State Guides

Qualifying Agent Requirements by State

Every state licenses the company through a named individual. Find what your state calls that person, what the board requires, and where a qualifying agent fits.

Looking for the license itself rather than the qualifier? Contractor license requirements in every state carries the board, the dollar threshold, the experience, the fees and the time to license for all fifty states, checked against each board.

Qualifying agent rules by state

The table shows what each state calls the individual who qualifies a company, how long a company has to replace one who leaves, how many companies one person may qualify at once, and whether the NASCLA commercial exam is accepted. Each line was checked against the state board on the date shown.

Pick your state above to see its details, or show all 50 states.

StateWhat the state calls the qualifierTime to replace a qualifierCompanies one qualifier may qualifyNASCLA exam acceptedChecked
AlabamaQualifying party (ALBGC); qualifying representative (HBLB)ALBGC: notify board in writing within 30 days, new qualifying party qualified within 60 days of disassociation. HBLB: notify immediately, name a new qualifying representative within 45 days, 100 dollar change feeALBGC: one company unless the qualifying party is a majority owner (50 percent or more) of each additional entity. HBLB: no cap statedPartial (NASCLA satisfies the trade exam portion of the ALBGC commercial license; the Business and Law exam is still required)August 14, 2026
AlaskaNone for the base General Contractor registration; Residential Contractor Endorsement holder for residential work; Electrical Administrator or Mechanical Administrator for those tradesResidential endorsement: no hard deadline, endorsement reissued as unassigned. Electrical or mechanical administrator: registration becomes void 30 days after the next regularly scheduled administrator exam unless a new administrator is hiredResidential endorsement: no more than two general contractors at a time. Electrical and mechanical administrators: one contractor at a timeNoAugust 31, 2026
ArizonaQualifying partyBoth licensee and qualifying party notify the Registrar in writing within 15 days; requalify within 60 days of the disassociation date or the license is automatically suspendedOne licensee; one additional licensee only with at least 25 percent common ownership or a subsidiary relationshipPartial (accepted for the B 1 and B 2 general commercial and KB 1 and KB 2 dual classifications only, not the residential B classification; replaces the trade exam only, the Business Management or Statutes and Rules exam is still required)August 25, 2026
ArkansasQualifying partyWritten notice to the ACLB within 15 business days; replacement qualifier fully qualified within 30 days of the departing qualifier's last day or the license becomes invalidNot stated; neither the Administrative Code nor the board's Qualifier Change form addresses a capPartial (accepted toward the Commercial license; secondary sources say it substitutes for both the trade exam and the Business and Law exam, but the board's own materials are silent on scope)August 9, 2026
CaliforniaResponsible Managing Officer (RMO) if an owner, partner, officer, or member; Responsible Managing Employee (RME) if a bona fide employee with no ownership stakeReplace within 90 days of the disassociation date or the license (or that classification) is automatically suspended; one 90 day written extension allowed, so 180 days outside limitRME: one active license only. RMO: up to three firms in any one year period, and only with at least 20 percent common ownership, a subsidiary or joint venture relationship, or the same majority of partners, officers, or managersPartial (only waives the Class B General Building trade exam for someone who already held an out of state general building license in good standing for the previous five years; no other classification; Law and Business exam still required)August 7, 2026
ColoradoAt the state level: responsible individual (Master Electrician or Master Plumber), trades only; Colorado has no statewide general contractor qualifier. At the city level: Denver requires a contractor license applicant to hold a Denver supervisor certificate, employ a supervisor certificate holder, or hold a Colorado electrical or plumbing license; Aurora licenses a supervisor for its contractor classes and requires the license holder to notify the city within five business days after the supervisor's termination or change of status.Twenty days to hire a replacement Master Electrician or Master Plumber, then the registration goes inactiveOne company at a time for both Master Electrician and Master PlumberNoAugust 8, 2026
