Counting exams, state fees for one contractor license run from $70 in Montana to more than $1,000 in Nevada. See application, exam, license, bond and renewal figures for all 50 states, each checked at the board.
The Short Answer
At a glance Who sets the fee: each state board or registrar; there is no national license and no national price. Smallest first time bill for a state license in our tables: $70 for a Montana Construction Contractor License, with no exam and no bond. Single fees can be smaller, such as Hawaii's $50 application, but the total depends on the exams, bonds and funds a state stacks on top. A common middle: California, $450 application plus $200 (sole owner) or $350 (other entity) initial license, with a $25,000 bond (CSLB). Near the top: Nevada, $300 application plus $600 for two years plus $140 in PSI exams, and a bond of $1,000 to $500,000 set by the board (NSCB). Time: licenses in the tables renew every one to three years, and the fees come due again each cycle.
Counting exams, state fees for one contractor license vary widely, from $70 for a Montana Construction Contractor License to more than $1,000 in Nevada before a single bond is posted. The real total is the sum of six things: the application fee, the exam fee, the license fee, a bond or financial statement, insurance, and any required education, and the board sets only some of them.
The low end is Montana, where the Department of Labor and Industry issues a Construction Contractor License for $70 with no exam and no bond, the smallest first time bill for a state license in our tables. Some single fees run lower, such as Hawaii's $50 application, but the total is what counts: a North Carolina Limited license is $75 plus a $79 PSI exam (G.S. 87-10), and a North Dakota Class D license is $100 with no exam (N.D.C.C. 43-07-07).
Nevada sits near the top: the State Contractors Board charges a $300 application fee and a $600 two year license fee, and PSI charges $140 for the two exams. California sits in between at a $450 application fee plus a $200 or $350 initial license fee (CSLB fee schedule). Add a bond or proof of net worth where the state requires one, and that requirement runs from a $1,000 bond at the bottom of Nevada's scale to a $1,000,000 bond option for a North Carolina Unlimited license.
There is no single national number because there is no national license: every figure on this page comes from the state board or statute named in the tables, not an average. For the full picture of how licensing works before you budget for it, start with our contractor license pillar page.
Twenty five of the fifty states issue no statewide general contractor license at all. In those states a contractor is licensed by a city or county, by a single trade board (electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or roofing), or registered rather than examined. The tables below name every one of them plainly in the "Who issues it" column, so you are not guessing at a number that does not exist.
The Six Costs That Make Up the Real Total
A board's fee page shows only part of the bill. Here is what each piece is, who sets it, and what the verified figures in our tables look like.
Application and registration fees
This is the fee paid directly to the state board, agency, or registrar to open a file. It is the one figure nearly every board publishes, for example $300 in Nevada, $250 in Tennessee, and $75 to $125 by license limitation in North Carolina (G.S. 87-10). Many boards keep it whether you are approved or not; Tennessee's fee page says every fee it lists is nonrefundable.
Exam fees
Most states require a trade exam, a Business and Law exam, or both, run through a third party testing vendor such as PSI, Prov, or Pearson VUE. Exam fees in the verified table below run from $40 for a single portion of Virginia's Business and Law exam to $295 for Florida's three part exam. A handful of states, among them North Dakota and Montana's general contractor license, require no exam at all.
The exam fee is usually paid to the vendor, not the board, and it is usually per attempt. California is the exception worth knowing: the CSLB application fee covers the Law and Business exam and the trade exam.
The license fee itself
Some boards charge a separate fee once you pass. Nevada collects a $600 biennial license fee only after approval, and California charges its $200 or $350 initial license fee after the exams. Other states fold application and license into one payment: Oregon's Construction Contractors Board charges $400 for a two year license, and Washington's Department of Labor and Industries charges $150.20 to register.
Bond or financial statement requirement
Most states that license contractors statewide require a surety bond, a minimum net worth shown on a financial statement, or both, usually scaled to the size of job the license allows. A minority of states, Colorado, Montana, and North Dakota among them, require neither a bond nor a financial statement for the state credential itself, though workers compensation and general liability insurance are usually still mandatory. Bond premiums and insurance rates are set by private sureties and carriers, not by any state board, so they are not part of the state fee tables below.
Insurance
Many boards set a floor for general liability coverage and require proof before they issue the license. Washington asks for $200,000 public liability and $50,000 property damage, or a $250,000 combined single limit. Minnesota asks for $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate, and $25,000 property damage. Florida's General and Building categories carry $300,000 public liability and $50,000 property damage.
