Oregon Contractor License: Requirements, Cost and Exams

Oregon licenses essentially everyone who works for compensation on improvements to real property through the Construction Contractors Board (CCB), with no minimum project value. Every license carries an endorsement, residential or commercial, that sets the bond and insurance the company must hold.

Requirements checked against the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB) published requirements on September 10, 2026.

Oregon contractor license requirements at a glance

Licensing boardConstruction Contractors Board (CCB), Salem, semi independent board inside the Department of Consumer and Business Services
License required whenEvery business doing construction work for compensation needs a CCB license; no dollar threshold and no local alternative
What the state calls the qualifierResponsible Managing Individual (RMI)
NASCLA exam acceptedpartial (NASCLA passage waives only the 16 hour pre license training; the Oregon business and law exam is still required)
Reciprocity and endorsementNone for general contractor; trade only through BCD: journeyman plumber from Idaho, Montana; general journeyman electrician from Arkansas, Idaho, Maine, Montana, Utah, Washington, Wyoming; general supervising electrician from Arkansas, Utah
Exam waiversNo GC exam waiver from any state; NASCLA passers are excused from the 16 hour pre license training only and must still pass the Oregon PSI business and law exam
Experience requiredResidential and specialty: none; Commercial Level 1: 8 years combined; Commercial Level 2: 4 years, up to 3 satisfied by apprenticeship or construction degree
Application and exam fees400 dollars for a two year license (since July 1, 2025); PSI exam fee 60 dollars
RenewalAll licenses renew every two years at 400 dollars; commercial licenses also carry continuing education
Time to licenseOregon's Construction Contractors Board says an online application can take up to six weeks, and a paper application 6 to 8 weeks (CCB application FAQ, updated 3/2026). The state license directory lists 7 to 10 business days, but the board is the authority on its own processing.
Bond and financial requirementsBond and liability by endorsement, effective January 1 2024: Residential General 25000 dollar bond and 500000 dollars liability; Commercial General Level 1 80000 dollar bond and 2000000 dollars aggregate; Commercial General Level 2 25000 dollar bond and 1000000 dollars; no net worth or financial statement
Penalty for unlicensed workNot stated
Time to replace a qualifierImmediate replacement or temporary RMI; written notice to CCB within 3 calendar days; permanent RMI within 14 days of that notice or the license is suspended
Companies one qualifier may qualifyNon owner RMI may qualify only one licensee; owners have no cap; controlling interest percentage not published

Facts checked on July 14, 2026.

Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file.

Most endorsements require a Responsible Managing Individual (RMI), an owner, officer, partner, or employee with management or supervisory authority over the company's construction activity. Electrical and plumbing contractor licenses are issued separately by the Oregon Building Codes Division, and those businesses hold a CCB license as well.

Oregon requires a Qualifying Agent for all licensed contractor entities.

Oregon requires a Construction Contractors Board (CCB) license for any business doing construction work for compensation; electrical and plumbing contractors also need a Building Codes Division (BCD) license. The CCB licenses the business entity, qualified through a Responsible Managing Individual (RMI). A non owner RMI can typically qualify only one Oregon license at a time; confirm with the CCB.

License classes

Classifications, bonds, and insurance

Oregon issues 18 distinct license endorsements rather than the numbered classes used in states like Nevada or Virginia (Oregon Construction Contractors Board, CCB License page; CCB Endorsement Chart; OAR 812-003-0131 via oregon.public.law). The core residential endorsements are Residential General Contractor (RGC), which may supervise or perform an unlimited number of unrelated building trades on any residential or small commercial structure (a non residential building under 10,000 square feet and 20 feet tall, or a project with a total contract under 250000 dollars); Residential Specialty Contractor (RSC), limited to two or fewer unrelated trades unless the whole contract is under 2500 dollars; Residential Limited Contractor (RLC), capped at 40000 dollars in annual gross sales with no single contract over 5000 dollars; and Residential Developer (RD), for people who develop residential zoned property and arrange construction through licensed contractors without performing the work themselves (OAR 812-003-0131 via oregon.public.law). The commercial side runs Commercial General Contractor Level 1 and Level 2 (CGC1 and CGC2) and Commercial Specialty Contractor Level 1 and Level 2 (CSC1 and CSC2), plus a Commercial Developer endorsement. CGC1 and CGC2 both cover an unlimited number of building trades on commercial structures of any size; the difference between the two levels is the experience, bond, and insurance tier, not a project size cap (Oregon state website SOS License Directory, Commercial General Level 1 and Level 2 entries).

