for licensed masters from West Virginia (2 years minimum), Virginia or Washington DC, Delaware (5 years minimum); no journeyperson waiver. HVACR waiver contingent on equivalency including matching experience years. | Notify MHIC within 10 days of the change by certified mail. Late notice is a civil citation: 500 dollars first violation, 1,000 dollars second or subsequent. No stated deadline to seat a replacement. | No cap in COMAR 09.08.01.04, which is silent on exclusivity. Qualifier must be the sole proprietor, a partner, an officer, or a full time employee of that business; an outside qualifier is not allowed. Confirm with MHIC before relying on more than one. | August 17, 2026 |
| Massachusetts | None stated (no confirmed agreement; a secondary source claims informal reciprocity with Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Washington and Oregon) | No | No waiver; out of state applicants should expect to sit the Massachusetts CSL exam | None for general contracting; electrical LOR: notify the Board within 15 days, license stays valid up to 60 days; plumbing: replacement application within 15 days, business may operate up to 60 days | No cap for a CSL holder (concept does not exist); electrical LOR up to 2 companies, a 3rd or more requires a Board petition; plumbing rule text states no numeric cap | August 30, 2026 |
| Michigan | Not stated | No | No waiver; out of state applicants complete the same 60 hour course and PSI exam (out of state experience can only be credited toward exam eligibility) | License suspended immediately when the qualifying officer leaves; no fixed window; LARA may on request allow a reasonable time; outgoing qualifier must notify LARA in writing within 10 days | No numeric cap written in statute; confirm with LARA before relying on more than one | August 21, 2026 |
| Minnesota | Not stated | No | No waiver; an out of state licensee must pass Minnesota's own DLI exam and complete the full application | 120 days to designate and get DLI approval on a replacement; written notice to DLI within 15 days of the change (electrical, elevator and high pressure piping get 30 days) | More than one corporation or LLC only if the licensed companies share common ownership of at least 25 percent among themselves; unrelated client companies not allowed | August 16, 2026 |
| Mississippi | Alabama, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee (Louisiana no longer a formal partner but its passing exam score is still recognized) | Yes (NASCLA Commercial General Building replaces the Building Construction trade exam and NASCLA Electrical replaces the Master Electrical trade exam; the Mississippi Law and Business Management exam is still required) | Reciprocity waives trade exams only, scope varies by partner state; every applicant must still pass the Mississippi Law and Business Management exam | Notify MSBOC in writing immediately; 90 days from disassociation to file a replacement or face a show cause hearing | Up to three separate entities; a fourth requires appearing before the Board for special permission | August 19, 2026 |
| Missouri | Not stated | Partial (not applicable for general contracting since there is no state license; yes for electrical, OSEC is a NASCLA Electrical Exams participating agency) | No exam waiver stated; OSEC reciprocity is an informal request driven process (FAQ answer is Maybe); none found for local general contractor or trade licenses | No fixed statutory notice or replacement window found; the seat is effectively vacant immediately; no deadline is published | One company at a time (statewide electrical by statute; Kansas City designated supervisor by ordinance) | August 24, 2026 |
| Montana | Oregon, Idaho, North Dakota, South Dakota (journeyman plumber only; no master plumber reciprocity and none for the general Construction Contractor License) | No | No general contractor exam exists to waive; a journeyman plumber from one of the four reciprocity states who passed both the written and practical exam there can skip the Montana journeyman exam but must still formally apply for licensure by reciprocity | Not applicable; Montana has no qualifying individual system behind the construction contractor license | Not applicable; Montana licenses individuals, not companies, for electrical and plumbing, and the general license has no qualifier | August 22, 2026 |