Renewal fees and cycle
Renewal cycles in the tables run from one year (North Dakota, Rhode Island, and Texas trade licenses) to three years for a state credential (Michigan, Missouri's statewide electrical license), and two years is a common cycle. A late renewal typically adds a flat penalty; North Dakota adds $50, and Wisconsin adds a $200 administrative fee to reinstate a credential more than one term past expiration. Tennessee adds $20 a month for up to 12 months.
What It Costs to Get Licensed and Bonded
"Licensed and bonded" means two separate payments. The license fees go to the state. The bond is a promise a surety company makes on your behalf, and the state sets only the face amount of that promise, not what the surety charges you for it.
So when a board says "$25,000 bond," it is telling you the coverage your bond must carry. Your premium is a smaller number set by the surety after it reviews your credit and your business, and no board publishes it. The worked examples below use only the state's own figures, so you can see the state side of the bill before you call a surety or an insurance agent.
| State and license | State fees before the license issues | Bond or financial test | Insurance the board names |
|---|---|---|---|
| North Dakota Class D | $100 license fee; no exam | No bond (repealed 1995) | Certificate of liability insurance with the application |
| California, sole owner | $450 application plus $200 initial license; exams included | $25,000 contractor bond or cash deposit | Workers compensation if you have employees |
| Nevada, one trade | $300 application, $140 for both PSI exams, $600 license fee | Bond of $1,000 to $500,000 set by the board, plus a financial statement | Proof of workers compensation or an exemption affidavit |
| Washington, general | $150.20 registration; no competency exam | $30,000 continuous bond | $200,000 public liability and $50,000 property damage |
| Oregon, Residential General | $400 two year license plus the $60 PSI exam | $25,000 bond | $500,000 per occurrence |
| Virginia, Class A | $400 plus the $25 Recovery Fund assessment; PSI exams extra | $45,000 net worth or a $50,000 bond | Not set in the fee rule |
| Minnesota, residential | $180 base fee plus a $320 to $520 Recovery Fund fee | No bond; the Recovery Fund fee stands in its place | $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate |
The pattern holds across the country. The state's own fees for one license usually land in the low hundreds of dollars, and the bond, the insurance, and the time to qualify are what move the real total.
Contractor License Fees by State
Every row below names the issuing board, so you can verify it yourself. Where we could not confirm a figure at the board, the statute, or the exam vendor's bulletin, the table says "not stated" or the state note links to the board rather than guessing, and where a state has no statewide general contractor license, the "Who issues it" column says so directly. Each cell holds the headline figure, and the state notes under the table carry the detail, such as second license types, statute cites and board links.
Pick your state above to see its details, or show all 50 states.
| State | Who issues it | Application and license fees | Exam fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | ALBGC / HBLB | $300 prime, $150 subcontractor (ALBGC) | $96 per exam, Business and Law included (PSI) |
| Alaska | DCCED Construction Contractors Program | $350 ($100 application plus $250 registration) | $150 (PSI Residential Contractor Endorsement exam) |
| Arizona | Registrar of Contractors (ROC) | General residential: $180 application plus $320 license | $66 trade (PSI) plus $61 Statutes and Rules (Gmetrix) |
| Arkansas | Contractors Licensing Board (ACLB) | $100 filing fee, nonrefundable | $84 (PSI Business and Law exam) |
| California | Contractors State License Board (CSLB) | $450 application plus $200 or $350 initial license | Included in the $450 application fee |
| Colorado | No statewide board; local (Denver, Colorado Springs) | None statewide; Denver Class A, B, C, D: $250 each | Not applicable statewide |
| Connecticut | No statewide GC license; Dept. of Consumer Protection | HIC registration $220, nonrefundable | Not applicable; trade contractors take PSI Business and Law |
| Delaware | No state GC board; Division of Revenue / Dept. of Labor | Business license $75; Dept. of Labor $200 a year | Paid to the vendor (ProV, plumbing and HVACR) |
| Florida | Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) | Certified General Contractor application $245 | $295 for the three part exam |
| Georgia | State Licensing Board | $200 exam application plus $10 processing | $60 Business and Law, $72 Residential Basic (PSI) |
| Hawaii | Contractors License Board (DCCA) | $50 per application | $80 Business and Law and most trade exams (PSI) |
| Idaho | Idaho Contractors Board and Public Works (DOPL) | Registration $120; Public Works capped at $50 to $550 | $75 per attempt (PSI Public Works exam) |
| Illinois | No statewide GC license; IDFPR (roofing) / IDPH (plumbing) | Roofing $125; plumbing exam application $175 | Plumbing: included in the $175 application; roofing $248 per category |
| Indiana | No state GC license; Indiana Plumbing Commission (IPLA) | Plumbing Contractor $50 plus an issuance fee | $100 Contractor exam, $75 Journeyman exam (PROV) |
| Iowa | No statewide GC license; DIAL runs Chapter 91C registration | 91C registration capped at $50 a year | Trade exams only (PMSB, electrical) |