Current bond and insurance minimums, effective January 1, 2024, per the CCB's License page: Residential General Contractor, 25000 dollar bond and 500000 dollars per occurrence liability insurance; Residential Specialty, 20000 dollar bond and 300000 dollars per occurrence; Residential Limited, 15000 dollar bond and 100000 dollars per occurrence; Residential Developer, 25000 dollar bond and 500000 dollars per occurrence; Commercial General Level 1, 80000 dollar bond and 2000000 dollars aggregate; Commercial General Level 2, 25000 dollar bond and 1000000 dollars aggregate; Commercial Specialty Level 1, 55000 dollar bond and 1000000 dollars aggregate; Commercial Specialty Level 2, 25000 dollar bond and 500000 dollars per occurrence (Oregon Construction Contractors Board, CCB License page). These are increases from the prior amounts: Residential General moved up from 20000 dollars and Commercial General Level 1 moved up from 75000 dollars. An older listing on the SOS License Directory still shows the pre 2024 figures of 75000 and 20000 dollars for Commercial General Level 1 and 2; the current CCB License page numbers above are the ones to rely on, and Oregon's bond minimums should be understood to have moved up in 2024. Contractors on public works projects over 100000 dollars must also file a separate 30000 dollar public works bond (Oregon Construction Contractors Board, Licensing page). These bond and insurance minimums were checked against the CCB's current License page as of September 10, 2026, and remain unchanged since July 2026.

The 2 year license fee, separate from bond and insurance cost, moved from 325 dollars to 400 dollars, per the CCB's Fee Increase page. The increase phased in in two steps: renewals moved to 400 dollars on July 1, 2024, and new applications moved to 400 dollars on July 1, 2025, so every CCB applicant and renewing licensee now pays 400 dollars (Oregon Construction Contractors Board, Fee Increase page; CCB License page, which lists 400 dollars for applications submitted 7/1/25 or later). The SOS License Directory entry for Residential General still listed a 250 dollar license fee as of a January 2026 page update; that figure is stale and out of step with the CCB's own fee page, so 400 dollars is the number to rely on, not the SOS Directory figure. The SOS Directory remains useful for other figures, such as commercial bond tiers and renewal cycle length, but not for fee amounts.

No net worth or financial statement requirement

A financial statement, CPA letter, or net worth minimum at any bond or contract size is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page (Oregon Construction Contractors Board, CCB License page and Licensing page). The financial requirements are the surety bond and the liability insurance policy itself, with the CCB named as certificate holder. This is a lower financial bar than in states such as Tennessee or Georgia, and Oregon should not be assumed to work the same way those states do.

The qualifier rule

Qualifying the company, and how many companies one agent can qualify

Oregon licenses the business through a Responsible Managing Individual (RMI), who can be an owner, officer, partner, or employee of the licensed business, as long as that person actually manages or supervises the business's construction activity and has completed the required training and testing (OAR 812-006-0100 via oregon.public.law). The same rule sets the restriction: an individual who is not an owner may not be designated as the RMI of more than one licensee, with no equity percentage carve out of the kind Nevada allows at 25 percent ownership. Owners face no such single license cap. ORS 701.094 defines an owner as a sole proprietor, a partner, or a holder of a controlling interest in the business, with the CCB's own rules further defining the term (ORS 701.094 via oregon.public.law). The exact ownership percentage that Oregon's rules treat as a controlling interest for this specific purpose is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page; confirm the threshold with the CCB before relying on it. In practice, this is stricter than Nevada, not looser: a qualifying agent who is a W2 employee without an ownership stake in the client's Oregon entity can likely only serve as RMI for one Oregon license at a time. Anyone considering this structure should confirm with the CCB and with an attorney exactly what ownership stake, if any, would allow one qualifying agent to qualify more than one Oregon company, since the process differs from how it works in states such as Georgia or Tennessee.

