Ohio Contractor License: Requirements, Cost and Exams

Ohio has no statewide general contractor license: general and residential contractors deal with city and county registration instead. The state does license five commercial trades through the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB): electrical, plumbing, HVAC, hydronics, and refrigeration.

Requirements checked against the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB), Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance published requirements on September 29, 2026.

Ohio contractor license requirements at a glance

Licensing boardNo statewide general contractor license, general and residential licensing is local; Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) in the Department of Commerce licenses Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing, Hydronics and Refrigeration contractors for commercial work statewide
License required whenNo statewide dollar trigger; OCILB licenses by trade, not job size, with no monetary caps; residential and general triggers depend on each city or county
What the state calls the qualifierOCILB licensee whose license and insurance are assigned to a single named contracting company; not a qualifier of record model
NASCLA exam acceptedno
Reciprocity and endorsementWest Virginia (HVAC and Plumbing mechanical reciprocity, plus a separate electrical reciprocity, both confirmed on OCILB forms); other states appear only on third party sites and are not confirmed by OCILB
Exam waiversReciprocal applicant skips the Ohio exam if home state requirements are substantially equal and recognition is two way; West Virginia applicant must have originally tested (grandfathered licenses disqualified) and still submit 500000 dollar liability insurance and a 25 dollar fee per trade; the Out of State Examination track is not a waiver, exam still required
Experience requiredFive years as a tradesperson in the specific trade immediately prior to applying, backed by five consecutive years of tax documents plus one supporting item (permits, journeyman card, apprenticeship certificate, or 40 hours code CE); alternate paths for registered PEs with three years and government inspectors with five years
Application and exam feesLicense issuance fee 25 dollars; PSI exam fee 69 dollars per attempt; reciprocity application 25 dollars per trade
RenewalRenewal costs 60 dollars per year: an annual renewal costs 60 dollars; a triennial renewal costs 180 dollars (OAC 4101:16-2-09); 10 classroom hours of approved continuing education each year (at least 5 in electrical code for electrical); missing CE triggers automatic suspension with one year to reactivate
Time to licenseNo published standard processing time for an OCILB application; exam eligibility valid one year after approval
Bond and financial requirementsAt least 500000 dollars contractor liability insurance assigned to one named contracting company; no state bond stated (Columbus local GC license requires a 25000 dollar bond)
Penalty for unlicensed workNot stated
Time to replace a qualifierNotify the board immediately; license assignment becomes invalid 90 calendar days after the licensee's last day, or sooner by agreement between company and licensee
Companies one qualifier may qualifyOne company per trade at a time; cannot assign another license for the same trade to a different company until the original assignment becomes invalid

Facts checked on August 29, 2026.

Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file.

An OCILB license is issued to an individual who passes the exam, and that individual assigns the license to one contracting company, whose work is then treated as conducted under the license holder's personal supervision. That assignment structure means a trade contracting company in Ohio needs a licensed individual attached to it, even though Ohio law never uses the phrase qualifying agent.

Ohio requires a Qualifying Agent for all licensed contractor entities.

Ohio has no statewide general contractor license; cities, counties, and health departments set residential rules locally. The only statewide license is OCILB's commercial license for Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing, Hydronics, and Refrigeration contractors, which assigns one named contracting company as the qualifier under Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4740.

License classes

Classifications and monetary tiers

OCILB does not use dollar tier classifications the way Tennessee or South Carolina do. It licenses by trade, not by job size. The five license categories are Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing, Hydronics, and Refrigeration, and there are no monetary caps written into the state license itself (Ohio Department of Commerce OCILB overview document; OCILB Examination Application, Ohio Department of Commerce). Any dollar based limits a contractor runs into in Ohio come from local registration ordinances or from bonding capacity, not from the state license.