| Nebraska | None for general contracting; journeyman electrician: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Wyoming; electrical contractor: Minnesota, South Dakota, Texas | Partial (NASCLA accredited electrical exams only, for Electrical Contractor and Master Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, and Residential Electrical Contractor, taken through the Nebraska State Electrical Division with exam dates after August 1, 2025; the general commercial building NASCLA exam is not accepted and Nebraska is not on that list) | No state GC exam exists; Omaha may grant a reciprocal license on proof of an exam passed and a valid license held elsewhere, subject to its Building Board of Review at a quarterly hearing; state electrical reciprocity requires 75 percent or better on the original exam and one year in good standing, and a lapsed reciprocated license must be re earned by exam | Not published at any level; the only adjacent rule is six months to continue an electrical contracting business after the death of the licensed contractor or master electrician (NRS 81 2119), which does not cover a voluntary departure | Not published for Omaha, Lincoln, or the state electrical contractor license; not published | September 4, 2026 |
| Nevada | Alabama, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, New Mexico, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia (licensure by endorsement, each mapped to specific Nevada classifications) | Yes (trade exam waived for the B General Building and B 2 Residential and Small Commercial classifications only; the Nevada Business and Law exam is never waived; not accepted for the electrical classification) | Endorsement waives the Nevada trade exam and the experience certification requirement; the Business and Law exam is never waived; requires an active license with the same qualified individual in the endorsing state for the past four years and no discipline anywhere | 10 days to notify the board of a disassociation or the license is automatically suspended; 30 days from disassociation to have a board approved replacement or the license is subject to suspension | More than one license only under a 25 percent ownership test (the licensee owns at least 25 percent of each entity qualified, or the qualifier personally owns at least 25 percent of every licensee); one exception, a sole proprietor licensee may qualify one additional license without the ownership test | August 27, 2026 |
| New Hampshire | None stated as a fixed list; universal license recognition under House Bill 594 (effective August 27, 2023) covers any jurisdiction whose requirements are judged substantially similar (an aggregator list for journeyman plumbers naming Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Virginia and about thirty other states was not confirmed on a primary page) | No | No general contractor exam exists; under universal recognition, endorsement applicants skip resubmitting transcripts, exam results, experience evidence, and reference letters, but must still obtain a New Hampshire license before working in the state | Electrical: the company license is void immediately on the death or severance of the master electrician, no grace period in the statute; plumbing and fuel gas: 30 days to notify the Board, and the business cannot act in the trade until another licensed officer, member, or designee is in place | No cap in the statute for electrical or for plumbing and fuel gas | August 20, 2026 |
| New Jersey | None stated; electrical has no reciprocity with any state, plumbing and HVACR consider out of state licenses case by case only | No | No general contractor exam exists; the electrical contractor exam is never waived; plumbing and HVACR consider an out of state license case by case only if that state's standards are equal or comparable and it reciprocates; the one carve out is a journeyman electrician with two years of out of state licensure who can get a Class A journeyman license after a 15 hour NEC course, not a contractor license | No day count published for any trade; electrical only requires the departing qualifier to immediately return the board's official seal | Electrical: one business permit at a time; plumbing and HVACR: not published | July 14, 2026 |
| New Mexico | Journeyman electrical EE-98J only: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Wyoming; no contractor or Qualifying Party level reciprocity with any state | Partial (waiver of the trade exam only, and only for GB-98 and EE-98; applicant must have held an active license in another state on those scores for at least one year) | NASCLA waiver removes only the trade exam for GB-98 or EE-98; the Business and Law exam and all experience and approval requirements still apply | No grace period; license automatically cancelled the moment it lacks an active QP; written notice to CID within 30 days; permitted work in progress may continue up to 120 days | One company unless there is at least thirty percent common ownership among the qualified entities (joint ventures excepted) | August 28, 2026 |
| New York | Not stated | No | No general waiver; only the Department of State Master Electrician Waiver for electricians municipally licensed before July 15, 1993 doing security or fire alarm work (50 dollars in home jurisdiction, 200 dollars statewide) | NYC Master Electrician: notify within 30 days; business approval automatically revoked when the responsible representative leaves, no stated grace period; Master Plumber replacement rule not found | Not confirmed whether one master plumber or master electrician can serve more than one NYC company | July 14, 2026 |
