Back to Resource Center
State Guides

Indiana HVAC License: There Isn't One. Here's What Each City Actually Requires (2026)

Updated September 29, 2026
•The Licensing Company

Indiana issues no state HVAC license. Coverage comes from Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Evansville, and South Bend, each with its own exam, bond, and fees.

There is no Indiana HVAC license. Not a hard one, not an easy one, not a restricted one. The state of Indiana does not license heating, ventilation, air conditioning, mechanical, or refrigeration contractors at all.

At a glance

  • State license: There is no Indiana HVAC license.
  • Who issues it: Each city or county you work in, separately, on that jurisdiction's terms.
  • Indianapolis: Five years of experience, a Prov, Inc. exam (70% to pass), and a $5,000 bond.
  • Evansville bond: $25,000, five times the Indianapolis bond.
  • State obligations: A state mechanical code and, on commercial work, a state design release.

The City of Indianapolis says so in its own official exam packet, in one sentence: "Licensing is at the discretion of the local municipality in the state of Indiana. There is not a state heating and cooling license."

The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's full profession list confirms it from the other direction. By its own description, IPLA licenses and regulates 40 different professions and more than 200 unique license types, everything from accountants and architects to funeral directors and veterinarians. From the construction trades it licenses exactly one at the state level: plumbing. There is no HVAC entry, no mechanical entry, no refrigeration entry, and no state mechanical licensing board.

So what does an Indiana HVAC contractor actually have to do? Get licensed by each city or county you work in, separately, on that jurisdiction's terms, with that jurisdiction's exam, bond, insurance, and board. Meanwhile you still have to satisfy a state mechanical code and, on commercial work, a state design release.

This guide covers what that actually looks like in the four jurisdictions that matter most, corrects a set of specific numbers that page-one results are currently getting wrong, and adds detail on Allen County and South Bend that most guides skip entirely.

All fees, bonds, and insurance minimums below are set by the issuing municipality and are subject to change. Verify with the licensing office before you apply.

New to licensing in Indiana? Start with the Indiana contractor license requirements.

Why Indiana Splits This Way

The asymmetry is not an accident of practice. It is written into the statute, and understanding it explains everything else.

Plumbing has a state licensing chapter, Indiana Code 25-28.5-1. Inside that chapter sits Section 33, which provides that "no political subdivision shall require any licensee under this chapter to submit to any other form of licensing." A city may require a state-licensed plumbing contractor to register and may charge a reasonable fee for it, but it may not impose its own plumbing license, exam, or board.

There is no HVAC equivalent, and structurally there cannot be one. That preemption clause protects "licensee[s] under this chapter." Since Indiana has no HVAC licensing chapter in Title 25 at all, there is no chapter for an HVAC preemption clause to attach to and no state licensees for it to protect.

The result inside a single mechanical company: your plumbing side holds one state license good in all 92 counties and merely registers locally. Your HVAC side licenses from scratch in every city it enters. Same company, same trucks, two completely different regulatory worlds. The state side of that story is in the Indiana plumbing license guide.

As of September 2026 no bill creating a state HVAC license has been enacted, and Indiana Code Title 25 contains no HVAC article.

Indianapolis and Marion County

Indianapolis is the largest and most demanding Indiana HVAC jurisdiction, and it is where most of the bad information online originates.

Who issues it: the City of Indianapolis Department of Business and Neighborhood Services (DBNS), Contractor Licensing, 200 E. Washington St., Suite 107, Indianapolis, IN 46204. Applications go before the Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners, which meets the second Monday of each month. The governing law is the Revised Code of the Consolidated City and County, Chapter 875, Article III (Section 875-301). The city license does not cover the excluded cities of Lawrence, Beech Grove, Speedway, and Southport, which sit inside Marion County but outside DBNS licensing.

You need two licenses, not one. A Company or Business License in the HVAC category, and a Craft License Holder license. Every business must have at least one craft license holder tied to it. That structure is the local mirror of the qualifier requirement Indiana writes into statute on the plumbing side, and it produces the same practical outcome: a company cannot operate on paperwork alone, it needs a qualified individual attached to it.