ConnecticutContractor of record (licensed individual, trades only); no company license or qualifying agentNo published deadline found; business cannot pull permits or sign trade contracts until a licensed individual is again on file as contractor of recordHome improvement: Connecticut registers the business entity itself, and the entity files a designation of the registered individuals who direct or supervise its home improvements; the statute states no limit on how many businesses one individual may serve. Licensed trades such as electrical, plumbing and HVAC: no company license; state law on residential invoices names a licensed contractor of record for the business, who is liable for the work of individuals performing work on the contractor's behalfNoAugust 23, 2026
DelawareNo confirmed qualifying agent; trade boards license individuals only (Master Electrician, Master Plumber, Master HVACR)None found; no qualifying agent company license confirmedNo company license in any trade. Plumbing and HVACR: state law defines supervision as control and oversight by a master licensee who is an owner or full time employee of the entity providing services, and lets apprentices, journeymen and mechanics work under a master who is their employer or is employed full time by the same business entity; the statute states no limit on how many entities one master may serve. Electrical: no company level mechanism or limit confirmed on official board pagesNoAugust 6, 2026
FloridaQualifying agent (qualifying individual)60 days under Florida Statute 489.119; on a qualifier's death the board must be notified within 30 daysNo hard numeric cap; mandatory board appearance if the qualifier owns less than 20 percent of the additional business or would be on three or more businesses at oncePartial (NASCLA replaces Contract Administration and Project Management only; Business and Finance exam and a Florida Building Code attestation still required; Certified General, Building and Residential only, which is the Construction Industry Licensing Board). Electrical is a separate board (Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board): it recognizes the NASCLA Residential Electrical exam only for endorsement of an applicant who already holds a license in another jurisdiction, in place of the Florida Residential Specialty technical exam, and the Florida Business exam is still required; there is no NASCLA route for a first time applicant or for the Unlimited electrical contractor, whose only acceptable exam is the Florida examAugust 4, 2026
GeorgiaQualifying agent180 days after the sole qualifying agent's disaffiliation (O.C.G.A. 43-41-9(e)(1) as amended by SB 503, effective July 1, 2024); owner or officer notice to the board within 45 days (Rule 553-11-.02)General Contractor (State Licensing Board for Residential and Commercial General Contractors): no numeric cap was found, and a qualifying agent may serve more than one business organization at once, provided each business independently meets the licensure criteria including its own financial and insurance filings. Electrical, plumbing and conditioned air (State Construction Industry Licensing Board): one company at a time, because Rule 121-6-.01 says the qualifying licensee may not qualify more than one proprietorship, partnership, or corporation for business registration at any one timeYesJuly 14, 2026
HawaiiResponsible Managing Employee (RME); the RME sits the exam and carries the personal qualificationDeparting RME must notify the Board within 60 days and within 90 days join another licensed entity, become its own licensed entity, or go inactive, or the license is automatically forfeitedOne RME per entity unless the Board approves dual status under one of four tests: 51% common ownership, subsidiary or joint venture, or an immediate family relationshipNoAugust 13, 2026
IdahoQualified Individual (Public Works license only); basic registration has no qualifierLicense remains in force 90 days from the date of written notice that the Qualified Individual leftNo cap found in the rule text or DOPL FAQ; an open question for DOPLPartial (Idaho Electrical Board appears on the NASCLA Electrical Exam list; not accepted for the Public Works Contractor license or basic registration)August 11, 2026
IllinoisQualifying party (roofing, licensed through IDFPR)Roofing: both parties notify IDFPR within 30 business days; the license goes inoperative immediately; the licensee has 60 days from the date of its notice to name and register a replacement qualifying partyRoofing: one licensee per qualifying party unless at least 25 percent ownership or management interest in each entity, or a licensee and its licensed subsidiary; plumbing: the Illinois Plumbing License Law sets no numeric cap, but the IDPH plumbing contractor registration form says the Department will not allow a plumber to be the Plumber of Record for more than one company at one time, and the Plumber of Record must be the sole owner, a partner, an officer or a manager or member of that companyNoAugust 10, 2026
