Missouri has no statewide general contractor license, so general contracting is regulated city by city and county by county.
Requirements checked against the No statewide general contractor board; Missouri Division of Professional Registration, Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (electrical only) published requirements on September 29, 2026.
| Licensing board | no statewide general contractor board; licensing is city and county level (Kansas City, City of St. Louis, Springfield, Columbia, St. Charles County, Jefferson City); the only state license is the Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OSEC) under the Division of Professional Registration |
|---|---|
| License required when | no statewide general contractor license; requirements set by each city or county; the statewide electrical contractor license is optional, not mandatory |
| What the state calls the qualifier | Kansas City: designated supervisor (full time qualified supervisor per licensed trade); statewide electrical: the licensed electrical contractor who represents the firm |
| NASCLA exam accepted | partial (not applicable for general contracting since there is no state license; yes for electrical, OSEC is a NASCLA Electrical Exams participating agency) |
| Reciprocity and endorsement | Not stated |
| Exam waivers | no exam waiver stated; OSEC reciprocity is an informal request driven process (FAQ answer is Maybe); none found for local general contractor or trade licenses |
| Experience required | statewide electrical: 12000 practical hours standard, or 10000 hours plus apprenticeship certificate, 8000 hours plus associate's degree, 4000 supervising hours plus electrical engineering degree, or a local license held 6 of the previous 8 years; Kansas City: evidence of relevant experience |
| Application and exam fees | statewide electrical 200 dollars initial application; Kansas City licenses trade and residential building contractors, not general contractors |
| Renewal | statewide electrical every three years expiring September 30, 100 dollars active (200 dollars inactive), no continuing education; Kansas City general contractor every four years at 181 dollars |
| Time to license | statewide electrical within a few weeks through the MOPRO portal once documentation and exam results are complete; no published timelines for Kansas City or St. Louis |
| Bond and financial requirements | statewide electrical: proof of 500000 dollars liability insurance plus a bond posted with each political subdivision as it requires; no net worth test stated |
| Penalty for unlicensed work | Not stated |
| Time to replace a qualifier | no fixed statutory notice or replacement window found; the seat is effectively vacant immediately; no deadline is published |
| Companies one qualifier may qualify | one company at a time (statewide electrical by statute; Kansas City designated supervisor by ordinance) |
Facts checked on August 24, 2026.
Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file.
Kansas City licenses contractors through certificates of qualification issued by its Permits Division, the City of St. Louis requires a contractor business license, and St. Louis County runs its own electrical, plumbing, and mechanical contractor licensing. The one state level construction program is the statewide electrical contractor license, issued since July 1, 2019 through the Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors under the Division of Professional Registration. Plumbing and HVAC have no statewide license in Missouri and are handled by local jurisdictions.
Missouri has no statewide general contractor license; general and building contracting is licensed locally by individual cities and counties, including Kansas City, St. Louis, St. Louis County, Springfield, and Columbia. The only state issued license is the optional statewide electrical contractor license, issued by Missouri's OSEC. A statewide electrical qualifier may represent only one company at a time.
Kansas City's contractor licensing sits with the City Planning and Development Department, Permits Division. An applicant must be at least 21 with a high school diploma or GED, show evidence of relevant experience, and have a full time, qualified supervisor overseeing each licensed trade. That supervisor must pass an exam accredited by Prometric or ICC (City of Kansas City Missouri contractor licensing page; Kansas City open data portal contractor licensing and certification requirements document). A company may employ more than one certificate holder under that designated supervisor, and one person can hold certificates in more than one trade, but the designated supervisor can only serve one company at a time, whether the company is a sole proprietor, partnership, or corporation, and whether the qualifying person is a personal certificate holder, a general partner, a responsible managing officer, or a responsible managing employee (Kansas City Code of Ordinances, Article XII Contractors, via Municode Library).
Missouri rule 20 CSR 2117-1.070 sets a statewide electrical application fee of 200 dollars. Kansas City itself licenses trade and residential building contractors, not general contractors (Kansas City contractor licensing guidance, checked September 29, 2026).
These are two separate programs, not one. In the City of St. Louis, contractors and subcontractors need a Graduated Business License. The process runs through a Missouri sales tax identification number, a statement of clearance from the Collector of Revenue's office, an occupancy permit from the Building Division of the Department of Public Safety, and proof of workers compensation coverage, with a building permit application fee fixed at 25 dollars for any building permit.