License classes:

  • Air Conditioning "A", unrestricted
  • Air Conditioning "B", up to 25 tons cooling / 500,000 BTUs heating; boilers not exceeding 15 psig steam and 30 psig water
  • Air Conditioning "D", up to 5 tons cooling / 300,000 BTUs heating
  • Refrigeration
  • High Pressure Steam

Experience: five years in the HVACR trade, verified by current and former employers on original letterhead showing start and end dates and job duties. The Board will accept a combination of industry-related education and practical work experience. You also submit a resume, three signed industry reference letters on company letterhead, a copy of your EPA certification card, and a copy of your driver's license.

You have to show up. The packet is due to the Board ten business days before the meeting, and the applicant must appear in person for an interview before being approved to test. This is not a mail-in license.

Exam: Prov, Inc., 70% to pass. Score 60 to 69 and you may retest once without reappearing before the Board. Below 60 and you must reappear with documented improvement. After a second failure there is a one-year wait.

EPA 608 is tied to the class you are seeking: Universal for "A" and for Refrigeration, Type I and Type II for "B" and "D", none for High Pressure Steam.

Bond: $5,000 surety, obligee "Consolidated City of Indianapolis and/or an Unknown Third Party." It must be typewritten and must carry a fixed expiration date. Continuous bonds are rejected.

Insurance: $500,000 per occurrence for death or bodily injury AND $100,000 per occurrence for property damage, or $500,000 per occurrence combined single limit covering both. Either the Consolidated City of Indianapolis and Marion County or DBNS must be named as Additional Insured and as Certificate Holder, with a minimum 15 days' notice of cancellation. Workers' compensation is required for employees; sole proprietorships, partnerships, and LLCs with no employees may sign a waiver, while corporations including Sub-S must carry it or file a state exemption certificate clearance waiver.

Fees, prorated by when in the cycle you apply:

Fee typeJan to Jun 2026Jul to Dec 20262027
New License Holder$377$283$189
New Business License$247$185$124

Business renewal $247, license holder renewal $247, additional authorized agent beyond five $63 each. Business license fees are not assessed for sole proprietorships.

Renewal: every two years, expiring December 31 of odd-numbered years. Not annually.

Scope trigger, verbatim from the city packet: a license is required to "install, modernize, replace, service or repair all or any part of a heating system, space heating equipment, a cooling system, space cooling equipment, refrigeration equipment, or installation of ductwork for an exhaust hood greater than four (4) square feet in a Class 2 structure and installation of duct work for an exhaust hood in any Class 1 structure."

Where the exam prep and code books come from. The Board's own HVAC Exam Information packet lists sources for reference material, code books, and refresher courses: D. J. Ivy Tech State College's HVAC-R/Industrial and Energy Technology program, the Prov Bookstore (provexam.com/bookstore), the ICC Bookstore, The Architectural Center Bookstore, and Builders Book Depot. The same packet's Board policies also state that selling a license or lack of supervision will not be tolerated, with suspension of up to 180 days or revocation.

Four Indianapolis Numbers Currently Published Wrong

These are worth stating plainly because they appear on page one and they will cost you a rejected application or a failed exam registration.

"Two years of experience." Wrong. The Board's own packet requires five.

"Prometric exam." Wrong vendor. Indianapolis uses Prov, Inc. Prometric appears in the Indianapolis rules only in the reciprocity context, as one of the accepted national vendors for an exam passed in another jurisdiction. The 70% passing score that usually accompanies this claim is correct.

"$300,000 general liability." Wrong. Indianapolis requires $500,000/$100,000 or a $500,000 combined single limit. A flat "$500,000" is also incomplete, because it omits the property damage leg.

"Renews annually," and a fee table of $200 application / $220 exam / $200 initial / $200 renewal. Wrong and wrong. The cycle is two years, and no $200 fee of any kind exists in the Indianapolis schedule.

