In the United States a contractor license is issued state by state: a licensing board's permission for a company to contract for construction work above a set dollar amount or in a licensed trade. Who issues it, when it is required and what it takes differ in every state. Pick your state for the board's own rule, or read on for how contractor licensing works across the country.
Page updated September 19, 2026.
Every state page is checked against the board that issues the license, and the date of that check is on the page.
A contractor license is issued by a state licensing board, or in some states by a city or county, and it is what lets a contracting company bid, sign contracts and pull permits for work above the state's threshold or in a licensed trade. The license belongs to the company. The board ties it to a named person who passed the exams and holds the experience: Tennessee calls that person the Qualifying Agent, Arizona the qualifying party, California the responsible managing employee or officer, and most licensing states use one of those terms.
The rules are not national. Tennessee runs every trade through one board; Florida splits construction and electrical across two; Texas, Missouri and New York have no statewide general contractor license at all and license only certain trades at the state level. That is why every answer on this site is given state by state and checked against the board that gives it.
If your company has no one who can serve as its qualifier, that is the gap hiring a qualifying agent closes: a licensed individual hired by your company as a full time W-2 employee who qualifies the company with the board. A qualifying agent qualifies your company, and your company holds the license.
The trigger is a dollar amount in some states, a trade in others, and a city ordinance in the rest.
Where the state licenses general contracting, a dollar threshold decides when the license is required. Arizona and California require it at $1,000 of labor and materials. Georgia at $2,500. Virginia's Class C starts at a single contract over $1,000. Tennessee at $25,000 per project. North Carolina at $40,000. Louisiana and Mississippi at $50,000 for commercial work, and Alabama's general contractor board at $50,000 for commercial and industrial work with the Home Builders Licensure Board at $10,000 for residential. South Carolina at $10,000 for commercial and $5,000 for residential. Nevada and Oregon license essentially all construction work, with Nevada exempting only jobs under $1,000 that need no permit.
Some states license by trade rather than by job size. Ohio licenses electrical, plumbing, HVAC and refrigeration through one board with no dollar trigger and leaves general contracting to cities. Texas licenses only electrical, plumbing and air conditioning at the state level. Missouri's statewide electrical license is optional and general contracting is a city matter.
Some states register rather than license. Washington registers general and specialty contractors on a bond and insurance filing. Rhode Island requires registration for all contracting on residential or commercial structures. Vermont registers residential contractors at $10,000 per job. Pennsylvania registers home improvement contractors at $5,000 of work per year. The table below carries the trigger for all fifty states as each board states it.
Six steps in the order every board runs them. The figures are examples from the boards' own rules; your state's are in its guide.
Most states license through one contractor board; some split the trades across separate boards (Florida runs the Construction Industry Licensing Board and the Electrical Contractors Licensing Board apart), and some license only certain trades at the state level and leave general contracting to cities and counties. The classification you apply for sets the exams, the experience and the monetary limit.
California asks for four years at journey level or higher within the past ten; Arizona four years, at least two of them recent; Nevada four full years within the fifteen before applying; Virginia five years for Class A, three for Class B and one for Class C; Utah 4,000 hours. Michigan asks for no experience at all, only 60 hours of approved prelicensure education and the state exam.
Nearly every licensing state runs a business and law exam, and most classifications add a trade exam. Vendors differ: Prov administers Tennessee's exams since July 1, 2026; PSI and Pearson VUE run others. Some states accept the NASCLA commercial exam in place of their own trade exam, and none of them waive their business and law exam for it.
Tennessee sets the monetary limit from a CPA prepared financial statement, or, new for 2026, a surety bond of at least half the requested limit. Florida asks for a FICO score of 660 or a financial responsibility course. Washington registers contractors on a bond and insurance filing rather than an exam.
Oregon issues in 7 to 10 business days once a complete application is in. Mississippi about 5 working days after the exam is passed and the Board approves. Georgia reviews within 20 business days. Tennessee runs about 30 days to 6 weeks for a clean application. Alabama's general contractor board meets quarterly, so a wait of up to three months or more is normal.
In most licensing states the license is issued to the company and qualified by a named individual who passed the exams and holds the experience: a qualifying agent, qualifying party, qualifying individual or responsible managing employee, depending on the state. A company with no one who fits hires a qualifying agent as a full time W-2 employee, and the company holds the license.
The wait is the board's, not yours, once the exams are passed and the file is complete. Oregon issues in 7 to 10 business days. Mississippi about 5 working days after the exam and Board approval. Georgia reviews a complete application within 20 business days, and a deficiency letter restarts the clock. Virginia averages roughly 30 days. Tennessee about 30 days to 6 weeks. North Carolina about 30 days if the exams are already passed. Alabama's general contractor board meets quarterly, so the wait runs up to three months or more. How long a contractor license takes by state carries every state.