Experience and other applicant requirements

To sit for an OCILB exam, an applicant must be at least 18 years old, a US citizen or legal alien with documentation, and never convicted of a disqualifying offense as defined in Ohio Senate Bill 337. The baseline path is five years working as a tradesperson in the specific trade being applied for, immediately prior to the application date, backed by five consecutive years of tax documents such as W2s or Schedule C forms, plus one of four supporting items: at least one permit obtained by the licensed contractor employer for each of the last five years, an active journeyman's card in the trade, a certificate of completion from an apprenticeship program approved by the state of Ohio or the US Department of Labor, or proof of 40 hours of continuing education in code taken live or virtually from an OCILB approved training agency, with self guided courses not accepted. Sewer, water, gas, and drain cleaning permits do not count toward the permit option. Two alternate paths exist: a currently registered Ohio professional engineer with three years of construction industry business experience in the applicable trade, or five years of experience as an Ohio government inspector in that trade. A veterans pathway also exists, requiring a DD214 and supporting training records in place of the standard documentation (OCILB Examination Application, Ohio Department of Commerce, revised September 2025). Once the board approves an applicant's eligibility, that approval is valid for one year, and the applicant must pass a BCI and FBI background check before OCILB allows them to sit for the exam.

The qualifier rule

Qualifying the company, and how many companies one agent can qualify

Ohio's OCILB license does not work like a typical company qualification model such as Florida's or Utah's, where one individual can serve as the qualifier of record for multiple companies at once up to a set cap. Under Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4740, a licensee's insurance and license must be assigned to a single named contracting company, and that same licensee cannot assign another license for the same trade to a different company until the original assignment becomes invalid (Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4740, Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules). In practice, one person's OCILB license lives with one company per trade at a time, not a portfolio of companies the way a Florida or Utah qualifying agent can hold. A qualifying agent should not be expected to qualify several companies at once in Ohio the way is possible in those states, without confirming the specific trade and situation directly with OCILB.

Replacement rules and deadlines when a qualifier leaves

When a licensee stops working for the contracting company their OCILB license is assigned to, whether by resignation, termination, or death, the contractor or company must notify the board immediately. From that point, the license assignment becomes invalid 90 calendar days after the person's last day, or sooner if the contracting company and the individual licensee agree to an earlier date (Ohio Revised Code 4740.07, Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules). That 90 day window is the closest thing Ohio has to a replace your qualifier or lose the license clock, and it applies within the OCILB commercial trades, not to a general building license, since Ohio has no state level general license to lose.

Exams

Exam requirements and current vendor

PSI Services LLC is OCILB's exam vendor, administering both the trade specific exam and a Business and Law exam that covers Ohio contracting law and business practice across all five trades (Ohio Department of Commerce OCILB overview document, which states licenses go to those who successfully pass the PSI licensing examination). Exams are computer based, scheduled by appointment at sites across Ohio and the US once PSI issues a Candidate Information Bulletin. The exam format is a 50 question two hour open book Business and Law exam with a 69 dollar fee and a 70 percent passing score, plus a 60 day wait and the same flat 69 dollar fee to retake any failed exam; see Testing and exams below for the full breakdown by trade. After passing, a license is issued on payment of a 25 dollar fee to the Treasurer of the State of Ohio plus proof of at least 500000 dollars in contractor liability insurance, and both the insurance and the license must be assigned to one named contracting company as defined in Ohio Revised Code 4740.01 (OCILB Examination Application, Ohio Department of Commerce).

NASCLA acceptance

Ohio does not accept the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors. OCILB and the state of Ohio are absent from NASCLA's own list of participating state agencies, checked against NASCLA's participating state agencies page in July 2026. This is a clean no, not a partial yes, and it is the single most important distinction to get right on an Ohio license question. A contractor who passed the NASCLA exam in another state gets no credit toward an Ohio license from that exam alone.

Testing and exams (from the candidate bulletins)

This section covers the four OCILB exams that come up most: the Business and Law exam every commercial licensee must pass, plus the three highest volume trade exams, Electrical, HVAC, and Plumbing. Hydronics and Refrigeration run through the identical PSI process and format rules described below, just with their own question counts and reference lists, and are not broken out separately here. All figures below come directly from PSI's own Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board Candidate Information Bulletin.

Vendor and how to schedule

PSI Services LLC runs the entire OCILB exam program for all five trades plus Business and Law, under contract with the Department of Commerce Division of Industrial Compliance. There is no separate vendor per trade. Once OCILB approves an applicant's eligibility and the applicant clears the required Federal and State background check, the applicant schedules directly with PSI, not with OCILB.