One widely circulated "verified" HVAC requirements page for Indiana lists its own primary sources at the bottom: the IPLA Plumbing Commission, Indiana Code Title 25 Article 28.5 (Plumbers), 675 IAC 16 the Indiana Plumbing Code, and a PSI Indiana Plumbing Examination Bulletin. Every source is a plumbing source. The page is a template with the trade name swapped, which is exactly how a state with no HVAC license ends up with a detailed fake HVAC licensing page.

Fort Wayne and Allen County

Who issues it: the Allen County Building Department, 200 E. Berry Street, Suite 180, Fort Wayne, IN 46802. Main line (260) 449-7131; the department's staff directory, including its licensing desk, is at allencounty.in.gov.

Licenses: Heating, Ventilating, Air Conditioning, and Duct Systems, under Section F of the Building Department's Rules and Regulations (Nineteenth Edition, effective September 6, 2024): a Journeyman license, a Supervisor license in Air Conditioning A (no BTU limit), Air Conditioning B (500,000 BTU heating and 25 tons cooling or less), or Sheet Metal, and a Contractor Business Registration for the company. Apprentices register but are not licensed. Hydronics and refrigeration systems held below 60 degrees F belong to the separate Non-Sanitary Piping license.

Experience for the journeyman card: four years and 7,000 hours as a registered apprentice, working under the direct supervision of a Supervisor or Journeyman licensee who is present on the job. Approved, documented apprentice schooling can count for 1,000 hours, which lets an apprentice test at three years and 6,000 hours. The Supervisor license requires four years and 7,000 hours as a Journeyman for an HVAC contractor, in the same line of work. Both figures come from Section F of the county's Rules and Regulations; the Fort Wayne Area Plumbing Heating Cooling Contractors Association's step-by-step guide describes the same four-year apprentice path and a 70% passing score on the Prometric or ICC journeyman test.

How you get to the exam: you must either reciprocate an existing license or be sponsored by Allen County to test at an approved third-party facility. The sponsorship fee is $25, payable by check or money order only, made out to the Allen County Building Department. Once the Department approves your sponsorship, it sends the exam scheduling information and the list of permitted reference material. The county's own exam application offers the ICC HVAC journeyman and master exams on either 2015 or 2018 code editions.

Reference materials the trade association's guide lists as currently permitted into the testing facility for the HVAC exam: the 2015 International Mechanical Code, the 2015 International Fuel Gas Code, and the 2014 National Electrical Code. Confirm the list with the county when your sponsorship is approved. Exams are open book with a four-hour limit, and testing fees are set by the third-party vendor, not the county.

Annual fees and renewal: Contractor registration $90, Supervisor $25, Journeyman $15, apprentice registration $10. Every Allen County license and registration expires December 31 of each year and renews annually without a new exam.

And here is the detail that tells you everything about how fragmented Indiana is. The Allen County licensing guide published by the local trade association states that the license "must have been acquired through a national exam through ICC or Prometric (not NASCLA, PSI, Prov, etc.)"

Indianapolis uses Prov, and its own reciprocity policy accepts only Prometric or Prov exams, not ICC. Allen County's HVAC exams run through ICC or Prometric and exclude Prov. The two largest HVAC licensing jurisdictions in Indiana do not accept each other's home exams, and the county's only escape valve is the Building Commissioner's discretion under Section H.2 of its Rules. If you hold an Indianapolis craft license and want to work in Fort Wayne, plan on starting over, including the four-year apprentice requirement if you are seeking the journeyman card rather than reciprocating a national ICC or Prometric credential you already hold.

Allen County's Rules and Regulations (Nineteenth Edition, effective September 6, 2024) set the license grades, experience, fees, and renewal, but they state no HVAC bond amount or insurance minimum. Ask the Building Department directly what it requires before you register rather than relying on a third-party summary.

Evansville and Vanderburgh County

Evansville regulates HVAC through Evansville Municipal Code Chapter 5.70, with a parallel county provision at Vanderburgh County Code Chapter 15.36.

Board: Section 5.70.150 establishes a Board of Examiners of HVAC, Steam Fitters, and Refrigeration Installers, nine members, five appointed by the Mayor, three by the County Commissioners, one by City Council, each with at least five years in HVAC, steam fitting, or refrigeration.