IndianaState plumbing: an officer or employee holding a valid plumbing contractor license, designated in the application and named in the corporation's licenseNot statedState plumbing cap not published. Indianapolis electrical: after December 31, 1986, a person may not be the sole licensed partner, officer or employee for more than one partnership or corporation (Revised Code Sec. 875-215(1)). Indianapolis heating and cooling: Article III of Chapter 875 has no one company sentence; the license holder may use the license only as agent of the licensed partnership or corporation (Sec. 875-312), a company receives one license of each type (Sec. 875-314), and no license may be assigned or transferred (Sec. 875-319)NoAugust 5, 2026
IowaMaster of record (PMSB trades: plumbing, mechanical, HVAC refrigeration, sheet metal, hydronic); no qualifier for general registrationPMSB: contractor may keep operating up to six months without a new master of record only if the board is notified within thirty days; electrical: no published deadline foundPMSB: a master may be the master of record for only one contractor per discipline at a time without prior board approvalNoAugust 26, 2026
KansasNamed qualifying individual on each local license (an owner or full time employee); Kansas has no statewide general contractor qualifierNot published by Johnson County, Sedgwick County, or Topeka. Confirm directly with each department.Sedgwick County and Wichita (MABCD): the Unified Building and Trade Code limits a Qualified Master or Qualified Person to one licensed contractor enterprise. Electrical states no exception; plumbing allows more only with approval of the MABCD Director and the Board; mechanical allows more only with approval of the MABCD Director. For general contractor Classes A to D the contractor licensing article states no limit, and MABCD Form 7 asks whether the Qualified Person has been listed as the Qualified Person for any other company and to list them, so confirm with MABCD. Each program requires a named qualifying individual (owner or full time employee). Johnson County and Topeka: not published locally; confirm with each department.NoAugust 12, 2026
KentuckyDesignated master license holder on the company trade license (master electrician, master plumber, or master HVAC contractor); no general contractor qualifierElectrical: 30 days to pass a replacement exam or the license stops being valid. Plumbing and HVAC: 180 days only when the master dies (notify within 10 days); no stated day count for a voluntary departure, notify DHBC immediately.No numbered cap found in any source. Confirm with DHBC before relying on any limit.NoAugust 15, 2026
LouisianaQualifying party (La. R.S. 37:2156.1: the applicant designates a qualifying party who is the contractor's legal representative before the board)Notify the board in writing within 30 days of disassociation; new qualifying party qualified and approved within 60 days of the disassociation date.No numeric cap. An owner may qualify any company they own; an employee may qualify the licensed company and its related entities. No limit on qualifying parties per company.YesSeptember 1, 2026
MaineNone; Maine licenses the individual tradesperson (master electrician, master plumber), not the companyNo statutory replacement deadline published; confirm with the relevant board.No cap found. Maine licenses the individual, not the company; there is no company level electrical or plumbing license (former Title 32 section 1202-A repealed 2023) and no formal qualifier of record filing.NoAugust 18, 2026
MarylandMHIC qualifying individual (a sole proprietor, partner, officer, or full time employee who holds the MHIC license); trades use a master electrician, master plumber, or master HVACR license holderNotify MHIC within 10 days of the change by certified mail. Late notice is a civil citation: 500 dollars first violation, 1,000 dollars second or subsequent. No stated deadline to seat a replacement.No cap in COMAR 09.08.01.04, which is silent on exclusivity. Qualifier must be the sole proprietor, a partner, an officer, or a full time employee of that business; an outside qualifier is not allowed. Confirm with MHIC before relying on more than one.NoAugust 17, 2026
MassachusettsNone for general contracting (CSL is a personal credential); electrical uses Licensee of Record (LOR); plumbing uses licensee on recordNone for general contracting; electrical LOR: notify the Board within 15 days, license stays valid up to 60 days; plumbing: replacement application within 15 days, business may operate up to 60 daysNo cap for a CSL holder (concept does not exist); electrical LOR up to 2 companies, a 3rd or more requires a Board petition; plumbing rule text states no numeric capNoAugust 30, 2026
MichiganQualifying officerLicense suspended immediately when the qualifying officer leaves; no fixed window; LARA may on request allow a reasonable time; outgoing qualifier must notify LARA in writing within 10 daysNo numeric cap written in statute; confirm with LARA before relying on more than oneNoAugust 21, 2026
MinnesotaQualifying person120 days to designate and get DLI approval on a replacement; written notice to DLI within 15 days of the change (electrical, elevator and high pressure piping get 30 days)More than one corporation or LLC only if the licensed companies share common ownership of at least 25 percent among themselves; unrelated client companies not allowedNoAugust 16, 2026