| Kansas | No state board; local (Johnson County, Sedgwick County) | Johnson County: $100 application plus $225 license | $115 (statewide ICC bulletin via Pearson VUE) |
| Kentucky | No statewide GC license (trades only) | Electrical Contractor $400 per two year term | $80 for electrical and HVAC (Prov) |
| Louisiana | State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) | Not stated (license application) | Per classification plus Business and Law (PSI) |
| Maine | No state GC license; trade boards (OPOR) | Totals: Master Electrician $171, Master Plumber $221 | $90 Master Electrician, $65 Master Plumber (Prov) |
| Maryland | No statewide GC license; Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) | MHIC two year Contractor license $403.75 | $63 (PSI MHIC exam) |
| Massachusetts | No state GC license; BBRS (CSL) / OCABR (HIC) | CSL $150; HIC $150 plus Guaranty Fund | $23 application plus $75 exam fee (PSI CSL exam) |
| Michigan | LARA, Residential Builders and M&A Contractors Board | $195 application, covering the first three year license | $117 (PSI Residential Builder exam) |
| Minnesota | Dept. of Labor and Industry (DLI) | $50 exam application; $180 base fee plus Recovery Fund | $50 (DLI proctors its own exam, not PSI) |
| Mississippi | State Board of Contractors (MSBOC) | $400 commercial, $50 residential, nonrefundable | $120 per exam portion (PSI) |
| Missouri | No statewide GC board; statewide electrical (OSEC) | Statewide electrical $200; Kansas City issues no general contractor license | $80 Master Electrician (Prov) |
| Montana | Dept. of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division | $70 Construction Contractor License; no exam | None for the GC license; electrical exams via PSI |
| Nebraska | No state GC license; Dept. of Labor registration | Registration $40 per business name per year | Electrical exam fee set by the vendor |
| Nevada | State Contractors Board (NSCB) | $300 application plus $600 two year license | $95 per portion; $140 for both together (PSI) |
| New Hampshire | No board for GCs; trade boards (OPLC) | Master Electrician $198; Electrical Corporation $137 | $90 per electrical exam, Journeyman or Master (Prov) |
| New Jersey | No state GC license; Consumer Affairs / Community Affairs | HIC $110; New Home Builder $200 | Electrical, plumbing, HVACR exams paid to PSI |
| New Mexico | Construction Industries Division (CID) | $36 application plus $100 a year (general classes) | $68.88 Business and Law (PSI) |
| New York | No statewide GC license; local (NYC DOB / DCWP) | NYC DCWP HIC $200; NYC DOB GC registration $300 | Two DCWP attempts included; $50 buys two more |
| North Carolina | Licensing Board for General Contractors (NCLBGC) | $75 Limited, $100 Intermediate, $125 Unlimited (G.S. 87-10) | $79 PSI exam |
| North Dakota | Secretary of State (registrar) | Class A $450, B $300, C $225, D $100; no exam | Not applicable, no exam |
| Ohio | No statewide GC license; OCILB (trades only) | $25 exam application plus $25 license (trades) | $69 per attempt (PSI) |
| Oklahoma | No statewide GC license; CIB (trades only) | Plumbing Contractor $330 | $92 per portion (PSI) |
| Oregon | Construction Contractors Board (CCB) | $400 for a two year license | $60 (PSI) |
| Pennsylvania | No state GC license; Attorney General (HICPA) | HICPA registration $100 every two years | Not applicable statewide; trades are licensed locally |
| Rhode Island | No statewide GC license; CRLB registration | $150 registration (core contractor category) | Trade specialties, such as Commercial Roofing $180 (PSI) |
| South Carolina | Contractor's Licensing Board (LLR) | $350 initial, General or Mechanical (CLB fee page) | Paid to PSI |
| South Dakota | No state GC board; Electrical / Plumbing Commissions | Electrical $60, every class; plumbing initial capped at $60 | $115 (ICC via PearsonVUE, electrical) |
| Tennessee | Board for Licensing Contractors | $250, nonrefundable | Per attempt, set by Prov (vendor since July 1, 2026) |
| Texas | No state GC license; TDLR (electrical/ACR), TSBPE (plumbing) | Electrical Contractor $110; ACR $115; RMP $300 | $78 Master Electrician (PSI); $128.50 plumbing |
| Utah | Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) | $175 primary classification | $85 Business and Law exam (Prov) |
| Vermont | No state GC license; Office of Professional Regulation | Registry $75 individual, $250 business | $80 per sitting, trade exams (Prov) |
| Virginia | Board for Contractors (DPOR) | Class A $400, B $380, C $235, plus $25 Recovery Fund | Trade exam $85 flat; Business and Law by portion (PSI) |
| Washington | Dept. of Labor and Industries (L and I) | $150.20 (registration state, not a competency exam license) | None for general registration |
| West Virginia | Contractor Licensing Board | $90 annual license fee (28CSR2) | $59.95 per sitting (Prov) plus a trade exam |
| Wisconsin | No state GC license; DSPS | Dwelling Contractor $25 plus a $15 application fee | $95 HVAC Qualifier exam (Pearson VUE) |
| Wyoming | No state board; local, plus State Fire Marshal (electrical) | Master Electrician $200; Casper Class I $300 new | $115 ICC National Standard exam (Pearson VUE) |
State notes on fees
Alabama. The HBLB roofer license is $100 processing plus a $150 annual license fee. PSI charges $106 for Building Construction (Commercial) and three heavy classifications (ALBGC). HBLB exams through Prov are $130 for both exams on one day or $80 each.