Replacement rules and deadlines when a qualifier leaves

Per OAR 812-006-0110, the Temporary Responsible Managing Individual rule, via oregon.public.law: when an RMI leaves, the business must immediately appoint a replacement RMI or a temporary RMI. If it appoints a temporary RMI, it must notify the CCB in writing within 3 calendar days, naming the outgoing RMI, when they stopped serving, the temporary RMI's name, address, appointment date, and relationship to the business. A temporary RMI can serve for a period not to exceed 14 days from the date of that notification, and within that same 14 day window the business must have a permanently qualified RMI in place meeting ORS 701.122 and OAR 812-006-0100. A temporary RMI cannot be used on a brand new initial license application, only on an existing one. Failing to maintain a qualified RMI results in suspension of the license. This 3 day notice and 14 day total replacement clock is dramatically faster than the 120 to 180 day windows in some other states and even faster than Nevada's 10 and 30 day clock; any Oregon qualifier departure should be treated as an emergency measured in days, not weeks.

Exams

Exam requirements and current vendor

PSI Services is Oregon's contracted exam vendor (Oregon Construction Contractors Board, CCB License page and CCB approved training provider pages). The Oregon exam is 80 multiple choice questions on Oregon specific construction law, business practices, and lien law, open book against the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law, and Project Management, 3 hours long, with a 70 percent passing score, 56 correct answers, and a 60 dollar test fee. These figures are stated in those exact terms on the CCB's official License page at Oregon Construction Contractors Board.

NASCLA acceptance, and exactly what it covers

Oregon is a participating agency on NASCLA's own list (NASCLA, Oregon Construction Contractors Board page). NASCLA's page is specific about what the waiver does: an applicant who has passed the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors does not have to complete Oregon's 16 hour pre license training; instead, they submit a transcript of the NASCLA passage to the CCB. NASCLA acceptance in Oregon does not waive the Oregon business and law exam itself: every applicant, NASCLA or not, still sits and passes that Oregon specific PSI exam (NASCLA, Oregon page; Oregon Construction Contractors Board training and licensing pages). This is a narrower NASCLA benefit than in states like Utah or Nevada, where NASCLA can waive an entire trade exam or satisfy an experience requirement; in Oregon it only buys back the 16 hour classroom requirement.

Testing and exams

Oregon licensing runs on at least four distinct exams once the CCB and the trades overlay are both counted, across two different administration models. The CCB's own business and law exam and the national NASCLA alternate pathway both run through PSI Services LLC, each with a full published candidate bulletin. The Building Codes Division's electrical and plumbing trade exams do not name PSI anywhere in BCD's own official documents, and run through a separate list of Oregon testing locations. These are two different systems, not one PSI relationship covering everything in the state.

1. Oregon Construction Contractors Examination (the CCB business and law exam)

This is the single exam every CCB endorsement holder sits: RGC, RSC, RLC, RD, CGC1, CGC2, CSC1, CSC2, and CD alike. There is no separate CCB trade skills exam, only this business and law test.

Vendor and scheduling: PSI Services LLC, under contract to the CCB. Once a pre license education provider or NASCLA submits a candidate electronically, PSI emails an eligibility notice. Candidates can schedule online at PSI Oregon contractor exam portal or by phone at (855) 746-8170, Monday through Friday 4:30 am to 7:00 pm and Saturday and Sunday 8:00 am to 2:30 pm Pacific time.