MississippiQualifying party (owner, officer or responsible managing employee with W2 or pay stub proof)Notify MSBOC in writing immediately; 90 days from disassociation to file a replacement or face a show cause hearingUp to three separate entities; a fourth requires appearing before the Board for special permissionYes (NASCLA Commercial General Building replaces the Building Construction trade exam and NASCLA Electrical replaces the Master Electrical trade exam; the Mississippi Law and Business Management exam is still required)August 19, 2026
MissouriKansas City: designated supervisor (full time qualified supervisor per licensed trade); statewide electrical: the licensed electrical contractor who represents the firmNo fixed statutory notice or replacement window found; the seat is effectively vacant immediately; no deadline is publishedOne company at a time (statewide electrical by statute; Kansas City designated supervisor by ordinance)Partial (not applicable for general contracting since there is no state license; yes for electrical, OSEC is a NASCLA Electrical Exams participating agency)August 24, 2026
MontanaNone; Montana has no qualifying individual model for the general construction contractor license, only officers, managers, or members listed on the application for a background check style reviewNot applicable; Montana has no qualifying individual system behind the construction contractor licenseElectrical: Montana licenses electrical contractor companies, and each company names a Montana licensed master (unlimited electrical contractor) or journeyman (limited electrical contractor, residential work under five living units in one structure) as its responsible electrician, who must work full time for the contractor; one master may be named responsible electrician for only one unlimited electrical contractor, and one journeyman for only one electrical contractor. The general Construction Contractor License has no qualifier.NoAugust 22, 2026
NebraskaNone at the state level (a business simply registers itself); Omaha requires one licensed person per company, and the State Electrical Division requires a designated licensed master electrician or contractor for each electrical contracting businessNot published by the State of Nebraska for contractor registration. In Omaha, the building contractor ordinance lets the city issue a temporary license for up to 12 months when the license holder is incapacitated or separates from employment (an extension is possible only through the Building Board of Review) (Sec. 43-286); the air conditioning ordinance lets the board certify a temporary master license, valid up to six months, when the master leaves through termination of employment or death (Sec. 40-33(d)); and the plumbing ordinance lets designated persons, such as a licensed journeyman with at least four years holding a license, hold a temporary license for no longer than one year after the death or resignation of a license holder. Omaha's electrician sections (Secs. 44-51 to 44-64) set no temporary license. The only state rule found is six months to continue an electrical contracting business after the death of the licensed contractor or master electrician (NRS 81 2119), which does not cover a voluntary departure.Omaha: a master plumber, water conditioning contractor or lawn sprinkler contractor license (Sec. 49-210) and an electrical contractor or master electrician license (Sec. 44-52(b)) are valid for one company for whom the license holder is a full time employee, and a master air conditioning and air distribution license is issued on behalf of one firm or corporation (Sec. 40-33(b)); in each case the holder may also use the license for another company he or she owns 50 percent or more of. Omaha building contractors need an executive officer or designated full time employee to hold the license (Sec. 43-272(b)), and that article sets no one company limit. Elsewhere in Nebraska no company limit was confirmed; check with the city or countyPartial (NASCLA accredited electrical exams only, for Electrical Contractor and Master Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, and Residential Electrical Contractor, taken through the Nebraska State Electrical Division with exam dates after August 1, 2025; the general commercial building NASCLA exam is not accepted and Nebraska is not on that list)September 4, 2026
NevadaQualified individual (also called qualifying party); may be an owner, officer, member, manager, or employee who is regularly employed by the licensee and actively engaged in the classification10 days to notify the board of a disassociation or the license is automatically suspended; 30 days from disassociation to have a board approved replacement or the license is subject to suspensionMore than one active license only if one of these applies (NRS 624.260): the qualifying person owns at least 25 percent of each licensee the person qualifies for; or one licensee owns at least 25 percent of the other licensee; or one licensee is a corporation for public benefit. The Board's qualifying party FAQ adds that a qualifying person who holds a sole proprietor license may qualify for one additional license without meeting the ownership requirements.Yes (trade exam waived for the B General Building and B 2 Residential and Small Commercial classifications only; the Nevada Business and Law exam is never waived; not accepted for the electrical classification)August 27, 2026