Alaska. The $100 application portion of the $350 total is nonrefundable.
Arizona. An original two year license is an application fee plus a license fee: general residential $180 plus $320, general commercial $200 plus $580, specialty residential $80 plus $270, and specialty commercial $100 plus $480 (ROC fee table). Residential and dual licenses add a $370 Recovery Fund assessment.
California. The initial license fee is $200 for a sole owner or $350 for any other entity, and the $450 original application fee covers both PSI exams, Law and Business plus the trade exam.
Colorado. There is no statewide general contractor license. For the state plumbing contractor registration fee, see the State Plumbing Board.
Connecticut. There is no general contractor board or license; the Dept. of Consumer Protection registers home improvement contractors. The $220 application fee is $120 registration plus $100 Guaranty Fund under C.G.S. 20-432. New Home Construction Contractor is $360 ($120 registration plus a $240 guaranty fund fee under C.G.S. 20-417b and 20-417i), and Major Contractor renews at $500.
Delaware. There is no state general contractor board or exam; the $75 contractor business license is under 30 Del. C. 2502. Department of Labor contractor registration is $200 a year, or $300 with a state contract (19 Del. C. ch. 36). A Master Plumber or HVACR application is $173 (DPR); for trade exams, see the Division of Professional Regulation.
Florida. The application is $145 when filed from September 1 of an odd year through April 30 of an even year (DBPR CILB 5-A), and NASCLA exam applicants also pay NASCLA a $65 application fee. The $295 is $135 registration to Professional Testing plus $160 to Pearson VUE: $80 Business and Finance, $40 Contract Administration, and $40 Project Management.
Georgia. The State Licensing Board for Residential and Commercial General Contractors sets the $200 and $10 fees in its board fee schedule. PSI charges $72 for Residential Light Commercial and $106 for NASCLA.
Hawaii. The application is filed separately per entity and per RME. The A General Engineering and B General Building exams are $85.
Idaho. The Public Works Contractors License Board's initial license fee is capped at $50 (Class D) to $550 (Unlimited) by IDAPA 24.39.50. Basic registration is $120 initial, renewed at $60 a year or $120 every two years.
Illinois. Only roofing and plumbing are licensed statewide. The plumbing exam application is $225 for plumbers licensed in Chicago or out of state, and the $125 roofing application is set by 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1460.80. The roofing exam is given by Continental Testing Services.
Indiana. General contractors are licensed by the city or county only. The State Plumbing Contractor issuance fee is $100 in an even year or $50 in an odd year (IPLA fee schedule).
Iowa. The 91C contractor registration is statewide registration, not a competency license. PMSB exams run through Kirkwood Community College and electrical exams through PSI.
Kansas. There is no state board or state general contractor license. Johnson County charges its fees per license type.
Kentucky. The Dept. of Housing, Buildings and Construction licenses trades; general contractors are licensed at the city and county level. A Master Plumber pays a $150 exam fee plus a $250 license fee, and a Master HVAC a $250 application plus a $150 exam fee.
Louisiana. Each classification carries its own exam fee, paid to PSI; see the LSLBC exam page.
Maine. The Electricians' and Plumbers' Examining Boards (OPOR) license the trades; there is no state general contractor license or board. The Master Electrician license is $150 plus a $21 background check, and the Master Plumber $200 plus $21.