| North Carolina | South Carolina, Tennessee, Louisiana, Georgia, Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Virginia, Arkansas (exam waiver agreements, not blanket reciprocity) | Yes (Building and Residential classifications; NASCLA pass must be within the past 2 years) | Waiver and NASCLA excuse the trade exam only; applicant must still pass the North Carolina Business and Law exam (40 questions, 90 minutes, 70 percent) and meet all application, financial and background requirements | Written notice within 10 days; license stays valid 90 days from termination then automatically invalid; no bidding or new contracts from day one until reinstated | Two licenses at a time | September 3, 2026 |
| North Dakota | Not stated | No | No exam exists for the general contractor license so there is nothing to waive | Not applicable; no license holder attached to the general contractor license whose departure triggers a replacement clock | Not applicable for the general contractor license; electrical master, Class B, or power limited electrician may exercise the license for no more than one shop or business at a time | September 5, 2026 |
| Ohio | West Virginia (HVAC and Plumbing mechanical reciprocity, plus a separate electrical reciprocity, both confirmed on OCILB forms); other states appear only on third party sites and are not confirmed by OCILB | No | Reciprocal applicant skips the Ohio exam if home state requirements are substantially equal and recognition is two way; West Virginia applicant must have originally tested (grandfathered licenses disqualified) and still submit 500000 dollar liability insurance and a 25 dollar fee per trade; the Out of State Examination track is not a waiver, exam still required | Notify the board immediately; license assignment becomes invalid 90 calendar days after the licensee's last day, or sooner by agreement between company and licensee | One company per trade at a time; cannot assign another license for the same trade to a different company until the original assignment becomes invalid | August 29, 2026 |
| Oklahoma | Electrical journeyman: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Texas, Wyoming; plumbing journeyman: Arkansas; none for mechanical or roofing | No | Reciprocity requires a current license that was not grandfathered and has been held at least one year; the board does not state which exam is excused | No CIB published replacement rule found; a 30 day figure that circulates online is not attributed to the CIB | Not addressed anywhere on the CIB site | September 2, 2026 |
| Oregon | None for general contractor; trade only through BCD: journeyman plumber from Idaho, Montana; general journeyman electrician from Arkansas, Idaho, Maine, Montana, Utah, Washington, Wyoming; general supervising electrician from Arkansas, Utah | Partial (NASCLA passage waives only the 16 hour pre license training; the Oregon business and law exam is still required) | No GC exam waiver from any state; NASCLA passers are excused from the 16 hour pre license training only and must still pass the Oregon PSI business and law exam | Immediate replacement or temporary RMI; written notice to CCB within 3 calendar days; permanent RMI within 14 days of that notice or the license is suspended | Non owner RMI may qualify only one licensee; owners have no cap; controlling interest percentage not published | July 14, 2026 |
| Pennsylvania | Not stated | No | Not applicable; no state exam exists to waive | Not applicable; no state qualifier or replacement clock | Not applicable at state level; Philadelphia supervisor may be employed by only one company at a time | July 14, 2026 |
| Rhode Island | Not stated | No | Not applicable; no GC exam exists to waive, every contractor must register regardless of other licenses | Not applicable; no qualifying individual to replace | Not applicable; no qualifier concept and no published limit | July 14, 2026 |
| South Carolina | No official list; third party guides name Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, Utah as commonly recognized for exam equivalency, not confirmed on llr.sc.gov | Yes (CLB toward Unlimited Building; Residential Builders Commission as technical exam waiver if passed within 3 years; SC Business Management and Law exam still required) | Board may waive the technical exam if the applicant passed an essentially equivalent exam in another state; the SC Business Management and Law exam is never waived | 15 days to notify the department; license stays valid 90 days; suspended if no replacement PQP certified within 90 days | One licensee per qualifying party; narrow exception under Section 40 11 230(C) for two entities at the same location with daily involvement, livelihood from both, and at least fifty percent ownership in one | July 14, 2026 |