Fees are set by each board and each exam vendor, and they change. The table below carries the application and exam fees where the board publishes them, and how much a contractor license costs by state walks through the fees, the bond and the insurance that sit behind the application. What The Licensing Company charges to get your company licensed depends on the trade, the state and the structure, so that number comes on the call, not on this page.
Who licenses contractors in each state, when the license is required, the experience the board asks for, the fees it publishes, and how long it takes. Each row was checked against the state board on the date shown. Click a state for its full guide.
| State | Licensing board | License required when | Experience required | Application and exam fees | Time to license | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Two boards: Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors (ALBGC) for commercial and industrial work, Home Builders Licensure Board (HBLB) for residential work | ALBGC: commercial or industrial projects of 50000 dollars or more (5000 dollars or more for swimming pools). HBLB: residential work over 10000 dollars in labor and materials (2500 dollars for residential roofing) | No year count stated for ALBGC; three completed projects per classification requested. HBLB Limited and Roofers: at least one year of a local contractor business license. HBLB Unlimited: exam instead of documented experience | ALBGC: 300 dollars for a prime, 150 dollars for a subcontractor. HBLB application fee not stated | ALBGC meets quarterly, application on file 30 days before the meeting, wait of up to three months or more to get in front of the board. HBLB meets monthly except July, about three to four weeks for full processing | August 14, 2026 |
| Alaska | Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (DCCED), Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), Construction Contractors Program | No dollar trigger stated for the general registration; the Handyman designation is capped at $10,000 total contract price per job | None stated; the base General Contractor registration is a company level filing with no exam | $350 total ($100 nonrefundable application fee plus $250 registration fee) | No fixed day count published; applications processed in order of receipt, paper application can take several weeks | August 31, 2026 |
| Arizona | Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC), a single director state agency | License required at 1,000 dollars total contract price; work under 1,000 dollars is exempt only if no local building permit is required | Four years of practical or management trade experience, at least two of them within the last ten years; training can replace no more than two years | Not stated | Roughly 22 days of ROC processing once the application is complete, or a broader 2 to 6 week range for the full process (secondary sources) | August 25, 2026 |
| Arkansas | Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (ACLB), a division of the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing | Commercial license at 50,000 dollars or more on a non residential structure (Restricted up to 750,000 dollars, Unrestricted any value); Home Improvement Specialty license once a single family residential specialty project exceeds 2,000 dollars | Commercial: five years in the major classification requested (one year for most specialty classifications). Residential Builder: four years | 100 dollars filing fee, non refundable, check or money order only | Complete application must be in the board's office three weeks before a board or committee meeting; application must be made complete within 90 days of receipt or the applicant starts over | August 9, 2026 |
| California | Contractors State License Board (CSLB), under the Department of Consumer Affairs | 1000 dollars or more, labor and materials combined (raised from 500 dollars effective January 1 2025) | Four years at journey level or higher within the past ten years; up to three years can be replaced by education, at least one year must be hands on | 450 dollars original application processing fee, covering an exam or waiver for one classification | CSLB posts a live weekly processing times page; third party guides quote roughly 4 to 6 weeks for an acknowledgment letter and 6 to 9 months from first paperwork to an active license | August 7, 2026 |
| Colorado | No state GC board; DORA State Electrical Board and State Plumbing Board license electricians and plumbers; GC licensing is city or county level | No state GC license and no dollar threshold stated; GC, HVAC and roofing licensing is handled by each city or county | No state GC requirement; Master Electrician 10000 hours over at least five years; Master Plumber 8500 hours, five full time years; Denver Class A seven years | Denver Class A, B, C and D 250 dollars each; Denver Supervisor Certificate 60 dollars; Denver electrical license 0 dollars; DORA plumbing contractor registration 210 dollars | Denver roughly 14 to 20 business days; Colorado Springs and El Paso County (PPRBD) 6 to 8 weeks; no DORA timeline found | August 8, 2026 |
| Connecticut | Department of Consumer Protection (DCP), Hartford; no general contractor board or license | No GC license; HIC registration once home improvement work exceeds 1,000 dollars in any 12 month period or any single job over 200 dollars; Major Contractor registration for 4 or more stories, 60 feet or more, 150,000 square feet or more, or 1,000 or more occupancy | Registrations need no experience; unlimited trade contractor exam needs 2 years as a licensed unlimited journeyperson, or 12,000 hours on the job plus 720 classroom hours (E-1) or 576 classroom hours (P-1 and S-1) | HIC 120 dollars plus 100 dollar guaranty fund fee; NHCC 360 dollars (240 registration plus 120 guaranty fund); Major Contractor 500 dollars; E-1 contractor application 150 dollars | HIC and NHCC registrations typically days to a few weeks; trade contractor licenses commonly 4 to 6 weeks end to end | August 23, 2026 |