Maryland. There is no statewide general contractor license; the original $403.75 is $281.25 application, $100 Guaranty Fund, and $22.50 processing.
Massachusetts. No state general contractor license exists; the Construction Supervisor License (CSL) is an individual license. Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) registration adds a $100 to $500 Guaranty Fund surcharge by employee count.
Michigan. The board is LARA's Residential Builders and Maintenance and Alteration Contractors Board, and the license fee is set by MCL 338.2239. Commercial contracting is city or county level only.
Mississippi. Each fee covers one trade classification, plus $100 per added classification. The Law and Business Management exam is required of everyone.
Missouri. The Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OSEC) licenses electrical, and general contractors are licensed at the city and county level. Kansas City licenses trade contractors and residential building contractors through a Certificate of Qualification and a contractor license, and does not issue a general contractor license.
Montana. The Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate is $125, and the license needs no board hearing. Electrical Journeyman and Master applications are $190 each, with the exam paid to PSI (State Electrical Board).
Nebraska. Statewide registration through the Dept. of Labor, Labor Standards Division, rose from $25 effective August 1, 2026. A State Electrical Contractor application is $180, plus a license fee of $187.50 in an even year or $375 in an odd year. For the electrical exam, see the State Electrical Division.
Nevada. Residential contractors add a Residential Recovery Fund assessment of $200, $500, or $1,000 by monetary limit. The $140 applies when the Business and Law exam and a trade exam are scheduled together.
New Hampshire. The Electricians' Board and the Mechanical Safety and Licensing Board (OPLC) license trades; there is no board for general contractors.
New Jersey. Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) registration is with the Division of Consumer Affairs and New Home Builder registration with the Dept. of Community Affairs. Electrical is a $100 application plus a $150 business permit, Master Plumber a $100 application, and HVACR a $100 application plus the license fee. For exam details, see the Division of Consumer Affairs boards.
New Mexico. The $100 per year ($200 for two years) covers GB-98, GB-2 and the other general classifications; other classifications pay $50 per year (14.5.5.8 NMAC). PSI charges $269.06 for the GB-98 combination exam and $134.53 for GB-2.
New York. There is no statewide general contractor license (local licensing); licenses come from NYC DOB / DCWP and local jurisdictions. The DCWP Home Improvement Contractor license is $200 for a full two year term, prorated to $150, $100, or $50 by filing date.
North Carolina. The NASCLA exam route adds a $65 NASCLA application plus the PSI sitting fee (see NCLBGC).
Ohio. General contractors are licensed locally; the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board licenses Electrical, HVAC, Plumbing, Hydronics, and Refrigeration statewide for commercial work.
Oklahoma. The Construction Industries Board licenses electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and roofing only. The $330 Plumbing Contractor license is $300 license plus $30 processing.
Pennsylvania. Registration runs through the Attorney General Bureau of Consumer Protection; there is no state board or state general contractor license.
Rhode Island. The CRLB issues a registration, not an exam based license. DLT trade license exam applications carry a $75 nonrefundable processing fee, and a two year Electrical Contractor license is $240.
South Carolina. LLR also houses the Residential Builders Commission. For exams, see the Contractor's Licensing Board exam page.
South Dakota. There is no state board for general contractors (city or county level).
Texas. There is no state general contractor license or board (city level only), and RMP is the Responsible Master Plumber license. The $78 covers both portions of the Master Electrician exam, and the $128.50 TSBPE plumbing exam is at Pearson VUE.
Utah. A passed NASCLA exam is accepted as an alternative route.
Vermont. The Residential Contractor Registry is a registration, not a competency exam. The $80 trade exams are for the Division of Fire Safety.
Virginia. License fees are set by 18VAC50-22-100. The Business and Law exam is $40 for one portion, $72 for two, and $85 for all three.
Washington. The plumber journey level exam is closed book through PSI, with a $202.10 exam fee paid to L and I.
West Virginia. The $59.95 sitting is for the Contractor Licensing Act exam; the classification trade exam is separate.
Wisconsin. The Dept. of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) regulates only one and two family dwellings statewide, no commercial. The Dwelling Contractor Qualifier takes a 12 hour approved course, with the provider's tests, instead of a state exam.
Wyoming. General contracting is licensed at the city or county level, in Cheyenne, Casper, and others; the State Fire Marshal licenses electricians. The $115 exam is one of the tests Casper accepts.
Bond, Financial Test and Renewal by State
This second table carries the rest of each row: the bond, net worth, or insurance the state requires, and what renewal costs and how often. Every row was checked against its primary source on September 27, 2026. Detail such as tiers by class, insurance minimums and expiry dates sits in the state notes under the table.