| South Dakota | None stated; electrical and plumbing reciprocity are discretionary with no fixed list | No | Discretionary only. Electrical: reciprocal license granted only if the other state reciprocates and the commission finds qualifications equal South Dakota's. Plumbing: nonresident may register without a new exam only if the other state's regulation is substantially equivalent | None stated in the electrical statute or rules; no replacement deadline in days exists for a departing qualifying person | No cap stated in statute or rules on how many businesses one electrical contractor or Class B electrician may be tied to | July 14, 2026 |
| Tennessee | Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina | Yes (trade exam substitute only, most directly for BC B Commercial; Tennessee Business and Law exam and full application still required) | Waives the trade exam only; applicant must hold the reciprocating state license in good standing as home state, must still pass the Tennessee Business and Law exam, and must complete the full Tennessee application including financials and insurance | Notify the Board within 10 days; three months (about 90 days) to designate a replacement QA who passes the exams or the classification becomes invalid; company may keep working on existing jobs during the window | Up to 2 licenses, and only if the QA is majority owner of one of them; a third license triggers a Board interview; in practice an employed qualifying agent qualifies one company | July 14, 2026 |
| Texas | Master Electrician: Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio. Journeyman Electrician: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Wyoming. Plumbing: Louisiana, Arkansas. ACR: none found. GC: none (no license) | No | Electrical exam waived only for the named states and only with a passed home state exam, license held at least one year, 12000 supervised hours, and 2 years as journeyman (1 year for Alabama, Iowa, Nebraska, Ohio); outside those states the Texas exam is mandatory. Plumbing reciprocity limited to Louisiana (with gas fitter license) and Arkansas (4 years). ACR exam required for everyone | Not stated | One company at a time. A Master Electrician may be designated master on only one Electrical Contractor license (exception: owns more than 50 percent of the business); an RMP may be RMP of record for only one company at a time | July 14, 2026 |
| Utah | Arizona, Nevada, Idaho, Colorado, Wyoming (third party guides only, not confirmed on the DOPL site); endorsement route available via DOPL's Contractor Endorsement map | Partial (Utah is a NASCLA participating agency; a passing score satisfies the two year experience requirement for general classifications only and does not waive the Utah Business and Law exam) | Endorsement applicants must still pass the Utah Business and Law exam and meet bonding and insurance; Utah has had no separate GC trade exam since May 2019 so there is no trade exam to waive | Qualifier and licensee notify DOPL in writing within 10 days of the qualifier's last day; 60 days from that notice to replace the qualifier or the license risks revocation | Up to three licensees at any one time; a fourth requires showing material authority over the additional businesses and getting Division and Commission approval first | July 14, 2026 |
| Vermont | Electrical only: Maine, New Hampshire (residents only pathway), plus any National Electrical Reciprocal Alliance (NERA) member state; none for plumbing or the residential registration | No | Electrical reciprocal license for a master or journeyman in good standing at least one year; requires a certified letter from the issuing state, a copy of the license, the fee, and a notarized application; the board material does not spell out which exam is excused; no reciprocity for plumbing or the residential registration | Not applicable to general or residential contracting; no replacement or grace period rule found for electrical or plumbing masters | Not stated | July 14, 2026 |
| Virginia | North Carolina, Ohio | Partial (credit for the trade exam portion of the Building, BLD, classification only, plus the commercial masonry BRK specialty; the Virginia Contractor Law exam through PSI is still required; not accepted for the ordinary residential general contractor path) | Only the named exam is waived (RBC or CBC trade exam for North Carolina licensees, business and law exam for Ohio licensees); a complete Virginia application, verification of licensure from the other state board, and the experience and financial review still apply | 60 days to report a change of qualified individual; 120 days to report a change of designated employee (18VAC50 22 220) | No explicit cap found on an official DPOR page; the regulation says of the firm, singular, and read it as one firm per qualified individual | July 14, 2026 |
