Nevada licenses contractors through the Nevada State Contractors Board, and nearly all construction work requires a license: the only carve out is work under $1,000 in aggregate that does not require a building permit and is not part of a larger project.
Requirements checked against the Nevada State Contractors Board published requirements on September 29, 2026.
| Licensing board | Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB), nscb.nv.gov, offices in Reno and Las Vegas; one board for every general and specialty classification, no local alternative |
|---|---|
| License required when | license required for essentially all construction work; the only exemption is work under 1000 dollars labor and materials combined, and only if no building permit is required, it is not plumbing, electrical, refrigeration, heating, or air conditioning, and it is not part of a larger project of 500 dollars or more |
| What the state calls the qualifier | qualified individual (also called qualifying party); may be an owner, officer, member, manager, or employee who is regularly employed by the licensee and actively engaged in the classification |
| NASCLA exam accepted | yes (trade exam waived for the B General Building and B 2 Residential and Small Commercial classifications only; the Nevada Business and Law exam is never waived; not accepted for the electrical classification) |
| Reciprocity and endorsement | Alabama, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, New Mexico, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia (licensure by endorsement, each mapped to specific Nevada classifications) |
| Exam waivers | endorsement waives the Nevada trade exam and the experience certification requirement; the Business and Law exam is never waived; requires an active license with the same qualified individual in the endorsing state for the past four years and no discipline anywhere |
| Experience required | four full years within the 15 years before applying at journeyman, foreman, supervisor, or contractor level in the classification requested; waived if the person was a qualified employee in the same classification on another Nevada license within five years or comes in by endorsement; B 7 restricted uses alternate proofs instead |
| Application and exam fees | 300 dollar application fee; PSI exam fee 95 dollars for one portion or 140 dollars for two portions scheduled together |
| Renewal | Not stated |
| Time to license | no published end to end turnaround; board only says to wait one business day after hand delivery or five business days after mailing before checking that an application arrived |
| Bond and financial requirements | surety bond or cash deposit of 1000 to 500000 dollars set by the board; a current financial statement is required from every applicant, with CPA compiled, reviewed, or audited statements required as the monetary limit rises (reviewed or audited at 1000000 dollars and above); B 7 restricted bond is 2000 dollars |
| Penalty for unlicensed work | Not stated |
| Time to replace a qualifier | 10 days to notify the board of a disassociation or the license is automatically suspended; 30 days from disassociation to have a board approved replacement or the license is subject to suspension |
| Companies one qualifier may qualify | more than one license only under a 25 percent ownership test (the licensee owns at least 25 percent of each entity qualified, or the qualifier personally owns at least 25 percent of every licensee); one exception, a sole proprietor licensee may qualify one additional license without the ownership test |
Facts checked on August 27, 2026.
Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file.
Every license carries a monetary limit that caps the size of any single contract, with a surety bond set by the board between $1,000 and $500,000 based on the limit and the company's financial responsibility. Every licensed company must name a qualifying party, the person who documents the experience and passes the exams for the company. Nevada accepts the NASCLA accredited commercial general building exam in place of the state trade exam for the B General Building and B-2 Residential and Small Commercial classifications.
Nevada requires a Qualifying Agent for all licensed contractor entities.
Yes, a license is required for nearly all construction work in Nevada; there is no broad exemption for small jobs. The Nevada State Contractors Board issues every contractor license statewide. A qualified individual, called the qualifying party, must qualify the company, and to qualify more than one company that person must own at least 25 percent of each one.
Nevada does not have a broad small jobs exemption. The exception that exists is far narrower than what many other states allow, so essentially all real construction work in Nevada requires a license.
Nevada does not sell a single unlimited general contractor license the way Tennessee or Georgia do. Instead, licenses fall into three main classes, each with many subclassifications. Every individual license carries its own dollar ceiling, called the monetary limit, the maximum size of a contract that license can undertake on a single site. The board sets this limit using the applicant's financial statements, bond, and experience, under NRS 624.220, 624.260, 624.262 and 624.263.
Class A is General Engineering, running from A 1 Airports through A 25 Telecommunication Towers, 25 subclassifications covering heavy civil work like highways, bridges, dams, and excavation. Class B is General Building, with seven subclassifications: B 1 Premanufactured Housing, B 2 Residential and Small Commercial, B 3 Speculative Building, B 4 Service Stations, B 5 Prefabricated Steel Structures, B 6 Commercial Remodeling, and B 7 Residential Remodeling. A combined AB classification exists for applicants qualified in both general engineering and general building. Class C is Specialty, with 42 subclassifications covering trades like plumbing, electrical, carpentry, painting, and concrete. B 2, Residential and Small Commercial, is the closest match to a general contractor license.