That 25 dollar figure is not the Graduated Business License fee itself. The Graduated Business License carries its own initial fee of 200 dollars for a business starting between June 1 and January 1, or 100 dollars for one starting between January 2 and May 31, with a reduced 25 dollar initial fee reserved for home based businesses only. Renewal amounts after that scale with the licensee's St. Louis employee headcount (City of St. Louis Graduated Business License Fee Schedule and Requirements, checked July 14, 2026).
St. Louis County runs its permitting through Transportation and Public Works, administered separately from the city. The county issues no general contractor license at all; it verifies only that out of state contractors are registered with the state and issues trade specific permits, for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, only to contractors who already hold the relevant trade license (St. Louis County permit procedures and building construction pages). A St. Louis County lead working general building has no county license to pursue, only building permits and, if the work is in a trade, that trade's own license.
This is the single fact to never get wrong on a Missouri call. A statewide licensed electrical contractor may represent only one firm, company, corporation, institution, or organization at a time (RSMo 324.920 and 324.925). Only one person per company needs to hold the license, and that person carries responsibility for the company's electrical work, but they cannot simultaneously be the qualifier of record for a second company, unlike arrangements described for Utah, where an agent may qualify up to three companies, or Florida, where qualifying a second company requires CILB approval. Kansas City's own local ordinance mirrors this exactly: a designated supervisor may serve only one company at a time (Kansas City Code of Ordinances Article XII, via Municode Library). Practically, an agent placed on a Missouri electrical seat, whether under the statewide license or a purely local one, is committed to that one client exclusively until they leave that role. There is no multi qualify model available in Missouri today.
A fixed statutory notice or replacement window for the statewide electrical license, comparable to Utah's 10 day notice and 60 day replacement clock, is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. Given the one company at a time rule above, a qualifier leaving a Missouri electrical seat effectively leaves that seat vacant immediately, since no backup qualifier structure is described anywhere in RSMo 324.900 to .945. Treat any specific deadline claim here as unverified until confirmed directly with OSEC or the relevant local board.
NASCLA runs two separate accreditation programs, and Missouri is treated differently under each one. Its Commercial Building Contractor exam program, which covers states such as Alabama, Georgia, and Tennessee, does not include Missouri; Missouri does not appear on that program's list of participating agencies (NASCLA commercial exam participating states). This follows from Missouri having no state general contractor license for that exam to feed into. Separately, NASCLA's Electrical Exams accreditation program does list the Missouri Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors as a participating agency, covering the Electrical Contractor, Master or Unlimited Electrician, and Journeyman Electrician exams (NASCLA electrical exam participating states). So whether Missouri accepts NASCLA depends on the trade: for general contracting, the question does not apply because there is no state license to accept it into; for electrical, yes, a passed NASCLA electrical exam is one of OSEC's own approved exam routes.
Missouri's testing landscape mirrors its licensing landscape. There is no single statewide general contractor exam because there is no single statewide general contractor license. The exams covered on this page are the Missouri Statewide Electrical Contractor exam through Prov, the NASCLA Accredited electrical exam through PSI (one of OSEC's own approved alternate routes), and the two Kansas City exams that stand in for a general contractor test in Missouri's largest licensing jurisdiction: the Master Electrician exam and the Residential Building Contractor exam, both delivered by ICC through Pearson VUE. Kansas City's own Contractor Trades exam list has no separate commercial general contractor exam at all; Residential Building Contractor is the closest thing it has to a general building exam, and everything else on the list is trade specific (plumbing, mechanical, boilers, gas fitting, fire suppression, refrigeration).
Vendor and scheduling. Prov, Inc. is the test administrator the State of Missouri itself contracts with for the OSEC electrical contractor license exam. Schedule online at Prov exam registration (select Missouri Electrical Contractor Licensing as the certifying body, then the specific exam) or by phone at 866 720 7768; Prov's scheduling staff is available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern, Monday through Friday.
Question count and time limit. 60 questions, 3 hours, delivered by computer.
Passing score. 70 percent.
Open or closed book. Open book, references limited to the approved list below.