| Washington | Oregon (electrical journeyman only; none for general contractor registration) | No | Nothing to waive for general or specialty registration since it has no exam or experience test; for electrical, an Oregon General Journeyman can transfer without retaking the trade exam if the original license came from a state approved apprenticeship of at least 8000 hours and 576 classroom hours | No qualifier to replace for general or specialty registration; electrical contractor license becomes void within 90 days without a replacement administrator or master electrician, 180 days if that person dies or is incapacitated (RCW 19.28.061); no day count confirmed for a designated plumber | No cap at the general contractor registration level (no qualifier exists); an electrical administrator or master electrician may serve only one electrical contractor at a time; no cap confirmed for a designated plumber | July 14, 2026 |
| West Virginia | North Carolina, Ohio, Alabama, Tennessee | Partial (NASCLA Commercial General Building exam credits the trade exam for the General Building classification WV001 since 2013, and the NASCLA Electrical exam credits the Electrical classification since 2020; the Contractor Licensing Act exam through Prov is still required; not accepted for any other classification) | The trade exam may be waived for the named state and classification pairs at the board's discretion (the statute says the board may grant it); the applicant must still pass West Virginia's own Contractor Licensing Act exam | No published day count; the company notifies the board in writing and submits the new qualifier's exam score report, proof of employment and a QESA form | One business entity at a time per license holder (WV Code 30 42 7); a company may have several qualifiers, typically one per classification, and backup qualifiers are not allowed | July 14, 2026 |
| Wisconsin | Iowa, New Hampshire (journeyman electrician only, third party sourced); none for the Dwelling Contractor Qualifier | No | Nothing to waive for the Dwelling Contractor Qualifier (no exam and no reciprocity provision found); an Iowa or New Hampshire journeyman electrician license issued by exam and held at least one year can be recognized without retesting, any other state's electrician must test in Wisconsin | No fixed day count in the rule text; the business cannot pull new building permits for any period it has no actively employed certified Qualifier | No numeric cap stated in the rule text; the Qualifier must be engaged as an employee, owner or officer of the specific business at the time it pulls a permit | July 14, 2026 |
| Wyoming | Electrical journeyman: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah; electrical master: Idaho, South Dakota, Iowa, Utah; none state to state for general contracting (Casper reciprocity is between Wyoming cities only; Jackson recognizes select unnamed states) | No | Electrical only: a reciprocal applicant avoids testing from scratch but needs an original license by examination held at least one year in good standing, NERA verification, and 16 hours of continuing education (8 code specific) within three years; reciprocity may be used exactly once, a lapsed reciprocated license cannot be reciprocated again; no state to state waiver exists for general contracting | No day count found in any city; in Cheyenne the license goes inactive until a replacement qualified supervisor or master is on staff; Casper and Jackson pages did not address it; no grace period found for an electrical master of record | Cheyenne: one contractor at a time, except an individual who wholly owns several entities may represent all of them; state electrical master of record: one company only; Casper and Jackson not stated | July 14, 2026 |
Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file. Most recent check: September 5, 2026.

One company. Every state you work in.
Licensed correctly, the company bids, pulls permits and gets paid. Licensed wrong, every one of those is at risk.
Legal authorization to operate across multiple states
Ability to bid on national and regional projects
Consistent compliance across all jurisdictions
Streamlined license management and renewals
Access to larger commercial and government contracts
Operating without proper licensure in each state
Inconsistent compliance leading to board investigations
Missed renewals resulting in license lapses
Bid disqualification on multi-state projects
Legal exposure in unfamiliar jurisdictions
Contract termination due to licensing deficiencies
Built around your trade and the states you work in.

We coordinate licensing requirements across all your target states for consistent compliance.

Proper documentation prepared for each jurisdiction's unique requirements and filing procedures.