Pick your state above to see its details, or show all 50 states.
| State | Bond or financial requirement | Renewal |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama | $10,000 minimum net worth and working capital (ALBGC) | ALBGC renews every year: $200 prime, $100 subcontractor |
| Alaska | $25,000 bond (General Contractor) | $250 every two years (12 AAC 02.180) |
| Arizona | Continuous surety bond or cash deposit | Two years; general residential $320 plus $270 Recovery Fund |
| Arkansas | $5,000 to $50,000 net worth; $10,000 commercial bond | $50; $100 if filed within 30 days after expiration |
| California | $25,000 contractor bond or cash deposit | Every two years: $450 sole owner, $700 other entity |
| Colorado | GC: no state net worth, bond, or financial statement | Denver: $250, three year cycle |
| Connecticut | $20,000 general liability minimum; no surety bond | HIC $220 annually; Major Contractor $500 |
| Delaware | Non resident: 6 percent bond on contracts of $20,000 or more | Business license $75 annually; registration annual |
| Florida | FICO 660 or better, or a 14 hour course | Fee not stated; 14 hours of continuing education |
| Georgia | Net worth $150,000 unlimited, $25,000 Limited Tier | $100; expires June 30 of even numbered years; $200 late |
| Hawaii | Credit reports; CPA statement for entities | $338.00 biennial; $208 for an RME |
| Idaho | None for basic registration; Public Works by class | Registration $120 biennial or $60 annual |
| Illinois | Roofing: $10,000 Limited or $25,000 Unlimited bond | Roofing: $62.50 per year, two year cycle |
| Indiana | None statewide; Indianapolis GC: $10,000 surety bond | State Plumbing Contractor: $100 |
| Iowa | No net worth or bond in state; $25,000 out of state | PMSB contractor licenses: three year cycle, expires June 30 |
| Kansas | No net worth statement or bond; insurance required | Johnson County: $225 annually; $75 late after February 1 |
| Kentucky | No bond or net worth stated | Electrical $400 per two years; plumbing, HVAC $250 annually |
| Louisiana | $50,000 net worth (Commercial and Residential) | Not stated |
| Maine | No net worth statement, bank reference, or bond | Two year: Master Electrician $150, Master Plumber $200 |
| Maryland | Solvency, or a $30,000 surety bond; $500,000 liability | $456.25 every two years |
| Massachusetts | No bond, credit, or net worth test for the CSL | CSL and HIC: $100 every two years |
| Michigan | None set in statute for the RB or M&A license | $50 per year of the three year cycle (MCL 338.2239) |
| Minnesota | No bond; Recovery Fund fee of $320, $420, or $520 | Every two years, with the Recovery Fund fee again |
| Mississippi | Commercial: $50,000 or $20,000 net worth | Annual: $400 commercial, $100 residential |
| Missouri | Electrical: $500,000 liability plus local bonds | Electrical $100 every three years ($100 inactive) |
| Montana | No bond and no net worth or financial statement | $70, the same as the application fee |
| Nebraska | No bond for state registration | Registration $40 per business name, annual |
| Nevada | Bond or cash deposit, $1,000 to $500,000, set by the board | Two year license; $600 biennial license fee |
| New Hampshire | Not stated | Master Electrician $198; Electrical Corporation $137 |
| New Jersey | HIC: $500,000 liability per occurrence plus a $10,000, $25,000, or $50,000 compliance bond or letter of credit by contract value | HIC $90 annually; New Home Builder $200 per two years |
| New Mexico | $10,000 surety bond; workers compensation | Same fees: $100 a year general, $50 a year others |
| New York | DCWP: $20,000 bond or $200 Trust Fund enrollment | DCWP $200 per two years; DOB every three years at $240 |
| North Carolina | $17,000 to $150,000 working capital, or a bond | Annual: $75 Limited, $100 Intermediate, $125 Unlimited |
| North Dakota | No bond (repealed 1995); liability insurance required | Annual by March 1: Class A $90, B $60, C $45, D $30 |
| Ohio | $500,000 contractor liability; no state bond stated | $60 a year or $180 for three years |
| Oklahoma | Trades: $5,000 bond or waiver, $50,000 liability | Contractor renewal $200; $300 with late fee after 30 days |
| Oregon | Residential General: $25,000 bond, $500,000 liability | Every two years at $400 |
| Pennsylvania | $50,000 personal injury, $50,000 property damage | HICPA $100 every two years |
| Rhode Island | $500,000 general liability; no bond or net worth | Valid one year, renews annually at $150, plus $50 if expired |
| South Carolina | Net worth by group, $20,000 to $350,000 | $135 biennial; late fees from $100 |
| South Dakota | No state GC bond, net worth, or liability requirement | Electrical $200, two year cycle; plumbing capped at $300 |