Nevada's legislature signed Senate Bill 130 in August 2025, creating the new B 7 Restricted Residential Remodeling classification effective October 1, 2025. Under the board's regulation implementing SB 130, LCB File No. R030-25, the monetary limit for a B 7 restricted license is 7,000 dollars including labor and materials, a licensee may not split a project into separate contracts to evade that limit, and the bond or cash deposit requirement is 2,000 dollars. The scope covers nonstructural remodeling and improvement of an existing detached single family residence of no more than three stories above ground and one story below ground, with no increase to the existing enclosed living space, and no work that would require a specialty classification outside B 7 unless performed by a properly classified contractor.
The regulation does not set a flat two year experience requirement. Instead, an applicant proves experience or education through any one of three paths: four or more Certificates of Work Experience; a transcript showing completed training from an accredited college, university, apprenticeship, or equivalent program; or documentation of completed business courses taken within the year before applying. No trade exam is required for the restricted B 7 license, only the CMS Business and Law exam and the standard financial statement, bond, fees, and child support disclosure. A B 7 restricted licensee can later apply for the unrestricted B 7 license once qualified, including passing any required trade exam, and surrender the restricted license at that point.
Nevada licenses the business entity, not the individual. The qualified individual can be an owner, officer, member, manager, or employee, as long as that person is regularly employed by the licensee and actively engaged in the classification of work, with the skill to actually supervise or perform it. While serving, that person cannot take other employment that would conflict with the duties of qualifying party or with the ability to properly supervise the work.
This is a structural difference worth flagging clearly. Nevada does let one qualified individual qualify more than one license, but only under an ownership test: either the licensee owns at least 25 percent of each licensed entity the person qualifies for, or the qualifying person personally owns at least 25 percent of every licensee they qualify for, with a single no equity exception for a sole proprietor adding one more license. This is narrower than Georgia, which lets a qualifying agent qualify unrelated client companies with no ownership stake and no cap. Confirm with the board how this ownership requirement would apply to a specific qualifying agent arrangement before relying on it in Nevada.
Under NRS 624.285, if the licensee fails to notify the board within 10 days that its qualified individual has disassociated, the license is automatically suspended. Even after proper notice, the licensee then has 30 days from the date of disassociation to replace that person with another individual who is similarly qualified and approved by the board, or the license is subject to suspension. The license is reinstated once a qualified replacement is approved. This 10 day notice window and 30 day replacement window are both dramatically faster than the 120 to 180 day replacement windows in other states where The Licensing Company places qualifying agents; treat any Nevada qualifier departure as an urgent, same day matter.
PSI is Nevada's contracted testing vendor, run through the PSI Nevada contractor exam portal. Every qualifying individual sits two separate exams: a General Business and Law exam, open book against Nevada's own Construction Business and Law Manual, and a Trade exam specific to the classification applied for, generally closed book with limited code reference allowances. A candidate gets three attempts total. Failing an attempt requires a two week wait before the next try, and failing a third time voids the application under NAC 624.600(3), after which a new application, a new fee, and a 30 day wait from the last exam date are required to try again. Testing runs seven days a week in Las Vegas, most days in Reno, and on limited days in Elko.
Nevada is a confirmed participating agency on NASCLA's own list. The board's own site is specific that the waiver applies to the full B General Building classification and the B 2 Residential and Small Commercial classification only: an applicant who has passed the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors can have Nevada's own trade exam waived for those two classifications after sending an electronic transcript through NASCLA's National Examination Database. Certificates of Work Experience and a resume of experience are still required, and the Nevada Business and Law exam is never waived regardless of NASCLA score.
The NASCLA waiver does not cover Nevada's electrical classification. NASCLA's own list of participating agencies for the electrical exam does not include Nevada at all, and the board's own license examinations page describes the trade exam waiver only in terms of licensure by endorsement, not NASCLA, with no mention of electrical or C 2.
PSI Services LLC is Nevada's sole contracted testing vendor for contractor licensing exams, run through the PSI Nevada contractor exam portal, phone (855) 205-5827, fax (702) 932-2666. Once the board reviews an applicant's file and verifies experience, it mails a Candidate Eligibility letter together with the matching Candidate Information Bulletin, and only then can the applicant register with PSI, either online or by phone Monday through Friday 4:30 am to 7:00 pm Pacific and weekends 6:00 am to 2:30 pm Pacific. Every applicant sits two separate exam portions, the CMS (Contractor Management Survey Examination, which Nevada's own board website calls the General Business and Law exam) plus one classification specific trade exam. Both portions are administered by computer at a staffed PSI test center. The candidate bulletins do not describe any remote, at home, or online proctored option; testing is in person only. The four exams that matter most here are the universal CMS plus the trade exam for B 2 (the general contractor equivalent), C 2 Electrical, and C 1d Plumbing.