| Delaware | No state GC board or exam; Division of Revenue business license, Department of Labor Office of Contractor Registration, Attorney General home improvement registration; trades under Division of Professional Regulation boards | No GC license; Department of Labor contractor registration required before any construction services or maintenance begins; business license application must be initiated before a bid on a competitively bid contract exceeding 50000 dollars | None for GC; Master Plumber and Master HVACR seven years under a licensed master or two years after an apprenticeship; Master Electrician six years full time or four years under a master plus a two year credential | Business license 75 dollars annually; Department of Labor contractor registration 200 dollars a year private work, 300 public, 500 both; trade exams 100 dollars per sitting | No published turnaround for the business license or contractor registration; ProV contacts approved trade candidates within roughly one to two weeks | August 6, 2026 |
| Florida | Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB); Electrical Contractors Licensing Board for electrical | Not stated | Four years documented construction experience for Certified General, at least one year supervisory; up to three years substitutable by military service or college credit | License application fee not stated; exam registration 135 dollars to Professional Testing plus Pearson VUE fees of 80, 40 and 40 dollars, 295 dollars total for three parts; NASCLA application 65 dollars | Licenses typically issued within about two weeks after the approving board meeting; unofficial guides quote 4 to 8 weeks overall | August 4, 2026 |
| Georgia | State Licensing Board for Residential and Commercial General Contractors (Georgia Secretary of State Licensing Division, Macon); renamed by SB 503 effective July 1 2024 | Combined labor and materials exceeding 2500 dollars | Residential Basic two years; Residential Light Commercial and Commercial General four years of construction experience (or a bachelor's degree plus one year), Commercial General needing at least two years as a general contractor | License application fee not stated; exam fees Business and Law 60 dollars, Residential Basic 72, Residential Light Commercial 72, NASCLA 106 | Complete applications reviewed within 20 business days; deficiency letters restart the clock; one to three months realistic in practice | July 14, 2026 |
| Hawaii | Contractors License Board under the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA) | License required unless aggregate contract price is $1,000 or less and no building permit is needed; the carve out never applies to electrical or plumbing | 4 years of supervisory experience within the past 10 years in the specific classification, documented with at least 3 notarized experience certificates plus a Project List | $50 per application; separate application per entity and per RME | Applications due by the first Tuesday of the month before the Board meeting (Board meets monthly except December); at least 6 to 8 weeks from filing to exam eligibility; exam must be passed within 6 months of approval | August 13, 2026 |
| Idaho | Two systems inside DOPL: the Idaho Contractors Board handles basic registration; the Public Works Contractors License Board issues the Public Works Contractor license | Registration required for private construction work of $2,000 or more in labor and materials; Public Works license required to bid any state or local government project | No fixed years for the Public Works license; none for basic registration; applicants seeking a class above their history must document similar projects | Basic registration $120 initial (fee schedule effective July 1, 2026) with a $60 annual option; Public Works application fee not stated | No published processing timeline for the Public Works license; $100 expedite fee available | August 11, 2026 |
| Illinois | No statewide general contractor license or board; the only statewide contractor licenses are roofing through IDFPR and plumbing through IDPH; general contracting is licensed locally | No statewide threshold since there is no state GC license; Chicago GC classes are capped by project value from Class E at 500000 dollars to Class A unlimited | No state GC requirement; plumbing exam requires 4 years as an Illinois licensed apprentice plumber or an approved plumbing course plus 2 years of high school; roofing qualifying party must be actively engaged in the business, no years stated | Plumbing exam application fee 175 dollars, filed at least 30 days before the exam date; roofing license application fee not stated | No published processing time for roofing or plumbing; Chicago GC application approved or rejected within 28 days with the license mailed within 10 business days after that | August 10, 2026 |
| Indiana | No state general contractor license (licensed only by city or county); the Indiana Plumbing Commission under IPLA licenses plumbers and plumbing contractors statewide | No state threshold; general contractor licensing happens only at the city or county level with rules set by each jurisdiction | None for general contracting; state Plumbing Contractor four years; Indianapolis electrical six years; Indianapolis HVAC five years | State Plumbing Contractor application fee 50 dollars | No statewide timeline; no published turnaround for state plumbing; Indianapolis Electrical and HVAC boards need the packet at least ten business days before their monthly meeting | August 5, 2026 |
| Iowa | No general contractor license; Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL) runs Chapter 91C contractor registration; the Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board and Electrical Examining Board license the trades inside DIAL | Registration required for any contractor earning two thousand dollars or more a year from construction work in Iowa | None for 91C registration; Master electrician needs at least one year as a licensed Class A or Class B journeyman; PMSB hour thresholds not published | 91C registration fee set by the director, cannot exceed fifty dollars a year | No published processing time for 91C registration or the PMSB and electrical contractor licenses | August 26, 2026 |