| Tennessee | CPA prepared Reviewed or Audited financial statement, or since July 1, 2026 a surety bond of at least 50 percent of the monetary limit | Two year license term; $200 renewal |
| Texas | No state GC bond or net worth | Electrical Contractor $110 every year; RMP $300 |
| Utah | No flat net worth minimum; bond if standard not met | $128 every two years |
| Vermont | No bond, financial statement, or net worth | Every two years: $75 individual, $250 business |
| Virginia | Class A $45,000, B $15,000 net worth, or $50,000 bond | Class A $270, B $260, C $220, plus $30 Recovery Fund |
| Washington | $30,000 general or $15,000 specialty bond | Every two years, $150.20 (RCW 18.27.060) |
| West Virginia | No net worth minimum and no general license bond | $90 every year; no renewal once lapsed 90 days |
| Wisconsin | $25,000 bond or $250,000 general liability per occurrence | $25 every year (business); $30 every two years (qualifier) |
| Wyoming | No statewide net worth, financial statement, or bond | None statewide; Casper Class I renews at $150 |
State notes on bonds and renewals
Alabama. ALBGC also requires a CPA statement, and HBLB Roofers post a $10,000 license and permit bond.
Alaska. Bonds are $20,000 for a residential only endorsement, $10,000 for Mechanical, Specialty, and Home Inspector, and $5,000 for Handyman. The two year cycle expires December 31 of even numbered years.
Arizona. The bond is set by classification and annual volume, and residential contractors also pay into the Recovery Fund. Renewal is $580 for general commercial, $270 plus $270 for specialty residential, and $480 for specialty commercial (ROC fee table). The statutory renewal caps are $320, $1,000, $270 and $900 (A.R.S. 32-1126).
Arkansas. Net worth is $50,000 for Building, Heavy, Highway or Railroad or Airport, and Municipal and Utility; $20,000 for Light Building, Mechanical, and Electrical; and $5,000 for Specialty. Commercial contractors post the $10,000 Contractors Surety Bond. A license expires the day before the anniversary of issue (A.C.A. 17-25-307 and board rules).
California. A second $25,000 Bond of Qualifying Individual applies if the qualifier owns under 10 percent. Active renewals are $470 or $720 with C10, and inactive licenses renew at $300 or $500.
Colorado. Workers compensation is required for all employers. State plumbing contractor registrations expire the last day of February in odd numbered years.
Connecticut. The $20,000 minimum covers HIC and New Home Construction Contractor. Every HIC and New Home Construction Contractor registration expires March 31, and Major Contractor registrations expire June 30.
Delaware. Workers compensation is required with employees. After two clean years, Department of Labor registration can be a two year registration for $300 ($500 with a state contract).
Florida. The 14 hour course is a financial responsibility course, and General and Building categories carry $300,000 public liability and $50,000 property damage. Certified licenses renew by August 31 of even numbered years and Registered by August 31 of odd numbered years, with the education due each biennium (F.S. 489.115).
Georgia. The $150,000 net worth is for Commercial General unlimited. General liability is $500,000 for Commercial General and Residential Light Commercial and $300,000 for Residential Basic.
Hawaii. A credit report comes from every officer, partner, manager, or member, and entity applicants submit a CPA financial statement no more than a year old; a surety bond is required only at Board discretion. The $338.00 is for an active entity or sole proprietor, and all licenses expire September 30 of even numbered years.
Idaho. Public Works license class is set by net worth and working capital, from Class D ($10,000 net worth, $3,000 working capital) to Unlimited ($1,000,000 net worth, $600,000 working capital). Public Works renewal is capped at $40 (Class D) to $440 (Unlimited) by IDAPA 24.39.50.
Illinois. The roofing bond is continuous, and roofers also carry $500,000 personal injury and $250,000 property damage insurance per occurrence. The cycle expires December 31 of odd numbered years.
Indiana. Indianapolis also requires $500,000 general liability. State Plumbing Contractor licenses expire December 31 of odd numbered years.
Iowa. Out of state contractors post the $25,000 surety bond or prequalify for DOT projects.
Kansas. General liability and workers compensation insurance are required, and Sedgwick County requires a minimum of $300,000 general liability.
Kentucky. An Electrical Contractor must carry general liability plus workers compensation and unemployment insurance proof.