Every applicant for every classification takes this exam once, regardless of which classification they are qualifying for. 60 scored items plus 3 unscored pretest items, 120 minutes allowed for the scored portion and 6 minutes allowed for the unscored portion, on top of up to 15 minutes for an introductory tutorial that does not count against exam time. Minimum passing score is 45 correct, 75 percent. The bulletin lists this exam as open book, but that only means the one specific approved manual named below, nothing else may be brought in. The content outline weights the 60 scored items as Licensing 10, Estimating and Bidding 7, Lien Law 3, Financial Management 12, Tax Laws 5, Labor Laws 5, Project Management 3, Contracts 6, Risk Management 4, and Environmental and Safety 5. The only approved reference is the Construction Business and Law Manual for Nevada, published by PSI, 3210 E Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas NV 89121, sold through the PSI Online Store or by calling (866) 589-3088; the bulletin does not name an edition number for this manual, only that the current copy PSI sells is the correct one. Fee is 95 dollars for this exam alone, or 140 dollars total if scheduled in the same sitting as a trade exam.
This classification is the closest match to a general contractor license. 80 questions, 3 hours, minimum passing score 56, 70 percent, open book against a short named list. The content outline weights the exam as Sitework 4, Concrete 10, Masonry 10, Metals 5, Carpentry 12, Thermal and Moisture Protection 9, Doors and Windows 3, Drywall and Finishes 4, Safety 10, General Code Plan Reading and Estimating 10, and Nevada One Call 3. Approved references allowed in the exam room are the International Building Code 2018 (International Code Council), the International Residential Code for One and Two Family Dwellings 2018 (International Code Council), and ACI 318 11 or ACI 318 14, 2014, Building Code Requirements for Structural Concrete and Commentary (American Concrete Institute). A longer list of trade references were used to write the questions but are explicitly not allowed in the room, meaning a candidate must study from them beforehand but cannot lean on them during the test: Carpentry and Building Construction, 2016 student edition, Feirer and Feirer; Modern Masonry, Kicklighter, 8th edition 2015; Pipe and Excavation Contracting, Dave Roberts, 2011; Gypsum Construction Handbook, 7th edition 2014; the Nevada One Call marking guidelines; BCSI: Guide to Good Practice for Handling, Installing, Restraining, and Bracing of Metal Plate Connected Wood Trusses, 2018; and Contractors Guide to Quality Concrete Construction, 4th edition 2018.
The main Class C specialty trade exam. 80 questions, 4 hours, the longest time allowance of the four, minimum passing score 56, 70 percent, open book against a short named list. The content outline weights the exam as General Electrical Knowledge 6, Service Feeders and Branch Circuits 7, Grounding and Bonding 7, Conductors and Cables 8, Raceways and Boxes 7, Special Occupancies and Equipment 5, Electrical Power 6, Motors 6, Low Voltage 2, Lighting 5, Illuminated Signs 2, Fire Detection and Alarm Systems 2, Safety Information 8, Transmission Lines 5, and Overcurrent Protection 4. Approved references allowed in the room are the National Electrical Code or National Electrical Code Handbook, 2017, Earley, Sheehan, Caloggero, National Fire Protection Association, and NFPA 72, Standard for National Fire Alarm Code or National Fire Alarm Code Handbook, 2010 or 2013. Used to write the questions but explicitly not allowed in the room are Ugly's Electrical References, George V. Hart, 2008, 2011, or 2014 editions; the National Electrical Safety Code 2012; and the Lineman's and Cableman's Handbook, Shoemaker and Mack, 14th edition 2023. This exam is also offered in Spanish.