License classes: master and journeyman HVAC installer, master and journeyman steam fitter, master and journeyman refrigeration installer.

Experience: four years in the trade before sitting for any master's examination (Section 5.70.060), proven by three notarized letters of recommendation showing four years or 6,200 hours; HVAC letters must be on letterhead and notarized. The four-year requirement does not apply to an Indiana-licensed professional engineer in a related area. Journeyman licenses also require four years of experience (Section 5.70.180).

Bond: $25,000 penal sum payable to the City of Evansville for a master's, contractor's, or sub-contractor's license (Section 5.70.070), which the ordinance says shall be considered a performance bond, with a $500 minimum administration fee on any claim. That is five times the Indianapolis bond.

Insurance: general liability of not less than $1,000,000 for master's and contractor's licenses. Lower tiers of $500,000 and $300,000 exist in Chapter 5.70 but apply to other trade classifications, not HVAC. If you have seen "$300,000 is the Indiana minimum" somewhere, this is where that number was mined from, and it was mined from the wrong row.

Fees: master new $300, master renewal $125, master two-year renewal $225; journeyman new $35, renewal $25; apprentice $25 per year through year five, $35 per year from year six. A $25 late fee applies after January 31 of the license year, and a master or contractor must complete the continuing education program the HVAC board sets in order to renew each year.

Penalties: $500 to $2,500 per violation, each incident a separate offense; a business that fails to hold its certificate of registration faces the same range with each day a separate violation.

Exams are scheduled and paid through Ivy Tech once the board approves the application. Master Mechanical, Sheet Metal, Ventilation, and Refrigeration exams require 75% or higher on each part; most other exams pass at 70%. The Building Commission is at 1 NW Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Civic Center Complex, Room 310, Evansville, IN 47708, (812) 436-7880.

South Bend and St. Joseph County

Contractors and subcontractors register or license through the St. Joseph County / City of South Bend Building Department, 215 S. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Suite 100, South Bend, IN 46601, (574) 235-9554, building@southbendin.gov.

The notable wrinkle: most trades simply register, but electrical and HVAC specifically require an application review, quoted at ten business days, before licensing. The license or registration fee is $125, plus a $50 application review fee for new electrical and HVAC registrations.

Bond: $5,000. The city's own contractor licensing knowledge base lists a $5,000 bond for both HVAC and electrical, and South Bend Municipal Code Section 6-50(e) requires a surety bond payable to the City in the penal sum of $5,000, conditioned on compliance with the Building Code. Registrations under that article run for one year from the effective date of the surety bond. HVAC and electrical applicants also file a full application packet rather than the short pre-licensing form most other trades use.

It Does Not Stop at the Big Four

Goshen licenses Class A and Class B Mechanical Contractors under Ordinance 5258, "Electrical and Mechanical Contractors Licensing and Registration," adopted June 22, 2026, which replaced the earlier Ordinance 5120 framework and sets renewal every three years. Muncie and Richmond are both described in secondary sources as operating their own heating and cooling licensing with bonds, though neither could be confirmed from a city source for this guide, and neither should be planned around until you call them.

The operating assumption for an Indiana HVAC contractor should be that every jurisdiction is licensed until you have confirmed otherwise in writing. There is no state list, because there is no state agency with a reason to keep one.

Jurisdiction Comparison

JurisdictionExperience requiredExam vendorBond
Indianapolis / Marion County5 years HVACRProv, Inc. (70% to pass)$5,000
Allen County / Fort Wayne4 years and 7,000 hours (journeyman); 4 years and 7,000 hours as journeyman (supervisor)ICC or Prometric (not Prov)None stated in 19th Ed. Rules (confirm with county)
Evansville / Vanderburgh County4 years or 6,200 hours (PE waiver for master)Scheduled through Ivy Tech$25,000
South Bend / St. Joseph CountyNot specified; application reviewNot applicable (review, not exam)$5,000
JurisdictionLiability insuranceRenewal
Indianapolis / Marion County$500,000/$100,000 or $500,000 CSLEvery 2 years, odd years
Allen County / Fort WayneNone stated in 19th Ed. Rules (confirm with county)Annual, expires December 31
Evansville / Vanderburgh County$1,000,000 (master/contractor)Annual with continuing education, or 2-year at $225
South Bend / St. Joseph CountyNot specifiedOne-year registration term

What the State Still Requires, License or Not

No HVAC license does not mean no state involvement. Two state obligations apply to mechanical work everywhere in Indiana.