Qualifying agents who meet each state's experience and exam requirements and qualify your company on the state record where your firm has no qualifier of its own.

Ongoing monitoring of license status, renewal deadlines, and continuing education requirements.
A qualifying agent qualifies your company with the board. Here is where the line sits.
Coordinated multi-state compliance strategy
Documented qualifying agent arrangements per jurisdiction
Proper board filings in each state
Ongoing license status monitoring
Centralized compliance management
A single license that covers all states
Shortcuts to bypass state-specific requirements
Informal arrangements without proper documentation
DIY reciprocity filing instructions
Temporary licensing solutions

Marshall Schofield and Jeremiah Jaskulski each hold general contractor, master electrician, master plumber and master mechanical licenses. Together they have helped more than 1,000 business owners with licensing.
They hold the licenses they help other contractors get, so the answer you get on a call is the answer the board will give you.
Meet the foundersThe contracting companies we work with most.
National Electrical Contractors
Multi-State Plumbing Firms
Regional HVAC & Mechanical Companies
General Contractors with National Footprint
Design-Build Firms Expanding Markets
Government Contract Specialists
Data Center & Infrastructure Contractors
Healthcare Facility Construction Firms
Energy & Utility Contractors
What your application and your qualifier have to show.
Separate license or registration in each operating state
Qualifying agent meeting each state's specific requirements
Proper business entity registration per jurisdiction
State-specific insurance and bonding compliance
Adherence to each state's continuing education mandates
Timely renewal and status reporting
Every review below is public and linked to where it was posted.
I honestly can't say enough good things about my experience with The Licensing Company. Marshall and Jeremiah were awesome to work with. From the very beginning, they treated me like a person and not just another client. Anytime I had a question, they were there, and I always felt like I knew what was going on. The biggest thing for me was that they just handled it. I didn't have to spend hours trying to figure out…
Timelines vary by state. Most licenses take a few weeks to a few months.
I can't say enough good things about Jeremiah and Marshall at The Licensing Company. They helped me get my Ohio plumbing license for True Flow Services LLC and made the whole process so much easier than I expected. Running a business already gives you enough to worry about. The last thing I wanted to do was spend my time trying to figure out paperwork, state requirements, and everything that comes along with…
I honestly can't say enough good things about Jeremiah and The Licensing Company. When our electrical qualifier left, I was caught completely off guard. I had a company to run, trucks on the road, jobs that needed to get done, and a whole crew of guys depending on me for their paycheck. I really didn't know what I was supposed to do next or how we were going to get everything straightened out with the State of…
Very professional and knowledgeable.
Working with The Licensing Company was an excellent experience from beginning to end. As the owner of A.B. Electric Services LLC, I know how complicated and time-consuming contractor licensing can become, especially when you are trying to stay focused on running your business and taking care of your customers. The Licensing Company made the entire process much easier for us. They helped streamline everything, kept…
We cannot say enough great things about this company and the outstanding service they provided throughout the process of obtaining our general contractor's license. From the very beginning, their team was knowledgeable, professional, responsive, and incredibly helpful. They handled every detail, answered all of our questions, and guided us through each step of the process, making what could have been overwhelming…
Each trade has its own board rules in most states. Pick yours.
We audit, prepare and submit one state application for one flat $999, and answer the board's paperwork questions until it decides. State fees are paid to the state separately.
See the $999 package
A member of our team calls you back, walks through what your state board requires for your situation, and books your discovery call.
Contractor licensing and qualifying agent guides from The Licensing Company.
What a contractor license is, who needs one, and the board, dollar threshold and exams in every state.
Learn the definition, role, and legal responsibilities of a qualifying agent.
Get matched with a verified, licensed qualifying agent in your state and trade.
Turn your active contractor license into additional income by qualifying other businesses.
Understand qualifier requirements, the legal process, and how to find one in your state.
What a responsible managing officer and a responsible managing employee are, and how the two differ.