Scheduling runs two ways. Online at the PSI Ohio construction exam portal, available 24 hours a day, where a candidate creates an account, pays, enters a zip code to see nearby test sites, and picks an open date. Or by phone at (855) 257-1621, Monday through Friday from 7:30 am to 10:00 pm Eastern and Saturday through Sunday from 9:00 am to 5:30 pm Eastern, with a credit card in hand, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover.

Once OCILB notifies PSI an applicant is eligible, the applicant has one year to schedule and sit the exam before eligibility expires and a new application is required. Rescheduling or canceling without forfeiting the fee requires notice at least two days before the scheduled date, given online or by phone to a live PSI representative, never by voicemail. Missing the appointment, arriving after start time, canceling late, or failing to present valid identification all forfeit the fee outright.

Question count, time limit, and passing score

All four exams are open book, computer based, one question at a time on screen, with a 15 minute untimed tutorial before the clock starts and an onscreen calculator provided as the only calculator allowed.

Business and Law, all commercial license classifications: 50 scored questions plus 5 unscored pretest questions, 2 hours total, 70 percent required to pass.

Electrical: 100 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions, 4 hours total, 70 percent required to pass.

HVAC: 100 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions, 4 hours total, 70 percent required to pass.

Plumbing: 100 scored questions plus 1 unscored pretest question, 4 hours total, 70 percent required to pass.

Pretest questions do not count toward the score but do count against the clock. A candidate becoming licensed in a second trade only has to pass Business and Law once every three years, not every time.

What each exam covers

Business and Law content outline, by number of scored items: Business Organization 2, Licensing 3, Estimating and Bidding 8, Contract Management 5, Project Management 4, Insurance and Bonding 5, OSHA Record Keeping and Safety 5, Personnel Regulations 5, Financial Management 6, Tax Laws 5, Lien Laws 2, plus 5 pretest items.

Electrical content outline: General Electrical Knowledge 10, Transformers and Equipment 12, Service Feeders and Branch Circuits 16, Raceways Boxes and Panelboards 10, Conductors and Cables 12, Control Devices 8, Motors and Generators 12, Utilization Equipment 8, Special Occupancies and Equipment 12, plus 10 pretest items. The bulletin frames the trade as installing, altering, adding, or changing electrical wires, fixtures, appliances, apparatus, raceways, and conduit that generate, transmit, transform, or utilize electrical energy for light, heat, power, or communications.

HVAC content outline: General Knowledge and Requirements 10, Warm Air Heating and Air Distribution 25, Ventilation and Exhaust Systems 15, Air Conditioning 10, Piping Systems 10, Equipment and Appliances 20, Testing and Inspection 10, plus 10 pretest items.

Plumbing content outline: General Knowledge 8, General Regulations 20, Plumbing Fixtures 6, Water Supply Systems 10, Drainage Waste and Sanitary Vents 24, Indirect Wastes 3, Roof Drain Piping 4, Specialty Plumbing 5, Isometric Analysis 20, plus 1 pretest item.

No actual exam questions are reproduced above, only the official subject areas and item counts PSI itself publishes.

Approved references

Business and Law is the one exception to bringing your own book. PSI itself supplies the reference at the testing center, the Contractor's Guide to Business, Law, and Project Management, Ohio, 4th Edition, published by NASCLA and sold at the NASCLA store. Because PSI provides this copy, no highlighting or notes of any kind may be added to it during the exam.

For the trade exams, the candidate is responsible for bringing their own copies of the approved references. Electrical allows Ugly's Electrical References, 2023 edition, George V. Hart, Jones and Bartlett, plus NFPA 70, the National Electrical Code, and or the National Electrical Code Handbook, 2023 edition, National Fire Protection Association, either one alone is sufficient though a candidate may bring both, plus either the Electrical Field Reference Handbook revised for the 2008 NEC or the IBEW NECA Field Reference Book from the National Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee.

HVAC allows the International Fuel Gas Code, 2021 edition, International Code Council, the Ohio Mechanical Code, 2024 edition, International Code Council, and Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, 22nd Edition.