Format: 80 scored questions in 180 minutes, plus 8 additional unscored experimental items that add 20 minutes to the session, for a total of 200 minutes in the room.

Passing score: 70 percent correct, 56 of 80 scored questions.

Open or closed book: open book.

What it covers, per the bulletin's content outline (item counts as printed): Choosing Your Business Structure 18, Hiring and Managing Employees 4, Working with Subcontractors 7, Contracts 2, Oregon Lien Law 9, Bidding and Estimating 5, Scheduling and Project Management 6, Oregon Building Codes 5, Jobsite Safety 4, Environmental Factors 4, Building Exterior Shell 4, Financial Management 4, Tax Basics 4, and one further unlabeled row of 4 items as printed in the bulletin's table (the named rows total 76 of the stated 80 scored items).

Approved reference: The NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Oregon Construction Contractors, 2nd Edition, English or Spanish. A candidate may bring both language versions into the test site.

Tabbing and highlighting: the reference manual may be highlighted, underlined, tabbed with removable or permanent tabs, and indexed before the session, and handwritten notes inside the manual are allowed. No additional loose papers are permitted with it. An ESL candidate may bring one bound, word for word translation dictionary with an ISBN, but it must carry no tabs, no notes, and no loose paper.

Where to test: nine named Oregon PSI centers, Aurora, Baker City, Bend, Eugene, Independence, Klamath Falls, Medford, Portland, and Wilsonville, plus any PSI center nationwide, or a Remote Proctored option taken by webcam from a candidate's own computer after a compatibility check.

Retake rules: unlimited retakes with no expiration on eligibility. The $60 fee is valid for one year from the date of payment and applies equally to first time and repeat test takers. Cancel or reschedule at least 2 days before the appointment to avoid forfeiting the fee. A candidate must apply for the CCB license within 2 years of passing.

Fee: $60.

Source: Oregon Construction Contractors Board Examination Candidate Information Bulletin, PSI Services LLC, copyright 2023, effective 2/3/2023, document number 729 1, at Oregon CCB PSI bulletin PDF.

2. NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors (the national alternate pathway)

Oregon's own page confirms this waives the CCB's 16 hour pre license training course for commercial applicants, nothing more; the passer still has to sit and pass exam 1 above. The exam's own details are included here because it is a real pathway for commercial applicants.

Vendor and scheduling: PSI Services LLC, under contract to NASCLA, not to the CCB directly. A candidate first applies and pays a $65 application fee through NASCLA's own National Examination Database at NASCLA exam application portal (NASCLA apply page); NASCLA typically processes the application within about 7 business days. Once NASCLA approves, PSI emails scheduling instructions; candidates can schedule online at PSI NASCLA exam portal or by phone at (855) 746-8177.

Format: 115 scored questions in 330 minutes, plus 10 additional unscored pretest items whose time is already folded into the 330 minutes.

Passing score: 81 of 115 correct.

Open or closed book: open book.

What it covers, per the bulletin's content outline (item counts as printed): Site Construction 25, Concrete 15, Masonry 6, Metals 4, Wood 6, Thermal and Moisture Protection 5, Doors Windows and Glazing 5, Finishes 4, Mechanical and Plumbing Systems 5, Electrical Systems 6, and Procurement and Contracting Requirements 3, under a general heading of General Requirements (the bulletin's own subtotal row reads 31, which does not reconcile cleanly against the 115 total scored items or the listed subject rows; the outline is quoted here exactly as the bulletin prints it).

Approved references: the bulletin carries a long named list, roughly twenty specific titles with editions, among them The NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Basic 14th Edition, the current International Building Code (2021 or 2024), several ACI, ICC, and trade association manuals, and OSHA excerpts (29 CFR Part 1926). The full list with publishers and editions lives in the Reference List section of the bulletin at PSI NASCLA exam bulletin; because code book editions roll over, it is worth pulling that list fresh before relying on a specific title.