| Kansas | No state board or state general contractor license. Licensing is local by city or county (Johnson County, Sedgwick County MABCD for Wichita, Topeka, Wyandotte County Unified Government, Lawrence). The only statewide license is roofing registration through the Kansas Attorney General. | No dollar threshold. Local classes split by structure height and use, not contract value. Roofing for a fee anywhere in Kansas requires AG registration regardless of size. | None. Qualifying route is a passing ICC exam (75 percent) or, for some specialty classes, a relevant bachelor's degree or industry certification such as NICET. | Johnson County: 100 dollars to apply plus 225 dollars for the license, per license type. ICC exam 115 dollars per exam. | Sedgwick County MABCD: up to two weeks after a complete application. Johnson County and Topeka: no published turnaround. | August 12, 2026 |
| Kentucky | No statewide general contractor license; general contracting is city and county level. Trades (electrical, plumbing, HVAC, boiler, fire sprinkler) are licensed by the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC) in Frankfort. | Not stated | Master Electrician: 16,000 hours since age sixteen plus exam. Master Plumber: journeyman license held 2 years within past 5 years. Master HVAC: 2 years holding a journeyman license. | Electrical Contractor 400 dollars per two year term (Master Electrician 200, Electrician 100). Master Plumber 150 dollar exam fee plus 250 dollar license fee. Master HVAC 250 dollar application plus 150 dollar exam fee. Prov exam fee 80 dollars for electrical and HVAC. | No published official processing timeline for DHBC trade licenses. | August 15, 2026 |
| Louisiana | Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC), Baton Rouge. Plumbing licensing transfers into LSLBC from the State Plumbing Board effective January 1 2027 under Act 908. | 50000 dollars total project value for Commercial or Residential. 10000 dollars for Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing. Home Improvement Registration 7500 up to 50000 dollars. Residential Roofing, Mold Remediation, residential pools at 7500 dollars. | None documented for Commercial, Residential, or Home Improvement (secondary sources; not confirmed on an official LSLBC page). Plumbing is the exception with hour requirements. | Not stated | No official day count. Secondary sources: 4 to 8 weeks in state, 9 to 10 weeks out of state; out of state applicants reportedly face a 60 day waiting period from receipt. | September 1, 2026 |
| Maine | No state general contractor license or board. Trades are licensed by the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR): Electricians' Examining Board, Plumbers' Examining Board, Maine Fuel Board. | No monetary or project value tiers at all. General building is regulated only at the city or town level; electrical, plumbing, and fuel work require an individual state trade license. | Master Electrician: roughly 12,000 or more work hours plus exam. Master Plumber: one year (2,000 hours) as journeyman or four years (8,000 hours) as trainee. Master fuel technician: at least 4 years licensed, 2 at Journeyman. | Master Electrician license $150 plus $21 background check, $171 total. Master Plumber $200 plus $21, $221 total. Prov exam fees: Master Electrician $90, Master Plumber $65. | Not published by any of the three boards. | August 18, 2026 |
| Maryland | No statewide general contractor license. Home improvement on existing homes: Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC), Maryland Department of Labor. New home construction: Home Builder Registration Unit, Office of the Attorney General. Commercial: county by county, no state license. | No dollar ceiling or tiers. One MHIC Contractor license covers home improvement work of any size. | MHIC Contractor: at least two years of experience in home improvement, construction, or related education. | 403.75 dollars for an original two year Contractor license (281.25 application, 100 Guaranty Fund, 22.50 processing). PSI exam fee 63 dollars. | Roughly two to three weeks for a complete MHIC application: about a week for fee processing, about five days review, same day approval, paper license mailed within 10 days. | August 17, 2026 |
| Massachusetts | Board of Building Regulations and Standards (BBRS) for the individual Construction Supervisor License; Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation (OCABR) for Home Improvement Contractor registration; no state general contractor license exists | No state general contractor or company license; HIC registration required for residential work on an existing owner occupied 1 to 4 unit building at 1,000 dollars or more; CSL required for the person supervising work under a permit | 3 years (roughly 4,500 hours or 36 months full time equivalent) within the past 10 years for the CSL; none for HIC | CSL license fee 150 dollars; HIC registration 150 dollars plus a Guaranty Fund surcharge of 100 to 500 dollars by employee count; PSI CSL exam 23 dollar application plus 75 dollar exam fee | Roughly 30 days from a passed exam and complete application to an issued CSL | August 30, 2026 |
| Michigan | Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA), Bureau of Construction Codes, Residential Builders and Maintenance and Alteration Contractors Board | Residential only (no state commercial general contractor license); Residential Builder or Maintenance and Alteration license required once a project's aggregate contract price for labor and materials reaches 600 dollars | None; 60 hours of LARA approved prelicensure education plus the state exam | 195 dollars best supported figure for RB or M&A, not confirmed (conflicting third party figures of 135 and about 180 dollars) | Approximately 3 to 5 weeks per a LARA snippet; other sources 3 to 8 weeks; not LARA confirmed | August 21, 2026 |