New HampshireNo named term; electrical requires a licensed master electrician who is an officer or employee directly in charge of the business (or a partner); plumbing and fuel gas require an officer, partner, manager, or designee holding an active master plumber or fuel gas license directly in charge of the business affairsElectrical: the company license is void immediately on the death or severance of the master electrician, no grace period in the statute; plumbing and fuel gas: 30 days to notify the Board, and the business cannot act in the trade until another licensed officer, member, or designee is in placeNo cap in the statute for electrical or for plumbing and fuel gasNoAugust 20, 2026
New JerseyNone at the general contractor level (business registrations only); electrical uses a qualifier for the business permit (the licensed contractor personally or an officer, partner, or employee holding the license); HVACR uses a bona fide representative who must hold at least one percent equity; plumbing requires the master plumber to personally hold at least 10 percent ownershipPlumbing: a licensed master plumber who becomes a bona fide representative must register with the Board within 30 days of assuming the role. If a bona fide representative withdraws, the business may operate for 60 days without one if a licensee supervises all work and the Board is notified within 10 days of the withdrawal and within 10 days of the supervising licensee's appointment; if the representative cannot serve because of death, illness or disability, the period is six months on the same conditions with a licensed master plumber supervising. Electrical: no day count for naming a replacement was found; the departing qualifier must immediately return the board's official seal.Electrical: one business permit at a time; plumbing and HVACR: not publishedNoJuly 14, 2026
New MexicoQualifying Party (QP)No grace period; license automatically cancelled the moment it lacks an active QP; written notice to CID within 30 days; permitted work in progress may continue up to 120 daysOne company unless there is at least thirty percent common ownership among the qualified entities (joint ventures excepted)Partial (waiver of the trade exam only, and only for GB-98 and EE-98; applicant must have held an active license in another state on those scores for at least one year)August 28, 2026
New YorkNo statewide qualifying agent; NYC trades use a responsible representative (Master Electrician) or a licensed master plumber holding at least 51 percent ownership (Master Plumber)NYC Master Electrician: notify within 30 days; business approval automatically revoked when the responsible representative leaves, no stated grace period; Master Plumber replacement rule not foundNot confirmed whether one master plumber or master electrician can serve more than one NYC companyNoJuly 14, 2026
North CarolinaQualifier (responsible managing employee, owner, officer, or LLC member who passed the exam, engaged at least 20 hours a week)Written notice within 10 days; license stays valid 90 days from termination then automatically invalid; no bidding or new contracts from day one until reinstatedTwo licenses at a timeYes (Building and Residential classifications; NASCLA pass must be within the past 2 years)September 3, 2026
North DakotaNo qualifier concept for the general contractor license; license issued to the business on a sworn statement of experience; electrical trade uses a Contracting Master or Master of RecordNot applicable; no license holder attached to the general contractor license whose departure triggers a replacement clockNot applicable for the general contractor license; electrical master, Class B, or power limited electrician may exercise the license for no more than one shop or business at a timeNoSeptember 5, 2026
OhioOCILB licensee whose license and insurance are assigned to a single named contracting company; not a qualifier of record modelNotify the board immediately; license assignment becomes invalid 90 calendar days after the licensee's last day, or sooner by agreement between company and licenseeOne company per trade at a time; cannot assign another license for the same trade to a different company until the original assignment becomes invalidNoAugust 29, 2026
OklahomaNot statedNo CIB published replacement rule found; a 30 day figure that circulates online is not attributed to the CIBElectrical: an electrical contractor may represent only one electrical firm, and must be an officer, partner or owner of that firm. Mechanical: a mechanical contractor may be associated with and responsible for only one mechanical firm, though one firm with branch offices is allowed. Plumbing: no one firm limit found in the CIB plumbing rulesNoSeptember 2, 2026