What the exam covers. The 2017 NEC version content outline lists Grounding and Bonding, General Knowledge of the Electrical Trade and Calculations, Service Feeders Branch Feeders and Overcurrent Protection, Raceways and Enclosures, Conductors, Motors and Controls, Utilization and General Use Equipment, Special Occupancies and Equipment, Low Voltage Circuits including Alarms and Communications, and Safety. Prov also runs 2011 and 2014 NEC versions of this same exam with a similar but not identical subject breakdown, plus separate Journeyman Electrician and Residential Journeyman or Master Electrician variants at 40 questions and 2 hours. Confirm with the candidate which NEC year and category OSEC requires before scheduling; Prov states plainly it will not refund a fee if the wrong exam is taken.
Approved references, with editions. NFPA 70, National Electrical Code, 2017 edition, ISBN 9781455912773, National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02169 7471, available at National Fire Protection Association. The 2011 and 2014 versions of this same exam instead reference the 2011 and 2014 NEC editions (the 2014 edition carries ISBN 9781455906727).
Tabbing and highlighting rules. Candidates may prepare references beforehand using highlighting, handwritten notes in pen or ink, and permanent tabs. Movable tabs, Post it notes, photocopied pages, and pencil markings are not allowed; pencil notes must be erased before the reference is brought in. Once inside the testing room, no further marking, underlining, or writing in the reference is allowed during the test itself. There is a conflict in Prov's own materials: the body of the bulletin says handwritten notes must be in pen, but the generic Candidate Instructions Handout attached at the back of the same document, an undated boilerplate page Prov reuses across its programs, says handwritten notes are not allowed in any portion of a reference book at all. Treat handwritten notes as the higher risk prep method and lean on highlighting and permanent tabs instead until this is confirmed directly with Prov.
Where to test. Eight Missouri based Prov testing centers appear in the bulletin: Cape Girardeau (Southeast Missouri State University), Joplin (Missouri Southern State University), Springfield (Missouri State University), two St. Louis area sites (St. Louis Community College and University of Missouri St. Louis), St. Peters (eIDentity Services LLC), Warrensburg (University of Central Missouri), and West Plains (Missouri State University West Plains). Candidates are not limited to Missouri; Prov's bulletin states a candidate may test at any one of Prov's testing centers throughout the United States, so a candidate near the Kansas or Illinois line has neighboring state options through the same registration. Remote or online proctoring is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page; treat testing as center based until confirmed otherwise directly with Prov.
Retake rules. No waiting period; a candidate may reschedule for the next available date immediately after a failed attempt, and may retake as many times as needed. A candidate may not retake an exam once they have passed it. Retake fees equal the original exam fee.
Exam fees. 80 dollars per computer delivered exam. A review of a failed exam, available only after failing the same exam category at least twice and only if the candidate scored within 10 points of the 70 percent cutoff, costs the same as the exam fee. A hand score recheck costs 25 dollars and must be requested within 90 days of the test. A newer version of Prov's candidate bulletin, 2024.02.06, also exists; the 80 dollar exam fee above is confirmed current as of August 24, 2026, but the rest of that updated bulletin is not reflected on this page, so confirm current requirements directly with Prov before a live test date.
Vendor and scheduling. This is one of OSEC's own listed alternate exam routes into the Missouri electrical contractor license; Missouri Professional Registration's own Approved Examinations list names NASCLA specifically and states plainly that PSI Services LLC is the test administrator for these examinations. A candidate first applies and is pre approved by NASCLA itself through the NASCLA exam application portal (processed within 7 business days), then PSI emails the approved candidate a link to pay and schedule at the PSI NASCLA exam portal, or the candidate can call PSI at 855 746 8177.
Question count and time limit. 100 scored questions (10 additional unscored experimental questions are mixed in, so 110 questions appear on screen but only 100 count toward the score), 270 minutes.
Passing score. 75 percent.
Open or closed book. Open book, references limited to the approved list below, plus a physical diagram or blueprint packet handed out onsite.
What the exam covers. The content outline groups questions under Project Design and Management, Safety, Electrical Theory and Principles, General Code Requirements, Wiring and Protection, Wiring Methods and Materials, Equipment for General Use, Special Occupancies Special Equipment and Special Conditions, and Communication Systems.