Plumbing allows the Ohio Plumbing Code, 2024 edition, International Code Council, the International Fuel Gas Code, 2024 edition, International Code Council, Mathematics for Plumbers and Pipefitters, 8th Edition, 2013, Cengage, and Modern Plumbing, 9th Edition, 2022, Goodheart Willcox.

Code book editions are locked. For every reference except a code book, the candidate may rely on a later edition than the one listed if one has since been published. For code book questions specifically, the exam is written only against the exact edition PSI names, so a newer code edition on a candidate's shelf will not match the exam.

Tabbing and highlighting rules

For Business and Law, the reference is a copy PSI itself hands the candidate at the test center, and the rule is simple: no writing or highlighting of any kind in it during the exam.

For the trade exams, the candidate's own references may be highlighted, underlined, and or tabbed and indexed before the exam session, but nothing may be written in the references once the exam starts. Anyone caught writing in a reference during the exam has it confiscated and gets reported to the department. Loose or attached extra papers of any kind bound into or inserted with an approved reference are also confiscated, including sticky notes with content beyond a plain tab. Reference material is the only exception to the general no personal items rule; everything else, phones, watches, bags, food, and outside paper, stays in secure storage outside the exam room.

Where to test

Ohio currently has PSI administered sites at Akron, Cambridge, Cincinnati and Hamilton (the Tri State Professional Training and Testing Center), Cleveland (Middleburg Heights), Columbus South (Groveport), Columbus North (Dublin), Macedonia serving the Cleveland East area, Maumee and Toledo, Troy, and Wadsworth.

The bulletin states that PSI also runs centers in many other regions across the United States and that a candidate may sit the exam at any of them, so testing in a neighboring state, Kentucky, Indiana, Michigan, Pennsylvania, or West Virginia, for example, is an option once the candidate is registered and simply picks a different zip code when booking.

Remote or online proctoring is not described anywhere in the bulletin. Every scheduling path in it points to an in person appointment at a physical PSI test center.

Retake rules and fees

The bulletin states one flat exam fee of 69 dollars per registration, charged the same whether it is a first attempt or a repeat attempt, and the fee is not refundable or transferable under any circumstance.

If a candidate fails an exam, the rule is a 60 day wait before retesting, with up to 5 retest attempts allowed in a year. The 60 day figure and the 69 dollar flat fee are the figures that apply.

Source

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board, Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance, Contractor Trade Examinations Candidate Information Bulletin, published by PSI Services LLC at the PSI Ohio construction exam portal, copyright 2024, updated February 7, 2024, checked August 29, 2026.

Fees and timeline

Application and processing timelines

A standard processing time for an OCILB application is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page. Under Ohio Administrative Code 4101:16-2-09, the renewal schedule is as follows: an annual renewal costs 60 dollars, and a triennial renewal costs 180 dollars. Renewal requires 10 classroom hours of approved continuing education each year, with at least 5 of those hours in electrical code for the electrical trade. Missing that continuing education requirement by the license expiration date triggers an automatic suspension with no board action required. A suspended licensee has one year from expiration to reactivate by paying the renewal and late fees, showing proof of liability insurance, and completing the continuing education hours; failing to reactivate within that year results in automatic revocation (Ohio Administrative Code 4101:16-2-08, Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules).

The Home Construction Service Suppliers Act, and why it is not a license

Ohio has a separate consumer protection statute, Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4722, the Home Construction Service Suppliers Act, that applies to anyone contracting for new construction, remodeling, or renovation of a residential building under a contract over 25000 dollars. It requires a written contract and at least 250000 dollars of general liability insurance, and it is enforced by the Ohio Attorney General's Consumer Protection Section through civil action rather than a licensing board (Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4722, Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules). It does not create a registration system, a license, an experience requirement, an exam, or a bond, so it should not be understood as a license that needs to be obtained. It functions as a compliance and insurance requirement that sits alongside whatever local city or county registration actually applies.