| Minnesota | Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), Construction Codes and Licensing Division | No state license for commercial general contracting (free Construction Contractor Registration instead); state licenses cover residential building contractor, remodeler, roofer and manufactured home installer; single specialty skill exempt by affidavit if gross annual receipts from that work do not exceed 15000 dollars | None; no experience or education prerequisite to sit the exam or hold the license | Exam application 50 dollars; base license application around 180 dollars plus the Contractor Recovery Fund contribution | Not published by DLI; third party sites cluster around 7 to 10 business days after the exam is passed | August 16, 2026 |
| Mississippi | Mississippi State Board of Contractors (MSBOC), a 10 member board; also licenses electrical and mechanical trades directly | Commercial, industrial or public work of 50000 dollars or more (5000 dollars for hazardous work and certain specialties); Residential Builder for new homes of 50000 dollars or more; Residential Remodeler for remodeling of 10000 dollars or more | No blanket years requirement; proof of three completed projects in the classification plus three reference letters (one from a bank, two from construction contacts) | Commercial 400 dollars; residential 50 dollars; both non refundable, check or money order only | Approximately 5 working days after exam passage and Board approval per the Board's application page (prior read said 7 to 10); quote 5 to 10 working days; applicant has 180 days to complete the application | August 19, 2026 |
| Missouri | No statewide general contractor board; licensing is city and county level (Kansas City, City of St. Louis, Springfield, Columbia, St. Charles County, Jefferson City); the only state license is the Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OSEC) under the Division of Professional Registration | No statewide general contractor license; requirements set by each city or county; the statewide electrical contractor license is optional, not mandatory | Statewide electrical: 12000 practical hours standard, or 10000 hours plus apprenticeship certificate, 8000 hours plus associate's degree, 4000 supervising hours plus electrical engineering degree, or a local license held 6 of the previous 8 years; Kansas City: evidence of relevant experience | Statewide electrical 200 dollars initial application; Kansas City general contractor 60 dollar application plus 181 dollar issuance fee | Statewide electrical within a few weeks through the MOPRO portal once documentation and exam results are complete; no published timelines for Kansas City or St. Louis | August 24, 2026 |
| Montana | Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division (boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov), licensing line 406 444 6880 | Construction Contractor License required for any construction business with employees and for every corporation or manager managed LLC; any single job under 2500 dollars in aggregate contract price is exempt | None for the general Construction Contractor License; trade licenses require experience (journeyman plumber 5 years and 7500 hours, journeyman electrician 8000 hours or an approved apprenticeship) | 70 dollars for the Construction Contractor License (125 dollars for the Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate) | 5 to 7 business days for the CR license and 10 to 15, up to 30, for the ICEC; confirm with the department before relying on it | August 22, 2026 |
| Nebraska | No state general contractor license; state registration only, with the Nebraska Department of Labor, Labor Standards Division (402 471 2239); actual GC licensing lives at the city level (Omaha Planning Department, Lincoln Building and Safety) | State registration required once annual earnings from construction, alteration, or repair work on property other than your own exceed 5,000 dollars a year | None for state registration; journeyman electrician needs four years (8,000 hours); electrical contractor needs a four year electrical engineering degree plus one year as a licensed journeyman, or one year as a licensed journeyman, or five years of planning and supervisory experience | 40 dollars per business name per year for state registration (up from 25 dollars effective August 1, 2026); state electrical contractor application fee 180 dollars | No published processing timeline for state registration or for Omaha or Lincoln licensing | September 4, 2026 |
| Nevada | Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB), nscb.nv.gov, offices in Reno and Las Vegas; one board for every general and specialty classification, no local alternative | License required for essentially all construction work; the only exemption is work under 1000 dollars labor and materials combined, and only if no building permit is required, it is not plumbing, electrical, refrigeration, heating, or air conditioning, and it is not part of a larger project of 500 dollars or more | Four full years within the 15 years before applying at journeyman, foreman, supervisor, or contractor level in the classification requested; waived if the person was a qualified employee in the same classification on another Nevada license within five years or comes in by endorsement; B 7 restricted uses alternate proofs instead | Not stated | No published end to end turnaround; board only says to wait one business day after hand delivery or five business days after mailing before checking that an application arrived | August 27, 2026 |
| New Hampshire | None for general contractors; the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC) in Concord runs the Electricians' Board and the Mechanical Safety and Licensing Board (plumbing and fuel gas), which are the only relevant state licenses | None; no statewide general contractor license at any job size, building and remodeling run on local permitting only | None for general contracting (no license); journeyman electrician 8,000 hours plus 600 hours of schooling; master electrician a passed journeyman exam plus 2,000 hours as a journeyman (or 10 years licensed elsewhere, or an electrical associate degree or higher); journeyman plumber a four year 8,000 hour apprenticeship; master plumber at least six months as a licensed journeyman | Not stated | None published for any New Hampshire trade license | August 20, 2026 |