80 questions, 3 hours, minimum passing score 56, 70 percent, open book against a named list. The content outline weights the exam as Gas Systems 8, Cleanouts 4, Fixtures and Equipment 3, Hydronics 3, Water Heaters and Venting 6, Piping Valves and Controls 5, Water Supply 8, Hangers and Supports 4, Drain Waste and Vents 8, Backflow 4, Traps and Interceptors 4, Isometric Analysis and Plumbing Mathematics 6, Safety 5, Joints and Connections 3, Solar 3, General Plumbing Requirements 3, and Storm Drainage 3. Approved references allowed in the room are the Uniform Plumbing Code 2018 (IAPMO), NFPA 54, Standard for National Fuel Gas Code, 2012, NFPA 58, Standard for Liquid Petroleum Gas Code, 2014, and the Uniform Mechanical Code 2012 (IAPMO). Used to write the questions but explicitly not allowed in the room are Mathematics for Plumbers and Pipefitters, Lee Smith, 8th edition 2013; Modern Hydronic Heating for Residential and Light Commercial Buildings, John Siegenthaler, 2nd edition 2004; the Solar Water and Pool Heating Design and Installation Manual, 1997; the Pipefitter's Handbook, Forest R. Linsey, 3rd edition 1967; and Pipe Welding Procedures, Hoobasar Rampaul, 2003. This exam is also offered in Spanish.
Candidates bring their own copies of the approved references. Those references may be highlighted, underlined, or indexed with permanent tabs before the exam session starts, but nothing may be written in any reference during the session. Temporary tabs such as Post it notes are banned and must be pulled off before the exam begins. Anyone caught writing in or freshly highlighting a reference during the exam has it confiscated and gets reported to the Nevada State Contractors Board. No loose or attached extra papers of any kind may travel with the approved references; those get confiscated too. A silent, nonprinting, nonprogrammable calculator is allowed in the room for every exam listed here. Separately, the bulletins describe a general policy that a small number of one to ten unscored experimental items, roughly 10 percent of an exam's item count, may be mixed into any exam and will count against the clock even though they are not scored. The CMS summary table breaks this out as a separate 3 item, 6 minute line, but the trade exam tables do not show a separate breakout, so whether experimental items add time beyond the single figure listed for B 2, C 2, and C 1d is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page.
PSI's own Nevada centers, branded Brainseed Testing Services, sit in Las Vegas at 5740 S Eastern Ave, Suite 200, and in Reno at 5250 Neil Road, Suite 110, plus a limited schedule center in Elko at 225 Silver Street, Ste 102. Las Vegas runs 7 days a week, Reno runs most weekdays plus Saturday, and Elko runs on a limited schedule. Beyond Nevada, PSI's nationwide network of test centers also administers these same Nevada exams; once a candidate has paid for the exam online they can enter any zip code and get a list of the nearest centers, so an out of state qualifying agent does not have to fly into Nevada to sit for these exams. The candidate bulletins do not describe a remote, at home, or online proctored testing option; every path found is an in person, staffed test center.
One examination portion costs 95 dollars. Two portions scheduled together cost 140 dollars total only when one of the two is the CMS; if a candidate instead schedules two trade exams together in one sitting with no CMS, each trade exam is billed separately at 95 dollars. Registration fees are not refundable or transferable and expire on the same date as the candidate's underlying eligibility. A candidate who fails a portion must wait two weeks before retaking that same portion, and cannot book a new appointment on the same day as a failed attempt because of score processing time; a candidate who fails on a Wednesday can call to reschedule as soon as Thursday but still cannot retest until two weeks from the failure date. A candidate who fails a portion three times has the application voided under NAC 624.600(3), and must reapply to the board with a new fee. Missing an appointment, arriving after the exam start time, canceling less than two days before the scheduled date, or failing to present acceptable photo identification all forfeit the registration fee outright. One form of government issued photo identification bearing the candidate's exact legal name is required at check in: a state driver's license, state issued identification card, US government issued passport, US government issued military identification card, US government issued alien registration card, or Canadian government issued identification all qualify.
Source: PSI Services LLC, "State of Nevada Contractors, 'B' Classification Examinations, Candidate Information Bulletin" and "State of Nevada Contractors, 'C' Classification Examinations, Candidate Information Bulletin," both copyright 2026 PSI Services LLC and both stamped Updated 3/25/2026.
The person who qualifies a Nevada license, called the qualified individual or qualifying party, needs at least four full years of experience within the 15 years before applying, working at the journeyman, foreman, supervisor, or contractor level in the specific classification requested. That experience can be documented with four Certification of Work Experience forms, a current master's certification from a government agency, military training records, or up to three of the four years through college or apprenticeship training. The four year requirement is waived if the person already served as a qualified employee in the same classification on another Nevada license within the last five years, or through licensure by endorsement from an equivalent state.
The new restricted B 7 classification does not follow this four year rule. Instead, it accepts any one of three alternate proofs: work experience certificates, accredited training, or recent business coursework, under the board's regulation for LCB File No. R030-25.