Reciprocity

Reciprocity and out of state licensure

Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4740 allows an out of state licensee to get an Ohio OCILB license without sitting the Ohio exam, if their home state's licensing requirements are substantially equal to Ohio's and that state extends the same recognition back to Ohio licensees, meaning a real two way written agreement, not a one sided courtesy (Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4740, Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules). Two specific agreements exist on official OCILB forms, both with West Virginia. The first is a mechanical reciprocity arrangement for HVAC and Plumbing, where the applicant must currently hold a West Virginia Master Plumber or HVAC Technician license plus a West Virginia Contractor License. The second is a separate electrical reciprocity arrangement, where the applicant must currently hold a West Virginia Master Electrician license, issued by the West Virginia State Fire Marshal, plus a West Virginia Contractor Electrical License issued by the West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board (West Virginia Mechanical Reciprocity Application and West Virginia Electrical Reciprocity Application, official OCILB forms hosted at Ohio Department of Commerce and dam.assets.ohio.gov). Both applications carry the same core terms: the applicant must have originally tested for the West Virginia license rather than received it through grandfathering, which is disqualifying, and must submit a 500000 dollar liability insurance certificate naming the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board plus a 25 dollar fee per trade, non refundable.

Other sources describe a wider reciprocity network beyond West Virginia: HVAC with Alabama, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee; electrical with North Carolina and Kentucky; and plumbing with Arkansas, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These pairings were found on third party licensing guide sites rather than an official OCILB or Ohio Department of Commerce page, so a specific state pair should be confirmed directly with OCILB before relying on it.

Separately, OCILB also runs an Out of State Examination Application track that is not full reciprocity but an easier path to sit the Ohio exam: an individual holding a substantially similar out of state trades license can qualify by showing at least five building permits or authorizations pulled under that out of state license, at least one tax return reflecting income earned under it, and proof the employing contracting company is properly registered to do business in Ohio, still followed by the standard PSI exam and 500000 dollar insurance requirement (OCILB Out of State Examination Application, official form hosted at dam.assets.ohio.gov, version dated September 2025). This is a lighter lift than a cold Ohio application, but it is not a waiver of the exam itself and should not be described as full reciprocity.

Trades

Trades overlay

Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing, Hydronics, and Refrigeration make up the entire OCILB system, all licensed the same way through the same board and the same PSI exam process, with no separate boards for each trade the way some states split electrical off on its own (Ohio Department of Commerce OCILB overview document; Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4740). There is no OCILB classification for general building, roofing, or most other specialty trades; those stay entirely local.

Questions contractors ask

Do I need a contractor's license in Ohio?

Ohio has no statewide general contractor license for standard building or residential remodeling work; that authority sits with individual cities, counties, and health departments, each running its own registration or licensing program with its own fees and often its own exam. The only statewide construction license is OCILB's commercial license, covering Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing, Hydronics, and Refrigeration contractors, issued under Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4740.

How do I get an Ohio electrical contractor license?

OCILB, the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board, issues the statewide Electrical license for commercial work, with no dollar caps written into the license itself. Applicants must be at least 18, generally show five years of trade experience with supporting documentation, pass a PSI trade exam covering topics like Service Feeders and Branch Circuits plus a Business and Law exam, then pay a $25 fee and carry $500,000 in contractor liability insurance assigned to one named contracting company.

How do I get an Ohio plumbing license?

OCILB issues the statewide Plumbing license for commercial work, one of five trade categories alongside Electrical, HVAC, Hydronics, and Refrigeration, with no dollar caps on the license itself. The baseline path requires five years of trade experience, a PSI exam of 100 scored questions covering topics like Drainage, Waste and Sanitary Vents, plus a separate Business and Law exam, then a $25 license fee and $500,000 in contractor liability insurance assigned to one named contracting company.

How do I become a licensed contractor in Ohio?

Ohio has no single statewide process for a general contractor; licensing depends on OCILB only for the five commercial trades, Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing, Hydronics, and Refrigeration. For those trades, an applicant must be at least 18, a US citizen or documented legal alien, with no disqualifying conviction, and typically show five years of trade experience backed by tax records, then pass a PSI trade exam and a Business and Law exam, pay a $25 fee, and carry $500,000 in liability insurance assigned to one named contracting company. For general building or residential work, check the applicable city or county directly.

How do I get an Ohio HVAC license?

OCILB issues the statewide HVAC license for commercial work, one of five trade categories with Electrical, Plumbing, Hydronics, and Refrigeration, and there are no dollar caps on the license itself. The baseline path is five years of trade experience, a PSI exam of 100 scored questions covering topics like Warm Air Heating and Air Distribution and Equipment and Appliances, plus a separate Business and Law exam, then a $25 license fee and $500,000 in contractor liability insurance assigned to one named contracting company.