| New Jersey | No state general contractor license; Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) registration through the Division of Consumer Affairs, Office of Consumer Protection, Home Improvement Unit; New Home Builder registration through the Division of Codes and Standards, Bureau of Homeowner Protection; electrical, plumbing, and HVACR boards under the Division of Consumer Affairs | No dollar threshold stated; HIC registration is required for repair, remodeling, and renovation work on existing residential property and is needed to pull a municipal construction permit; New Home Builder registration is required for anyone building new owner occupied homes for sale | None for HIC or New Home Builder registration; electrical five years hands on (or an approved apprenticeship plus one year, or an electrical engineering degree plus two years); plumbing a four year registered apprenticeship plus one year as a journeyman (or an engineering degree plus one year); HVACR a four year apprenticeship plus one year as a journeyperson (or degree based paths) | 110 dollars for HIC registration; 200 dollars for New Home Builder registration (electrical exams 180 dollars total; plumbing 100 dollars application plus 240 dollars exam plus 160 dollars license; HVACR 100 dollars application plus 160 dollars license) | HIC: no processing time published; New Home Builder: at least 20 working days; HVACR: 15 to 20 days after the fee clears, board meets monthly; electrical business permit changes must arrive 10 business days before the monthly meeting; plumbing: none published | July 14, 2026 |
| New Mexico | Construction Industries Division (CID) of the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department; single statewide authority, no local licensing | Not stated | Two years (4,000 hours) for GB-2 residential and most specialty codes; four years (8,000 hours) for GB-98, EE-98, MM-98 and related; GB-98 needs four years at foreman level with at least two years commercial; all within the ten years before applying | QP application fee 30 dollars plus 6 dollars certificate fee per classification (36 dollars for one classification); company license application fee not stated | All exams, Business and Law, and the full license application must be completed within six months of CID receiving the application; no published turnaround for CID review of a completed application | August 28, 2026 |
| New York | No statewide general contractor license; licensing is local. NYC Department of Buildings (General Contractor Registration for new 1 to 3 family homes) and NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (Home Improvement Contractor license); Suffolk, Nassau towns, Westchester, Putnam, Rockland and Buffalo each license separately | No statewide license trigger; GBL Article 36-A (not a license) covers home improvement contractors exceeding 1,500 dollars in any 12 months and contracts exceeding 500 dollars; local licenses are scope based | No years stated for DOB General Contractor Registration (requires five year business location history); NYC Master Plumber needs 7 years within the prior 10 with 2 as a registered journeyman | DCWP Home Improvement Contractor license fee 100 dollars or 75 dollars depending on filing timing, plus 50 dollar exam; Suffolk County 200 dollars including exam; DOB registration fee not stated | No published processing timeline for DOB General Contractor Registration or DCWP Home Improvement Contractor license | July 14, 2026 |
| North Carolina | NC Licensing Board for General Contractors (NCLBGC), Raleigh; electrical and plumbing, heating, fire sprinkler trades are separate boards | 40000 dollars or more in combined labor and materials per project (raised from 30000 effective October 1 2023) | No fixed minimum years published; must be 18, good moral character, financially responsible, registered to do business in NC | Not stated for the license application; PSI exam fee 79 dollars per attempt, NASCLA exam 130 dollars | About 30 days from a complete application if exams are already passed per board FAQ, 2 to 3 weeks after exams otherwise; TLC quotes 6 weeks in practice | September 3, 2026 |
| North Dakota | North Dakota Secretary of State (the registrar); no separate contractor licensing board | Single job exceeding $4,000 | No fixed years; applicant swears to own experience and qualifications under oath | Class A $450, Class B $300, Class C $225, Class D $100 | Registrar has fifteen days from application to investigate and determine eligibility once the file is complete; renewals up to 60 days | September 5, 2026 |
| Ohio | No statewide general contractor license, general and residential licensing is local; Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) in the Department of Commerce licenses Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing, Hydronics and Refrigeration contractors for commercial work statewide | No statewide dollar trigger; OCILB licenses by trade, not job size, with no monetary caps; residential and general triggers depend on each city or county | Five years as a tradesperson in the specific trade immediately prior to applying, backed by five consecutive years of tax documents plus one supporting item (permits, journeyman card, apprenticeship certificate, or 40 hours code CE); alternate paths for registered PEs with three years and government inspectors with five years | License issuance fee 25 dollars; PSI exam fee 69 dollars per attempt; reciprocity application 25 dollars per trade | No published standard processing time for an OCILB application; exam eligibility valid one year after approval | August 29, 2026 |
| Oklahoma | Construction Industries Board (CIB); no statewide general contractor license, CIB licenses electrical, plumbing, mechanical (HVAC), and roofing only | No dollar threshold; no state GC license, a state credential is needed only if the contractor performs one of the four licensed trades, cities run their own registrations | Electrical Unlimited Contractor 12,000 hours including 4,000 hours and two years as licensed unlimited journeyman; plumbing and mechanical contractor tiers need journeyman qualifications plus one additional year | State license application fee not stated; PSI exam fee 92 dollars per portion | Roofing registration issued or denied within 25 calendar days; other trades have no published turnaround, CIB says wait 30 days before calling | September 2, 2026 |