Approved references, with editions. National Electrical Code or National Electrical Code Handbook, 2020 or 2023 edition (2020 ISBN 9781455922970, 2023 ISBN 9781455930340). Code of Federal Regulations 29 CFR 1926, OSHA Construction Industry Regulations, 2024 edition. Code of Federal Regulations 29 CFR 1910, OSHA Occupational Safety and Health Standards, 2024 edition. A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, 7th edition, 2021. ANSI ASHRAE IES 90.1 2022 Energy Standard. NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Basic, 14th edition, 2024. NFPA 70E, Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace, 2024 edition. Ugly's Electrical References, George V. Hart, 2023 edition. Understanding Electrical Theory for NEC Applications, Mike Holt. Two optional references are also allowed, Ferm's Fast Finder Index and the Key Word Index by Tom Henry, but only if they carry no marks, highlights, or tabs at all.
Tabbing and highlighting rules. References may be highlighted, underlined, and tabbed or indexed with permanent tabs only; temporary tabs such as Post it notes are not allowed and must be removed before the exam begins. References must otherwise be unmarked, nothing may be written in them, and no loose or attached extra papers are allowed.
Where to test. PSI operates nationwide testing centers. The bulletin does not publish a Missouri specific list; a candidate is shown the nearest sites by zip code when scheduling, so neighboring state centers appear automatically as an option. The bulletin's identification section notes a military ID is "not allowed for remote testing," which by implication means PSI does offer a remote or online proctored option for this exam alongside its in person testing centers, though the bulletin does not describe the remote format directly. Confirm the remote option and its own rules with PSI before relying on it.
Retake rules. A candidate has one year from NASCLA's application approval date to take the exam, with a maximum of three sit attempts inside that year. If all three are used without a pass, the candidate must reapply to NASCLA once the one year window has expired.
Exam fees. NASCLA's own site confirms a 65 dollar application fee. The dollar amount of PSI's own exam fee is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page; outside test prep sources cite a figure near 125 dollars, but confirm the current fee directly with PSI before relying on it. A separate 45 dollar transcript fee (valid two years) applies each time a passed result is sent to a new state agency through NASCLA's National Examination Database.
Vendor and scheduling. Kansas City's own ordinance requires the designated supervisor on an electrical license to pass an exam accredited by Prometric or ICC. The ICC version is scheduled at the Pearson VUE ICC exam page or by phone at 1 877 234 6082; prepayment is required before a seat is booked.
Question count and time limit. 100 multiple choice questions, 5 hour time limit (a further 30 minutes is added automatically for the tutorial and exit survey, per the Pearson VUE confirmation letter, so plan on close to 5 and a half hours at the test site).
Passing score. 75 percent. ICC's own bulletin flags this exam by name as an exception; most of its Contractor Trades exams pass at 70 percent, and Master Electrician is one of the few held to a higher bar.
Open or closed book. Open book.
What the exam covers. The outline lists General Knowledge and Plan Reading, Services and Service Equipment, Feeders, Branch Circuits and Conductors, Wiring Methods and Materials, Equipment and Devices, Control Devices, Motors and Generators, and Special Occupancies Equipment and Conditions. The percentage weighting per topic should be confirmed directly with the International Code Council; treat the list above as subject areas only.
Approved references, with editions. 2011 National Electrical Code, plus American Electricians' Handbook, 15th edition, or Ugly's Electrical References, any edition. Given this bulletin's own April 8, 2015 publication date, the 2011 NEC reference is almost certainly stale by 2026; NEC has since published 2014, 2017, 2020, and 2023 editions. Confirm the current reference edition directly with ICC or Pearson VUE before a live test date.
Tabbing and highlighting rules. Bound original references (bound book, three ring binder, or stapled), notes written in ink or highlighted directly in code sections, and permanently attached tabs that cannot be removed without damaging the page are allowed. Pencil notes must already be highlighted before arrival. Photocopies are never allowed. Once seated, no writing or marking in the reference is allowed during the exam itself; the proctor issues a whiteboard and markers for calculations instead.
Where to test. Pearson VUE runs over 350 sites nationwide for this program, so both Kansas City area centers and neighboring Kansas centers, such as Overland Park, are normally bookable through the same scheduling portal. This 2015 dated bulletin does not mention a remote or online proctored option. Pearson VUE has since added OnVUE remote proctoring for a number of its other programs, but this does not confirm whether that extends to the ICC Kansas City Contractor Trades exams; treat it as unconfirmed.
Retake rules. A 10 day wait is required before retaking a failed exam. There is no cap on the number of retakes described in this bulletin; each attempt is scheduled and paid for separately.