The Indiana Mechanical Code. Under 675 IAC 18-1.6, Indiana's currently effective mechanical code adopts by reference the International Mechanical Code, 2012 Edition, First Printing, effective December 1, 2014. Rules are promulgated by the Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission and administered by the Indiana Department of Homeland Security, Division of Fire and Building Safety.

Note the edition. Indiana is working from the 2012 IMC in 2026, a fourteen-year-old code cycle, and no newer edition has been adopted as of this writing. If you are moving into Indiana from a state on a current cycle, verify assumptions before you design; some of what your last jurisdiction required is not in Indiana's adopted edition, and some of what Indiana still requires has been dropped elsewhere. Note also that Allen County's exam application offers the ICC HVAC exams on 2015 or 2018 code editions, both newer than the state's adopted 2012 code, which is exactly the kind of jurisdiction-by-jurisdiction inconsistency that makes a single Indiana answer impossible.

The Construction Design Release. Under IC 22-15-3 and 675 IAC 12-6, every Class 1 structure, commercial, industrial, multi-family, and accessory structures, requires a Construction Design Release from IDHS before construction unless the work is exempt under 675 IAC 12-6-4, and that includes the mechanical scope. The Class 1 definition sits in IC 22-12-1-4 and is repeated in 675 IAC 12-6-2.

Submission starts a ten-business-day clock for IDHS to issue the release, a notice of incomplete filing, or a notice that the project has been selected for review; a selected project gets a release or a correction request within 20 business days. IDHS also began a self-certification path for qualifying design professionals on July 1, 2026. IDHS plan review can be reached at (317) 232-6422.

So the accurate summary of Indiana HVAC is not "unregulated." It is: no state license to hold, but a state code to meet, a state design release to obtain on commercial work, and a full local license in every city you touch.

EPA Section 608 Is Federal, and It Is Not a License

Anyone who maintains, services, repairs, or disposes of appliances containing ozone-depleting or substitute refrigerants must hold EPA Section 608 certification under Clean Air Act Section 608, implemented at 40 CFR Part 82 Subpart F. The types are Type I (small appliances), Type II (high and very high pressure), Type III (low pressure), and Universal. Certification is issued by EPA-approved certifying organizations, not by any state, and it does not expire.

608 is not an Indiana credential and gives you no authority to contract anywhere in Indiana. But Indianapolis has folded it into its municipal process: the Board requires a copy of your 608 card in the exam packet and will not release an exam voucher or issue a reciprocal license until you hold the correct type for the class you are seeking.

More on that distinction: EPA 608 certification versus an HVAC license.

The Multi-City Problem, and Who Actually Solves It

Here is the position a growing Indiana mechanical contractor ends up in.

You want to work Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Evansville, and South Bend. That is four separate licenses.

Indianapolis wants five years of experience, a personal interview before its Board, a Prov exam, a $5,000 bond, and $500,000/$100,000 insurance. Allen County wants four years and 7,000 hours as a supervised apprentice for the journeyman card, four more as a journeyman for the supervisor license, a $25 sponsorship, and an ICC or Prometric exam, and will not take your Prov result. Evansville wants four years, a $25,000 bond, and $1,000,000 in liability. South Bend wants a $125 fee, a $50 review, ten business days, and a $5,000 bond.

Three of those four jurisdictions write a qualified individual into the rules, not just a corporate filing, even though Indiana has no HVAC statute to spell the requirement out. Indianapolis makes it explicit with its Craft License Holder structure tied to every Company or Business License (Revised Code Ch. 875, Art. III). Evansville makes it explicit with master versus journeyman classes and a four-year gate on the master's exam (Evansville Municipal Code 5.70.060). Allen County makes it explicit in Section F.1.a of its Rules: a registered HVAC contractor must have in its employ a Supervisor licensee who is available at all times for consultation with county building officials, and under Section G.1 a license holder may qualify only one entity unless the holder owns the others.