Every applicant submits a current financial statement no matter what monetary limit is being requested, and the level of scrutiny scales with that limit. For 25,000 dollars or less a CPA prepared statement, the board's own prescribed form, or a self prepared balance sheet with a sworn affidavit is enough. Between 25,001 and 499,999 dollars a compiled statement no more than six months old, or a reviewed or audited statement up to a year old, is required. Between 500,000 and 999,999 dollars a compiled statement with full disclosures, or a reviewed or audited statement, is required. At 1,000,000 dollars and above the statement must be reviewed or audited by an independent CPA and no more than a year old. A completed bank verification form goes with every application, and sole proprietors or general partners submitting a personal financial statement need supplemental working capital and net worth schedules if it is CPA prepared.
Bonds run from 1,000 to 500,000 dollars, set by the board based on classification, monetary limit, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience, and character. A surety bond from a company rated A or better and authorized in Nevada is the normal route; a cash deposit by cashier's check is the alternative. The cash deposit option carries a 200 dollar biennial administrative fee and stays on file for two years after the license ends under the state's statute of limitations. Swimming pool and spa contractors carry an additional dedicated consumer protection bond, separately sized from 10,000 up to 400,000 dollars depending on financial responsibility and the size of the operation, and can also be required to post performance and payment bonds at half of contract value.
Nevada's board does not publish a fixed review turnaround the way Georgia publishes 20 business days. The only guidance on the board's own FAQ concerns acknowledgment of receipt: wait one business day after hand delivery or courier delivery, or five business days after mailing, before following up on whether an application arrived. Beyond that, the process runs through application review, an exam eligibility letter once experience is verified, scheduling and passing both exams, verification of bonding and workers compensation coverage, and finally mailed wall and pocket license cards. An end to end timeline in business days or weeks is not stated in the board materials reviewed for this page; confirm current processing time with the board directly. The application fee schedule is as follows: 300 dollar application fee; PSI exam fee 95 dollars for one portion or 140 dollars for two portions scheduled together.
Nevada calls its reciprocity path licensure by endorsement, and it is a real path but not automatic. The board's own page requires an applicant to have held an active license, with the same qualified individual, in the endorsing state for the past four years, with no history of investigation, discipline, revocation, suspension, or other sanction in any state, and no pending disciplinary action anywhere. When granted, Nevada waives its own trade exam and the experience certification requirement, but the Nevada Business and Law exam is never waived. The board's own page lists the equivalent states as Alabama, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, New Mexico, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia, each mapped to specific Nevada classifications through an equivalency chart.
Some other guidance describes a similar but not identical list of 11 states with a different standard of five years of active licensure within the last seven years rather than four years continuous; that version has not been confirmed against the board's own page and should not be relied on. Other guidance states Nevada's reciprocity is limited to just three states, Arizona, California, and Utah; this is contradicted directly by the board's own page, which does not include Utah at all. Readers should go with the twelve state list and the four year standard stated directly on the board's own page, and confirm current details with the board directly.
Unlike Georgia or Tennessee, Nevada does not send electrical, plumbing, or HVAC work to a separate board. All of it lives inside the same Nevada State Contractors Board as Class C specialty subclassifications, 42 of them in total, alongside trades like carpentry, painting, and concrete. A Nevada electrical contractor is licensed as a C 2 classification under this same board, not a separate electrical board as in some other states. Detailed scopes for every specialty subclassification live in Nevada Administrative Code chapter 624.
The Nevada State Contractors Board licenses contractors statewide, with offices in Reno and Las Vegas. The board refers to itself as NSCB on its own paperwork, including the letterhead of its Disassociation of a Qualified Individual form, and is also reachable at Nevada State Contractors Board. Nevada has no local or county alternative the way Florida does: every construction contractor in the state, general or specialty, is licensed through this one board.
Official Licensing Authority
All contractor license applications, renewals, and qualifying agent changes must go through this board.
We place a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a full time W-2 employee and prepare the qualifier filing with the Nevada State Contractors Board. Tell us your trade and what you have going on, and pick a time for a discovery call. Or call 615-219-2110.
Provide your information for a compliance assessment.
Contractor licensing and qualifying agent guides from The Licensing Company.
What a contractor license is, who needs one, and the board, dollar threshold and exams in every state.
Learn the definition, role, and legal responsibilities of a qualifying agent.
Get matched with a verified, licensed qualifying agent in your state and trade.
Turn your active contractor license into additional income by qualifying other businesses.
Understand qualifier requirements, the legal process, and how to find one in your state.
What a responsible managing officer and a responsible managing employee are, and how the two differ.