Exam fees. 100 dollars per computer based exam. An exam review costs 50 dollars; a hand score recheck costs 25 dollars and must be requested within 90 days.
Vendor and scheduling. Same ICC and Pearson VUE process as the Master Electrician exam above: the Pearson VUE ICC exam page or 1 877 234 6082.
Question count and time limit. 80 multiple choice questions, 4 hour time limit.
Passing score. 70 percent, the general Contractor Trades cutoff (only the Master Electrician exam above carries the higher 75 percent line).
Open or closed book. Open book.
What the exam covers. The outline lists Footings Foundations and Crawlspaces, Building Planning, Masonry, Floors, Walls, Roofs, Fireplaces, Plan Reading, and Administration. As with the Master Electrician exam above, the percentage weighting per topic should be confirmed directly with ICC before using them in prep guidance.
Approved references, with editions. 2012 International Residential Code. Given the bulletin's 2015 publication date, this is very likely a stale code year by 2026; the IRC has since published 2015, 2018, 2021, and 2024 editions. Confirm the current required edition with ICC or Pearson VUE before a live test date.
Tabbing and highlighting rules. Identical to the Master Electrician exam above: bound references, ink notes or highlighting directly in the code, permanently attached tabs, no photocopies, no writing during the test itself, with a whiteboard provided in the room instead.
Where to test. Same nationwide Pearson VUE network as above; Kansas City area plus neighboring Kansas sites are normally bookable in the same scheduling flow. Remote proctoring is not confirmed for this exam in this bulletin.
Retake rules. Same 10 day wait between attempts as the Master Electrician exam; no cap on retakes described.
Exam fees. 100 dollars per computer based exam, review 50 dollars, hand score recheck 25 dollars.
The statewide electrical license processes within a few weeks through the MOPRO portal once documentation and exam results are complete (Missouri MOPRO licensing portal; Missouri Professional Registration). Processing timelines for Kansas City's or St. Louis's local contractor licenses should be confirmed directly with the specific building department; treat those as case by case.
The Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OSEC) FAQ answers the reciprocity question for Missouri's statewide electrical license directly: "Maybe. Please watch this site for further information," with an invitation for licensees to email OSEC suggesting a state for reciprocity consideration (Missouri electrical contractor FAQ, checked September 29, 2026). This confirms that reciprocity is handled as an informal, request driven process rather than through standing state to state agreements.
Reciprocity information for Missouri's local jurisdiction general contractor and trade licenses should be confirmed directly with the relevant city or county licensing office.
The Missouri Division of Professional Registration runs the Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors, known as OSEC, under RSMo sections 324.900 through 324.945 (Missouri Revisor of Statutes; Missouri Professional Registration). This is the only state issued contractor license of any kind in Missouri, and it is optional, not mandatory. Anyone who only works in a political subdivision that has no local electrical licensing requirement, or who already holds that specific subdivision's own local license, does not need the statewide license.
Where it matters is for anyone working across multiple cities or counties: every political subdivision must recognize the statewide license in place of its own local license for performing work or pulling permits, and no subdivision may force a statewide license holder to also pass a separate local exam (RSMo 324.925). Subdivisions can still enforce their own electrical code, inspect the work, and require a general business license, and any subdivision that had no electrical licensing authority at all before August 28, 2017 cannot start requiring one now (Missouri Revisor of Statutes). If a subdivision refuses to honor the statewide license, the Division investigates, gives the subdivision 30 days to comply, and can withhold that subdivision's share of local sales tax revenue until it does (Missouri Revisor of Statutes).
Applicants need proof of 500000 dollars in liability insurance, plus a bond posted with each political subdivision they work in as that subdivision requires, so bonding stays fragmented locally even though the license itself is statewide. RSMo 324.920, on the Missouri Revisor of Statutes site, quotes plainly: "provide proof of liability insurance in the amount of five hundred thousand dollars."
Applicants must also pass a standardized, nationally accredited electrical exam from an approved third party vendor. Approved vendors include Prov (which runs the primary Missouri Statewide Electrical Contractor exam itself), Prometric, and PSI Services LLC (which runs the NASCLA accredited route). The complete current vendor list beyond these should be confirmed directly with OSEC (Missouri electrical approved exams PDF).
There are several hour based pathways to qualify for the exam: 12000 verifiable practical hours as the standard path, and a second path combining 10000 hours of experience with an additional qualification. Confirm the specifics of that second pathway, and the full list of experience pathways, directly with OSEC.