Tabbing and highlighting: references may be highlighted, underlined, and indexed with permanent tabs only. Temporary tabs such as removable sticky notes are not allowed and must be removed before testing begins. Nothing may be handwritten in the references. A physical diagram and blueprint packet is handed out at the test center itself.

Where to test: nationwide PSI centers, disclosed once scheduling begins. This bulletin does not mention a Remote Proctored option the way the Oregon CCB bulletin does, so remote testing should not be assumed for this specific exam.

Retake rules: up to 3 attempts within the 1 year of eligibility from NASCLA's approval date. If a candidate has not passed within those 3 attempts, or the year lapses, reapplication as a Re Applicant is required.

Fees: $65 to NASCLA for the application, separate from $130 to PSI for the exam itself, valid one year from the date of payment.

After passing, results post to NASCLA's NED database within about 48 hours, and a candidate can then purchase and send an electronic transcript to the CCB or any other participating state agency.

Source: NASCLA Accredited Examination, Commercial General Building Contractor, Candidate Information Bulletin, PSI Services LLC, updated 7/7/2026, at PSI NASCLA exam bulletin (linked from NASCLA commercial exam page); NASCLA's apply page at NASCLA exam application page for the $65 application fee.

3 and 4. Oregon BCD General Journeyman Electrician exam and Oregon BCD Journeyman Plumber exam (the trades overlay)

These are two separate exams for two separate Building Codes Division licenses, both required in addition to a CCB endorsement wherever the trades overlay applies. They are treated together here because BCD's own materials describe the same administration model for both.

Vendor and scheduling: BCD's own Exam information page, its Electrical License Application (form 440-2570), and its Journeyman Plumber License Application (form 440-2571) do not name PSI anywhere; instead, all three describe the same process, once an application is approved, the division mails a Letter of Authorization that includes the telephone number of a named testing location, and states plainly that "it is your responsibility to schedule your exam with the testing location." The test locations printed on the current application forms are Bend, Eugene, Hermiston, Klamath Falls, Ontario, Pendleton, Portland, Roseburg, Salem, and White City, a different footprint from the CCB's PSI center list above (which includes Aurora, Baker City, Independence, Medford, and Wilsonville, and does not include Hermiston, Ontario, Pendleton, Roseburg, Salem, or White City). These two exams should be treated as running through a separate BCD administered testing network from the CCB's PSI contract unless BCD states otherwise.

Passing score: 75 percent correct or better, per BCD's Exam information page, for all BCD licensing exams, electrical and plumbing alike.

Open or closed book: open book, per BCD's Electrical license exam guidelines.

Approved references for electrical, per that same BCD document: National Electrical Code and NFPA 70 with errata and Oregon amendments, the National Electrical Code Handbook, Oregon Revised Statutes chapter 479, Oregon Administrative Rules division 918, the American Electrician's Handbook, the Electrical Black Book, Ugly's Electrical References, Ferm's Fast Finder Index, Tom Henry's Key Word Index, and a silent, non printing, non programmable calculator. Practice tests and class prep materials are explicitly not allowed. Tabs and personal handwritten or printed notes in the margins of the approved books are allowed. Anything off this list gets removed by the proctor.

Approved references for plumbing are not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. BCD hosts a separate guideline PDF for electrical materials at a predictable URL, but an equivalent plumbing materials guideline is not stated in the materials reviewed for this page either. The plumbing exam should not be assumed to use the same reference list as electrical; confirm with BCD what may be brought in.

What it covers: a scored content outline with weighted subject areas, of the kind PSI publishes for the CCB and NASCLA bulletins, is not stated in the BCD materials reviewed for this page. Based on the approved reference list itself, the electrical exam draws on the National Electrical Code with Oregon amendments and Oregon's own electrical statutes and rules. The plumbing exam is described elsewhere as drawing on the Oregon Plumbing Specialty Code, the Uniform Plumbing Code, and Oregon plumbing rules, but that framing is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page.