OregonResponsible Managing Individual (RMI)Immediate replacement or temporary RMI; written notice to CCB within 3 calendar days; permanent RMI within 14 days of that notice or the license is suspendedNon owner RMI may qualify only one licensee; owners have no cap; controlling interest percentage not publishedPartial (NASCLA passage waives only the 16 hour pre license training; the Oregon business and law exam is still required)July 14, 2026
PennsylvaniaNone; no qualifying individual concept at the state levelNot applicable; no state qualifier or replacement clockNot applicable at state level; Philadelphia supervisor may be employed by only one company at a timeNoJuly 14, 2026
Rhode IslandNone for general contractor registration (registration attaches to the business or the individual contractor directly, with no qualifying individual role). The Department of Labor and Training trades do have a qualifier: a plumbing contractor must have a licensed master plumber who is an officer or similarly authorized principal and continuously supervises its work, or continuously employ a licensed master plumber; mechanical contractors (pipefitter, refrigeration and air conditioning, fire protection sprinkler, sheet metal) follow the same structure under chapter 28-27; an electrical contractor certificate names the person, a member of the firm or an officer of the corporation, who passed the examination.Not applicable to general contractor registration, since there is no qualifying individual to replace. Plumbing and mechanical contractors: written notice to the state within 14 days after the licensed master stops being an officer or principal or stops being continuously employed, and written notice naming the replacement master within 45 days after that date. Electrical: no day count found in RIGL 5-6-8.General contractor registration: not applicable, no qualifier concept and no published limit. Plumbing and mechanical contractors: a licensed master serves one such entity and only one such entity at any given time. Electrical: no limit found in RIGL 5-6-8.NoJuly 14, 2026
South CarolinaPrimary Qualifying Party (PQP)15 days to notify the department; license stays valid 90 days; suspended if no replacement PQP certified within 90 daysOne licensee per qualifying party; narrow exception under Section 40 11 230(C) for two entities at the same location with daily involvement, livelihood from both, and at least fifty percent ownership in oneYes (CLB toward Unlimited Building; Residential Builders Commission as technical exam waiver if passed within 3 years; SC Business Management and Law exam still required)July 14, 2026
South DakotaNo qualifier term; an entity may hold the electrical contractor license directly with an officer or manager submitting the experience evidence; plumbing contractor is defined as a personNone stated in the electrical statute or rules; no replacement deadline in days exists for a departing qualifying personNo cap stated in statute or rules on how many businesses one electrical contractor or Class B electrician may be tied toNoJuly 14, 2026
TennesseeQualifying Agent (QA): owner, officer, or full time employee who takes the exams; a non owner QA files a notarized Power of Attorney; the license belongs to the entity ownerNotify the Board within 10 days; three months (about 90 days) to designate a replacement QA who passes the exams or the classification becomes invalid; company may keep working on existing jobs during the windowUp to 2 licenses, and only if the QA is majority owner of one of them; a third license triggers a Board interview; in practice an employed qualifying agent qualifies one companyYes (trade exam substitute only, most directly for BC B Commercial; Tennessee Business and Law exam and full application still required)July 14, 2026
TexasNo GC qualifier. Electrical: licensed Master Electrician employed by or owning the Electrical Contractor. Plumbing: Responsible Master Plumber (RMP)Not statedOne company at a time. A Master Electrician may be designated master on only one Electrical Contractor license (exception: owns more than 50 percent of the business); an RMP may be RMP of record for only one company at a timeNoJuly 14, 2026
UtahQualifier; must be paid for at least 12 hours per week (or 20 percent of operating hours if the company runs under 50 hours a week); owner qualifiers hold at least 20 percent, officers or managers take W2 wagesQualifier and licensee notify DOPL in writing within 10 days of the qualifier's last day; 60 days from that notice to replace the qualifier or the license risks revocationUp to three licensees at any one time; a fourth requires showing material authority over the additional businesses and getting Division and Commission approval firstPartial (Utah is a NASCLA participating agency; a passing score satisfies the two year experience requirement for general classifications only and does not waive the Utah Business and Law exam)July 14, 2026