All statewide electrical contractor applications and renewals now run through Missouri's MOPRO online licensing portal, which launched January 14, 2025 and replaced the prior paper based system (Missouri MOPRO licensing portal; Missouri Professional Registration). The license renews every three years, expiring September 30, with a 100 dollar active triennial renewal fee, a 200 dollar inactive triennial renewal fee, a 200 dollar initial application fee, a 100 dollar reactivation fee, and a 250 dollar reinstatement fee, all confirmed on Missouri Professional Registration's own renewal information and fee schedule pages (fee schedule effective June 30, 2019). There is no continuing education requirement for renewal.
Plumbing licensing is governed by RSMo Chapter 341 but administered locally, not by any state board (Justia summary of Chapter 341). State statute requires any city with a population of 15000 or more to require journeyman and master plumbers to pass an exam, and sets baseline experience figures that should hold across jurisdictions even though issuance itself is local: a Master Plumber must be at least 25 with 3 or more years as a licensed journeyman, and a Journeyman Plumber must be at least 21 with 5 or more years of apprentice experience under a licensed master. Always confirm the specific city or county's own plumbing board for the live process.
HVAC and mechanical contractor licensing is fully local in Missouri; there is no state license and no state minimums. A Statewide Mechanical Contractor Licensing Act has been introduced repeatedly and has never passed: SB 31 died in the 2025 session, and SB 957 and HB 2659 were introduced for the 2026 session, covering a statewide mechanical contractor, mechanical journeyman, and mechanical apprentice license (Missouri Senate bill tracking; Missouri House of Representatives bill summary). If passed, this would create a new state issued HVAC license in Missouri where none exists today.
As of September 29, 2026, the renewal fee for an active triennial renewal of the Missouri statewide electrical contractor license is confirmed at 100 dollars, not 200 dollars. The 200 dollar figure applies to an inactive triennial renewal. The full fee schedule, effective June 30, 2019, also includes a 200 dollar initial application fee, a 100 dollar reactivation fee, and a 250 dollar reinstatement fee (Missouri Professional Registration, Fees page). The renewal cycle is every three years, expiring September 30, per Missouri Professional Registration's renewal information page.
A fifth experience pathway toward the statewide electrical exam has been identified: 4000 hours supervising installation work plus a four year electrical engineering degree, in addition to the four pathways described elsewhere on this page.
St. Louis County issues no general contractor license. It verifies that out of state contractors are registered with the state and issues trade specific permits only to contractors who already hold the relevant electrical, plumbing, or HVAC license.
Missouri's Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OSEC) FAQ states its reciprocity position directly: "Maybe. Please watch this site for further information," with an invitation to email OSEC suggesting a state for reciprocity consideration (Missouri electrical contractor FAQ).
The complete list of vendors approved for the statewide electrical exam beyond those named on this page should be confirmed directly with OSEC or Prov (Missouri electrical approved exams PDF).
Missouri is a local licensing state for general and building contracting. Regulation sits with individual cities and counties, and each jurisdiction runs its own program with its own paperwork, fees, and rules. The major jurisdictions with their own contractor licensing programs include Kansas City, the City of St. Louis, St. Louis County, Springfield, and Columbia.
Because of this, qualifying a company through a single state license is not available for general building work in Missouri. Before anything else can be answered, a Missouri lead needs to confirm which city or county they actually work in, since Kansas City and St. Louis run genuinely different programs from each other.
Official Licensing Authority
All contractor license applications, renewals, and qualifying agent changes must go through this board.
We place a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a full time W-2 employee and prepare the qualifier filing with the No statewide general contractor board; Missouri Division of Professional Registration, Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (electrical only). Tell us your trade and what you have going on, and pick a time for a discovery call. Or call 615-219-2110.
Provide your information for a compliance assessment.
Contractor licensing and qualifying agent guides from The Licensing Company.
What a contractor license is, who needs one, and the board, dollar threshold and exams in every state.
Learn the definition, role, and legal responsibilities of a qualifying agent.
Get matched with a verified, licensed qualifying agent in your state and trade.
Turn your active contractor license into additional income by qualifying other businesses.
Understand qualifier requirements, the legal process, and how to find one in your state.
What a responsible managing officer and a responsible managing employee are, and how the two differ.