Question count and time limit are not stated on an official BCD PDF for either exam; BCD's exam information page and the electrical materials guideline do not give a question count or time limit for either. The SOS License Directory entry for General Journeyman Electrician, last updated 01/23/2026, does state 52 questions, 3 hours, open book for that exam, a figure that comes off an Oregon state website page rather than a training vendor site. The SOS Directory does not give an equivalent figure for the plumbing exam's question count or time limit, so those should be treated as unconfirmed rather than relying on the conflicting figures from training sites for that trade. BCD's Exam information page additionally states that exam results are mailed and take about two weeks to arrive; they are not given by phone or at the test center.

Where to test: the ten named Oregon cities above. An option to test out of state is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. BCD's own materials do not mention remote or online proctoring, so remote proctoring should be treated as unavailable for these two exams unless BCD states otherwise.

Retake rules: a candidate must wait 30 days after each failure before retaking, per BCD's Exam information page. BCD mails a strength and weakness report along with a license reapplication form on a failure. In person exam review has been eliminated per that same page.

Exam window: the exam must be taken within 60 days of the date on the Letter of Authorization, per BCD's Exam locations page and its Exam information document.

Fees: the current BCD application forms show a $100 fee for the General Journeyman Electrician license application (form 440-2570) and a $100 fee for the Journeyman Plumber license application (form 440-2571). Neither official BCD form breaks out a separate day of test fee the way the CCB's PSI bulletin does. $100 is the confirmed, all inclusive application fee for each; the $85 or $70 figures found on training sites are not stated in the official BCD documents reviewed for this page.

Sources: Oregon Building Codes Division, Electrical license exam guidelines, revision July 2019, at Oregon BCD electrical exam materials PDF; Oregon Building Codes Division, Exam information, at Oregon BCD exam information PDF; Oregon Building Codes Division, Electrical License Application, form 440-2570 (revision 8/25) and its attached Electrical Experience Verification form 440-2570A, at Oregon BCD form 2570 PDF; Oregon Building Codes Division, Journeyman Plumber License Application, form 440-2571 (revisions 01/24 and 02/24) and its attached Plumbing Experience Verification form 440-2571A, at Oregon BCD form 2571 PDF; Oregon Building Codes Division, Exam locations page, at Oregon BCD exam locations page; Oregon state website SOS License Directory, License Detail entry for General Journeyman Electrician, last updated 01/23/2026, at Oregon License Directory journeyman entry, for the 52 question, 3 hour, open book exam format and the 2 to 3 week processing time.

Experience

Experience requirements

Oregon's baseline residential and specialty licenses carry no work experience requirement. The requirements are that the Responsible Managing Individual be at least 18 years old, complete 16 hours of CCB approved pre license training, and pass the Oregon exam through PSI (Oregon Construction Contractors Board, CCB License page; CCB approved pre license educators listings). Commercial licenses are the exception: Commercial General or Specialty Level 1 requires the license's key employee or employees to certify a combined 8 years of construction experience, and Level 2 requires 4 years, with up to 3 of those years satisfied by an apprenticeship program or a construction related bachelor's degree (Oregon state website SOS License Directory, Commercial General Level 1 and Level 2 entries; the apprenticeship and degree substitution detail is in ORS 701.050).

Fees and timeline

Application and processing timelines

The Oregon CCB's own Application FAQ (updated 3/2026) says a complete application submitted online can take up to six weeks to process and a paper application can take 6 to 8 weeks (Oregon Construction Contractors Board Application FAQ, application FAQ). The SOS License Directory entry for the Commercial General or Specialty license still says 7 to 10 business days, but the board is the authority on its own processing, so plan on up to six weeks online. That same listing states commercial licenses run on a 2 year renewal cycle with continuing education required before renewal, and that the bond and insurance certificate must both be currently valid before a renewal can process. Residential endorsements sit on the same 2 year cycle: the SOS Directory's own Residential General Contractor entry states a 2 year license term with the identical continuing education, bond, and insurance conditions before renewal (Oregon state website SOS License Directory, Residential General Contractor entry), so residential and commercial both run 2 year cycles.