What is the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board?

OCILB, the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board, is a board inside the Department of Commerce's Division of Industrial Compliance that issues statewide Master Licenses to commercial Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing, Hydronics, and Refrigeration contractors. It has 17 board members split into four sections, Plumbing and Hydronics, HVAC and Refrigeration, Electrical, and Administrative, meeting every other month to review applications, training agencies, and courses. Local building and health departments that already run a registration program must accept the OCILB license in place of their own for commercial permits.

The board

Who licenses general contractors

Ohio does not run a statewide license for a general contractor doing standard building or residential remodeling work. That authority sits with individual cities, counties, and health departments, each running its own registration or licensing program, with its own fees and often its own exam (Ohio Department of Commerce, Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board overview document; Ohio Department of Commerce licensing and registration page).

The one piece of construction licensing Ohio runs statewide is commercial trade licensing through the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board, known as OCILB, a board inside the Department of Commerce's Division of Industrial Compliance. OCILB issues state licenses, also called Master Licenses, to Electrical, Heating Ventilating and Air Conditioning, Plumbing, Hydronics, and Refrigeration contractors who perform commercial work (Ohio Department of Commerce OCILB overview document; Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4740, Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules). OCILB has 17 board members split into four sections, Plumbing and Hydronics, HVAC and Refrigeration, Electrical, and Administrative, which each meet every other month to review applications, training agencies, and courses (Ohio Department of Commerce OCILB overview document).

Local building and health departments that already run a registration program are required to accept the OCILB state license in place of their own for commercial permits. Every local building and health department in Ohio regulates residential contractors on its own, and the state licensing law separately allows, but does not require, those same local departments to also demand the OCILB commercial license from their residential contractors (Ohio Department of Commerce OCILB overview document). So the answer to whether Ohio requires a contractor license has two parts: for the five commercial trades, yes, through OCILB, statewide. For general building and residential work, it depends entirely on the city or county, and that should be checked locally.

A new law affecting Ohio's commercial contractors

A recent Ohio law requires E-Verify participation to confirm work authorization for new hires on two categories of construction work: all public works projects for state agencies and political subdivisions, covering contractors, subcontractors, and labor brokers regardless of trade, and private sector nonresidential construction, meaning commercial buildings, highways, bridges, utilities, and similar infrastructure. Private residential construction is exempt. The Ohio Attorney General, not OCILB, enforces the law, with authority to investigate suspected violations, issue notices, and pursue court action. Because OCILB's five licensed trades, electrical, HVAC, plumbing, hydronics, and refrigeration, are commercial trades by definition, any OCILB licensed contractor doing nonresidential work in Ohio falls inside this law's scope and should already have E-Verify in place. It is a compliance requirement layered on top of OCILB licensure, not a change to the licensing rules themselves.

Licensing Board

Official Licensing Authority

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB), Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance

All contractor license applications, renewals, and qualifying agent changes must go through this board.

Visit Board Website

What Ohio contractors say

Every review below is public and linked to where it was posted.

“They helped me get my Ohio plumbing license for True Flow Services LLC and made the whole process so much easier than I expected.”
Kelley Shouse, True Flow Services LLCRead the full review on Facebook
I don't leave many reviews, but this company absolutely deserves one. When we decided to get our Ohio electrical contractor's license, the process seemed overwhelming. Thankfully, we found this team. They told us it would take about 90 days, and we were hopeful, but honestly, we never expected it to happen so quickly. To our surprise, we had our license in just 3 weeks! They were professional, honest, and always…

Timelines vary by state. Most licenses take a few weeks to a few months.

Brighten Your Day Electric LLCRead the full review on Facebook, July 2026

All reviews

How The Licensing Company qualifies your company in Ohio

We place a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a full time W-2 employee and prepare the qualifier filing with the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB), Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance. Tell us your trade and what you have going on, and pick a time for a discovery call. Or call 615-219-2110.

Submit Licensing Inquiry

Provide your information for a compliance assessment.

All inquiries are confidential and handled by our compliance team.

Sources