Each of these is a real employment requirement, not a paperwork shortcut: Indiana's own state plumbing statute, IC 25-28.5-1-13, permits a corporation to be licensed only if an officer or employee holds the individual contractor license and is named in the license. Officer or employee. There is no third option, and the same logic, a real employee, not a paper qualifier, is what Indianapolis and Allen County write into their own local rules even without a state chapter to back them. We wrote the plumbing-side version of this requirement up in full in Indiana's plumbing corporation license and the qualifier requirement.

That is a staffing problem wearing a paperwork costume. The company does not need four sets of forms. It needs people who hold the underlying qualifications, employed by the company, in each jurisdiction it wants to operate in.

That is the work we do, and it is worth being specific about how: qualifying agents are placed as full-time W-2 employees of the licensed business. Not a percentage, not a flat fee per project, and not a 1099 arrangement. See how we place qualifying agents.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Indiana require an HVAC license? Not at the state level. Indiana issues no HVAC, mechanical, or refrigeration contractor license and has no state mechanical licensing board. Licensing is done by cities and counties, and the requirements differ substantially between them.

Which Indiana cities license HVAC contractors? Indianapolis/Marion County, Allen County (Fort Wayne), Evansville/Vanderburgh County, and South Bend/St. Joseph County all do, along with smaller jurisdictions such as Goshen. There is no comprehensive state list. Confirm with each jurisdiction before bidding work there.

Can I use my Indianapolis HVAC license in Fort Wayne? No. Allen County's reciprocity rule accepts national exams administered through ICC or Prometric and expressly excludes Prov, which is the vendor Indianapolis uses. You will need to qualify with Allen County separately, which for the journeyman card also means the four-year, 7,000-hour supervised apprentice requirement unless the county accepts a national exam result you already hold.

How much does an Indiana HVAC license cost? It depends entirely on the jurisdiction. Indianapolis runs $377 for a new license holder plus $247 for a business license in the first half of 2026, prorated down later in the cycle, plus a $5,000 bond and $500,000/$100,000 insurance. Allen County charges a $25 sponsorship fee plus third-party exam fees, then $90 a year for the contractor registration and $25 for a supervisor license.

Evansville runs $300 for a new master's license but requires a $25,000 bond and $1,000,000 in liability coverage. South Bend is $125 plus a $50 review fee and a $5,000 bond. All figures are set locally and change; verify before applying.

Do I need a bond to get an HVAC license in Indiana? It depends on the city. Indianapolis requires a $5,000 surety bond, Evansville requires $25,000, and South Bend requires $5,000. Allen County's Rules and Regulations state no HVAC bond amount, so confirm directly with the Building Department.

What does it cost to hire a qualifying agent for an Indiana HVAC company? There is no list price, and any site quoting one is guessing. It depends on the jurisdictions involved, the license classes, the experience level the local board requires, the risk profile of the work being qualified, the volume, and the duration. We scope it per company; see consultation packages.

Is EPA 608 enough to work HVAC in Indiana? No. EPA 608 is a federal refrigerant-handling certification and confers no authority to contract. You still need the local license in each jurisdiction you work in, and Indianapolis requires the correct 608 type as a component of its license application rather than as a substitute for it.

Do I need a state license for commercial mechanical work? There is no state license to get, but there is a state approval. Class 1 structures require a Construction Design Release from the Indiana Department of Homeland Security before construction, covering the mechanical scope, unless the work falls under an exemption in 675 IAC 12-6-4.

The Short Version

Indiana gives HVAC contractors no state license and, because of that, none of the protection a state license carries. A plumbing contractor holds one credential and cannot be licensed twice by any Indiana city. An HVAC contractor holds as many licenses as it has markets, with different exams, different bonds, different insurance minimums, different experience rules, and boards that do not recognize each other's testing vendors.