For the trades overlay, the SOS License Directory's entry for the General Journeyman Electrician BCD license states a processing time of 2 to 3 business weeks once a complete application is submitted, which is shorter than the CCB's own estimate of up to six weeks online, so start both applications early rather than assuming either side is the slow one. Anyone pursuing an electrical or plumbing license should expect the BCD side to take noticeably longer than the CCB side (Oregon state website SOS License Directory, General Journeyman Electrician entry).

Reciprocity

Reciprocity and exam waivers

Oregon does not offer general contractor license reciprocity from any other state; anyone moving to Oregon from elsewhere starts the CCB process from scratch (Oregon Building Codes Division, Reciprocal licenses page, which lists reciprocity only for specific trade licenses, not for the CCB's own general or specialty contractor endorsements). The trade level reciprocity that does exist runs through the Building Codes Division (BCD), not the CCB: Journeyman Plumber reciprocity from Idaho and Montana, General Journeyman Electrician reciprocity from Arkansas, Idaho, Maine, Montana, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming, and General Supervising Electrician reciprocity from Arkansas and Utah, each requiring the applicant to have tested in the reciprocating state and to still meet Oregon's own bonding and insurance requirements (Oregon Building Codes Division, Reciprocal licenses page).

Trades

Trades overlay

Oregon splits construction licensing across two different state agencies. The CCB licenses general, specialty, and HVAC scoped contracting businesses. Electrical and plumbing contractors need a CCB license and a separate Building Codes Division (BCD) license for that trade; both are mandatory at the same time (Oregon Building Codes Division, Individual and contractor licenses page and Contractor licenses page). Oregon does not issue one single dedicated HVAC contractor license the way some states do. Anyone in electrical, plumbing, or HVAC should plan for two state agencies and two license numbers, not one.

Coming legal change on unlicensed labor, not yet in effect

Oregon House Bill 4089 was signed into law by Governor Kotek on March 31, 2026, but its construction labor contractor provisions do not take effect until January 1, 2027; this is a future date, not current law (Oregon Legislature OLIS, enrolled bill text for HB 4089). Once in effect, a direct contractor or subcontractor who knowingly hires an unlicensed construction labor contractor commits a Class A misdemeanor for a first offense and a Class C felony for a repeat offense, and the bill separately raises the penalty for misusing someone else's contractor license number from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class C felony. This raises the cost of staying unlicensed or letting a license lapse in Oregon starting in 2027, but it should not be described as current law before January 1, 2027. The exact statutory definition of construction labor contractor should be confirmed with an attorney before relying on it for a specific situation, since that term may not map directly onto every CCB endorsement or BCD trade license.

The board

Who licenses general contractors

The Construction Contractors Board (CCB) licenses construction contractors statewide from Salem, operating as a semi independent board inside the Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) (Oregon Construction Contractors Board; Oregon Secretary of State Blue Book entry for the Construction Contractors Board). Oregon has no local or county alternative for general contracting: every business doing construction work for compensation in the state needs a CCB license. The CCB licenses the business entity itself, not an individual tradesperson (Oregon Construction Contractors Board, CCB License page).

Licensing Board

Official Licensing Authority

Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB)

All contractor license applications, renewals, and qualifying agent changes must go through this board.

Visit Board Website

How The Licensing Company qualifies your company in Oregon

We place a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a full time W-2 employee and prepare the qualifier filing with the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). Tell us your trade and what you have going on, and pick a time for a discovery call. Or call 615-219-2110.

Submit Licensing Inquiry

Provide your information for a compliance assessment.

All inquiries are confidential and handled by our compliance team.

Sources