| Oregon | Construction Contractors Board (CCB), Salem, semi independent board inside the Department of Consumer and Business Services | Every business doing construction work for compensation needs a CCB license; no dollar threshold and no local alternative | Residential and specialty: none; Commercial Level 1: 8 years combined; Commercial Level 2: 4 years, up to 3 satisfied by apprenticeship or construction degree | License application fee not stated; PSI exam fee 60 dollars | 7 to 10 business days once a complete application is submitted online | July 14, 2026 |
| Pennsylvania | No state board or state GC license; HICPA home improvement registration with the Office of Attorney General Bureau of Consumer Protection; trades licensed locally | No state license; HICPA registration required at 5,000 dollars or more of home improvement work per year | None at the state level; HICPA requires no experience | HICPA registration 100 dollars every two years | Not published for HICPA or the local licenses | July 14, 2026 |
| Rhode Island | Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board (CRLB), State Building Office, Department of Business Regulation; registration, not a license or exam | Registration required for all contracting on residential or commercial structures; casual minor work under $500 with no advertising as a contractor is exempt | None for general contractor registration | $150 registration fee | Not published | July 14, 2026 |
| South Carolina | Two boards under LLR: Contractor's Licensing Board (CLB) for commercial general and mechanical; Residential Builders Commission for residential builders and residential specialty trades | Commercial general or mechanical work over 10000 dollars (CLB); residential work over 5000 dollars (Residential Builders Commission) | CLB: 2 years within the past 5 years in the classification sought (waived for reciprocity or exam waiver applicants); Residential Builders Commission: 1 year under a licensee | License application fee not stated; PSI exam fees 75 dollars each for CLB law and technical exams, 116 dollars for NASCLA, 90 dollars for both residential portions | No official published turnaround; approved at scheduled board meetings; TLC field experience about 4 weeks, quote 90 days to be safe | July 14, 2026 |
| South Dakota | No state board for general contractors; GC licensing is city or county level. State Electrical Commission and State Plumbing Commission (Department of Labor and Regulation) license the trades; every contractor needs a Contractor's Excise Tax License from the Department of Revenue | No state GC license at any dollar amount; Contractor's Excise Tax License required of anyone who builds, remodels, or repairs real property | No state GC requirement. Electrical contractor: at least 2 years as a journeyman electrician or 1 year commercial experience as a Class B electrician | 60 dollars electrical application fee for every class; plumbing initial application capped at 60 dollars; no state GC fee | No processing time published for electrical or plumbing contractor applications; electrical applicant has 90 days after commission approval to sit the exam | July 14, 2026 |
| Tennessee | Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, Department of Commerce and Insurance, Nashville; one board covers building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, HVAC, masonry and specialty classifications | 25,000 dollars or more per project (masonry 100,000 dollars or more); applies before contracting, bidding, offering a price, or negotiating | Board prefers 3 years of relevant experience; no published statutory year minimum beyond that preference | 250 dollars, nonrefundable | About 30 days to 6 weeks for a clean complete application; Board asks applicants to allow at least three weeks before checking status; no fixed submission deadlines; add time if an interview is needed | July 14, 2026 |
| Texas | No state GC license or board; general contracting is city level only. TDLR (Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation) licenses electrical and ACR; TSBPE (Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners) licenses plumbing | No state GC license at any dollar amount; only electrical, plumbing and ACR are state licensed | No GC requirement. ACR contractor: 48 months practical work within the preceding 72 months, or 12 months TDLR technician certification plus 36 months. Master Plumber: 4 years as journeyman, or 1 year plus a DOL approved apprenticeship. Journeyman plumber: 8000 hours | Electrical Contractor 110 dollars; ACR contractor 115 dollars; RMP designation 225 dollars; no GC fee | No published turnaround time for TDLR or TSBPE; Electrical Contractor application is paper only | July 14, 2026 |
| Utah | Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL), Utah Department of Commerce, Construction Trades Bureau; one agency for general, residential, electrical, plumbing, HVAC and specialty; no local licensing layer | Not stated | 4000 hours (about two years) paid construction experience; substitutes: 2 years as a Utah qualifier, a construction management degree, an active Utah PE license, or a passing NASCLA score | Not stated | No firm processing time published; DOPL says contact the office if no response within four weeks of a complete submission | July 14, 2026 |