Growth in Indiana HVAC is therefore gated on qualified people, jurisdiction by jurisdiction, rather than on paperwork. If you are trying to expand across Indiana markets and the license requirement is what is holding you back, start with what a qualifying agent is, the contractor licensing basics that apply across states, and how we place them as W-2 employees. If you hold a master-level HVAC credential in an Indiana jurisdiction, see becoming a qualifying agent.

Related guides: Indiana plumbing license, Indiana electrician license, Ohio HVAC license, Michigan HVAC license, Illinois HVAC license, Wisconsin HVAC license, and Missouri HVAC license, which is the closest structural parallel to Indiana. See also state versus local contractor licensing and the state licensing directory.

If your Indiana HVAC growth is stalled on a jurisdiction you cannot staff yourself, call 615-219-2110 or start with HireAQualifyingAgent.

Sources

  • City of Indianapolis, Department of Business & Neighborhood Services, HVAC Exam Information packet, retrieved 2026-09-23
  • City of Indianapolis, Department of Business & Neighborhood Services, HVAC Reciprocal License Information packet, retrieved 2026-09-23
  • indy.gov, Licensed Contractors hub page, retrieved 2026-09-23
  • Fort Wayne Area Plumbing Heating Cooling Contractors Association, Steps to Obtain Your HVAC Journeyman License (reproducing Allen County Building Department requirements), fwaphcc.com, retrieved 2026-09-23
  • Evansville Municipal Code Chapter 5.70, Contractors (Sections 5.70.060, 5.70.070, 5.70.150, 5.70.180), codepublishing.com
  • Vanderburgh County Code Chapter 15.36, Licensing and Certification of Construction Businesses and Occupations
  • City of South Bend, 311 Knowledge Center, Contractor Licensing & Registration article KA-04344, southbendin.gov, retrieved 2026-09-23
  • South Bend Municipal Code Chapter 6, Article 11, Section 6-50 (surety bond), library.municode.com
  • Allen County Building Department, Rules and Regulations, Nineteenth Edition (effective September 6, 2024), and Mechanical/Trade Exam Application, allencounty.in.gov
  • City of Indianapolis DBNS, HVAC Contractor License Application Packet and Contractor Licenses page, indy.gov
  • Evansville Building Commission, License Process, Insurance and Bonds, and License Fee Schedule pages, evansvillegov.org
  • City of Goshen, Notice of Adoption of Ordinance 5258, goshen.in.gov
  • Indiana Department of Homeland Security, Building Plan Review Process, in.gov/dhs
  • Indiana Administrative Code 675 IAC 18-1.6, Indiana Mechanical Code (2012 IMC adoption), law.cornell.edu and iar.iga.in.gov, retrieved 2026-09-23
  • Indiana Code 25-28.5-1, Plumbing Contractors, including Section 33 (local preemption) and 25-28.5-1-13 (officer or employee requirement)
  • Indiana Code 22-15-3 and 675 IAC 12-6, Construction Design Release
  • Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (IPLA), profession list and agency overview, in.gov/pla, retrieved 2026-09-23
  • 40 CFR Part 82 Subpart F, EPA Section 608 refrigerant certification

Municipal requirements, fees, bonds, and insurance minimums cited here were verified against the City of Indianapolis DBNS official HVAC exam and reciprocal license packets, the Allen County Building Department's Rules and Regulations and exam application, the Fort Wayne Area Plumbing Heating Cooling Contractors Association's published Allen County licensing steps, South Bend Municipal Code Section 6-50, Evansville Municipal Code Chapter 5.70, the City of South Bend's own contractor licensing knowledge base, the IPLA profession list, and 675 IAC 18-1.6, in September 2026. All amounts are set by the issuing jurisdiction and are subject to change. Verify current requirements with the licensing office before applying.

Share:

Disclaimer: This article is provided for educational and informational purposes only. It does not constitute legal advice, licensing guidance, or an offer of services. Licensing requirements vary by jurisdiction. For specific compliance questions, contact The Licensing Company for a confidential consultation.

Need Licensing Support?

Schedule a confidential consultation with our compliance team.

Never Miss a Licensing Update

Stay ahead of licensing changes. Get contractor licensing news, enforcement alerts, and expert tips delivered to your inbox.