VermontNo qualifying individual system for general or residential work; an electrical business must have a master electrician (owner, officer, or employee) associated with the workNot applicable to general or residential contracting; no replacement or grace period rule found for electrical or plumbing mastersNot statedNoJuly 14, 2026
VirginiaQualified individual (the firm also names a designated employee who carries the business and law exam credit at Class A and B)60 days to report a change of qualified individual; 120 days to report a change of designated employee (18VAC50 22 220)No explicit cap found on an official DPOR page; the regulation says of the firm, singular, and read it as one firm per qualified individualPartial (NASCLA lists the Virginia Board for Contractors as accepting the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors as of January 1, 2016, comparable to the Virginia Commercial Building classification; the Board's license application says that for a Commercial Building (CBC) or Commercial Improvement (CIC) filing the NASCLA exam is equivalent but the applicant must still provide compatible experience; nothing the Board or NASCLA publishes extends it to the Residential Building (RBC) classification; the Class A and Class B designated employee business exams through PSI are separate and still required)July 14, 2026
WashingtonNone for general or specialty contractor registration (registration is issued to the business entity); electrical contractors need a certified electrical administrator or master electrician, plumbing contractors a designated plumberNo qualifier to replace for general or specialty registration; electrical contractor license becomes void within 90 days without a replacement administrator or master electrician, 180 days if that person dies or is incapacitated (RCW 19.28.061); no day count confirmed for a designated plumberNo cap at the general contractor registration level (no qualifier exists); an electrical administrator or master electrician may serve only one electrical contractor at a time; plumbing: L&I's plumbing contractor application says only one designated plumber can be assigned to the business at a time and that you must have a different designated plumber for each company, and the designated plumber must be a full time employee or member of the firmNoJuly 14, 2026
West VirginiaQualifier (the license is held by a person on behalf of a business entity); must be responsible management or a full time employee working at least 30 hours a week for that firmNo published day count; the company notifies the board in writing and submits the new qualifier's exam score report, proof of employment and a QESA formOne business entity at a time per license holder (WV Code 30 42 7); a company may have several qualifiers, typically one per classification, and backup qualifiers are not allowedPartial (NASCLA Commercial General Building exam credits the trade exam for the General Building classification WV001 since 2013, and the NASCLA Electrical exam credits the Electrical classification since 2020; the Contractor Licensing Act exam through Prov is still required; not accepted for any other classification)July 14, 2026
WisconsinDwelling Contractor Qualifier (individual credential paired with the business's Dwelling Contractor certification)No fixed day count in the rule text; the business cannot pull new building permits for any period it has no actively employed certified QualifierNo numeric cap stated in the rule text; the Qualifier must be engaged as an employee, owner or officer of the specific business at the time it pulls a permitNoJuly 14, 2026
WyomingQualified supervisor (local licenses), master for plumbing and mechanical trades, master of record for a state Electrical Contractor licenseCheyenne: a contractor that loses its qualified supervisor or master must notify the Building Official in writing within three working days and has up to 30 calendar days to register a new one; if none is employed within 30 days the license is subject to suspension or revocation, and the Building Official may grant one extra 30 calendar day extension for extreme extenuating circumstances, totaling 60 days. During relief the company may not apply for new permits until it has met with the Board and gained approved licensure or provided an approved equivalent replacement. Casper and Jackson pages did not address it; no grace period found for an electrical master of record.Cheyenne: one contractor at a time, except an individual who wholly owns several entities may represent all of them; state electrical master of record: one company only; Casper and Jackson not statedNoJuly 14, 2026

Each line was checked against the state board’s published requirements on the date shown. Not stated means the board material we reviewed did not state it, so we do not guess. Boards change rules; confirm the current figure with the board before you file. Most recent check: September 5, 2026.

Don't See Your State?

We provide qualifying agent services nationwide. Contact us to discuss your specific jurisdiction requirements.

Get My Company Qualified