| Vermont | No state GC license. Office of Professional Regulation (Secretary of State) runs the mandatory Residential Contractor Registry; Division of Fire Safety (Department of Public Safety) licenses electrical and plumbing | No license; residential contractor registration required at 10000 dollars or more per job including labor and materials (dwellings of four or fewer units); commercial work has no state requirement | Residential registration: none. Electrical master: 2 years as a licensed journeyman or 16000 hours; electrical journeyman: 8000 hours plus 576 classroom hours or 12000 hours; plumbing master: 12 months as journeyman or 14000 hours; plumbing journeyman: 4000 hours plus 144 classroom hours (trade figures from secondary sites) | Residential registration: 75 dollars individual, 250 dollars business; trade license application fees not stated (Prov exam fee is 80 dollars per sitting) | Residential registration: allow a minimum of 5 full business days; no official processing time for electrical or plumbing licenses | July 14, 2026 |
| Virginia | Board for Contractors under the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Richmond; the same board also regulates individual tradesmen | Class C required for a single contract over 1000 dollars (under 30000 dollars or under 250000 dollars in twelve months); Class B from 30000 dollars or 250000 dollars in twelve months; Class A at 150000 dollars per contract or 1000000 dollars in twelve months | 5 years for Class A, 3 years for Class B, 1 year for Class C, in the classification or specialty | Not stated | Roughly 30 days average review for a complete routine application, 30 to 60 days realistic range once exams, financials and the pre license course are done; 3 to 6 months from a standing start including exam prep | July 14, 2026 |
| Washington | Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (L and I), Tumwater; single statewide authority under RCW 18.27, no separate contractors board | No dollar threshold or tier stated; general and specialty contractors must register with L and I (a bond and insurance registration, not a competency license), pass or fail with no tiers by job size | None for general or specialty contractor registration (electrical journeyman needs 8000 trainee hours, master needs 4 years as a journeyman, plumber journey level needs 8000 hours) | 150.20 dollars | Mailed applications 3 to 4 weeks after receipt; L and I says plan for 4 to 8 weeks total with bond and insurance time; in person filing can be same day | July 14, 2026 |
| West Virginia | West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board, with administrative and enforcement help from the West Virginia Division of Labor, Charleston; governing law is WV Code Chapter 30, Article 42 | Jobs of 5000 dollars or more for residential work, 25000 dollars or more for commercial work | No years of experience stated for a firm's classification; the qualifier must be a real employee or manager and pass the exams (separately, the State Fire Marshal's individual journeyman electrician license needs 1 year and master electrician 2 years) | Not stated | No official processing time published; expect a matter of weeks once the exams are passed | July 14, 2026 |
| Wisconsin | Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS), Division of Professional Credential Processing, Madison; applications through the LicensE portal at license.wi.gov | No dollar threshold; a Dwelling Contractor certification plus an employed Dwelling Contractor Qualifier is required to obtain a building permit for a one or two family dwelling; there is no state general contractor license for commercial work | None; the only requirement is a 12 hour approved initial qualifier course in dwelling construction taken within one year before applying (the separate HVAC Qualifier needs at least 1,000 hours per year for 4 years or 4 years of education plus an exam) | Not stated | No official DSPS turnaround published; third party estimates of 4 to 8 weeks including the course and paperwork | July 14, 2026 |
| Wyoming | No state board; general contractor licensing is city or county level (Cheyenne, Casper, Jackson, Gillette, Cody and Kemmerer confirmed running their own boards); the only state license is electrical through the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety under the State Fire Marshal | No statewide license or threshold; each city or county sets its own requirement, classifications, exams and fees; no dollar trigger stated for any city | No statewide requirement; by city, Cheyenne Class A 7 years, Class B 5 years, Class C 3 years; Casper Class I 8 years; Jackson Class A 8 years and Class B 4 years | No statewide fee; Casper Class I 300 dollars new; Cheyenne Class A 650 dollars, Class B 450, Class C and D 250; state Electrical Contractor license 400 dollars | No statewide timeline; none of Cheyenne, Casper or Jackson published a review time; depends on the city board meeting schedule and workload | July 14, 2026 |
Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file. Most recent check: September 5, 2026.
Get licensed
Qualifying agent placement where the board requires one, the application, the exams and the board's follow up, in all 50 states. Run by two contractors who hold general contractor, master electrician, master plumber and master mechanical licenses. Call 615-219-2110 or book the call.
Provide your information for a compliance assessment.
The questions Google shows beside these searches, answered from the boards' own rules.
Who you are working with
General contractor · master electrician · master plumber · master mechanical
Heads the education department. Has taught roughly 4,000 students through their contractor licensing exams. Co-founder.
General contractor · master electrician · master plumber · master mechanical
Runs the placement side and the state licensing work. Co-founder. Still speaks with business owners directly.
Together they have helped more than 1,000 business owners with licensing. Both hold the licenses they help other contractors get, which is why the answer you get on a call is the answer the board will give you.
Essential qualifying agent guides from The Licensing Company.
Learn the definition, role, and legal responsibilities of a qualifying agent.
Get matched with a verified, licensed qualifying agent in your state and trade.
Turn your active contractor license into additional income by qualifying other businesses.
Understand qualifier requirements, the legal process, and how to find one in your state.