Louisiana. Home Improvement, Mold Remediation, and Labor Only need $25,000, on a financial statement prepared by a CPA, bookkeeper, or accountant within the last 12 months. Residential, Home Improvement, and Mold carry a $500,000 general liability minimum as of August 1, 2026.
Maine. Workers compensation coverage is mandatory for any employer with one or more employees. A late renewal adds a $50 late fee up to 90 days.
Maryland. Financial solvency is shown with a credit report and bank statements, and an applicant not solvent by $30,000 posts the bond (or an indemnitor). The $500,000 general liability applies since October 1, 2024, and the renewal is $281.25 application plus $175 Guaranty Fund.
Massachusetts. HIC uses a tiered Guaranty Fund surcharge instead of a bond. The first CSL runs three years, and each CSL renewal requires 12 hours of continuing education.
Minnesota. There is no financial statement or net worth test; general liability is $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate, and $25,000 property damage. The Contractor Recovery Fund fee is paid with each license application and renewal, in place of a bond, and is set by gross annual receipts.
Mississippi. The $50,000 applies to a commercial major classification and $20,000 to all other commercial applicants, on an accountant's financial statement from the last 12 months; compilations are not accepted. Commercial contractors carry $300,000 per occurrence and $600,000 aggregate general liability.
Missouri. Statewide electrical requires proof of the $500,000 liability insurance plus a bond posted with each political subdivision as required; no net worth test is stated.
Montana. Proof of Montana specific workers compensation coverage is required for every employee. Registration became a license on January 1, 2026 under HB 239.
Nebraska. Contractors with employees must carry workers compensation, and city licenses such as Omaha's set their own bond and insurance; see the Omaha permits office. The state electrical contractor license renews on a two year cycle at $187.50 for each year, and every license expires December 31, 2026.
Nevada. A current financial statement is required at every monetary limit, with CPA reviewed or audited statements required as the monetary limit rises. The Residential Recovery Fund assessment is paid again every two years.
New Jersey. Electrical requires $300,000 liability plus a $1,000 surety bond, plumbing a $3,000 surety bond, and HVACR $500,000 liability plus a $3,000 surety bond. Plumbing and HVACR renew every two years at $160, and the electrical business permit every three years at $150.
New Mexico. The bond is due at initial licensure and every renewal. Two year renewals are $200 for the general classifications and $100 for others (14.5.5.8 NMAC).
New York. DOB registration needs three months of business bank statements with at least a $25,000 balance and $1,000,000 minimum general liability. DCWP Home Improvement Contractor licenses expire February 28 of odd numbered years.
North Carolina. Limited needs $17,000 working capital or $80,000 net worth or a $175,000 bond; Intermediate $75,000 working capital or a $500,000 bond; Unlimited $150,000 working capital or a $1,000,000 bond. A renewal filed after January 1 adds $10 a month (G.S. 87-10).
North Dakota. The certificate of liability insurance must be in the license name. Renewing after March 1 and by June 1 adds a $50 penalty.
Ohio. The minimum $500,000 contractor liability insurance is assigned to one named contracting company. Renewal requires 10 hours of continuing education each year.
Oklahoma. Electrical, plumbing, and mechanical contractors post the $5,000 surety bond or a waiver affidavit plus $50,000 general liability. Roofing carries $500,000 residential or $1,000,000 commercial liability and no bond. The renewal fees apply to electrical, mechanical, and plumbing contractors.
Oregon. Commercial General Level 1 carries an $80,000 bond and $2,000,000 aggregate, and Commercial General Level 2 a $25,000 bond and $1,000,000. Commercial licenses also carry continuing education.
Pennsylvania. HICPA requires no bond or net worth. Philadelphia's local license is $126 annually and Pittsburgh's $90 annually.
Rhode Island. The general liability policy names the CRLB, and workers compensation applies if there are employees.
South Carolina. Net worth is Group 1 $20,000, Group 2 $60,000, Group 3 $150,000, Group 4 $250,000, and Group 5 $350,000; working capital, or a surety bond in its place, is accepted instead (S.C. Code 40-11-260 and 40-11-262). General Contractor licenses expire October 31 of even numbered years and Mechanical Contractor licenses October 31 of odd numbered years.
South Dakota. An electrical contractor posts a $10,000 undertaking plus $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate liability. Electrical licenses expire June 30 of even numbered years, and plumbing license and renewal fees are capped by statute (SDCL 36-25-19).
Tennessee. The monetary limit is 10 times the lesser of working capital and net worth. A contractor short on working capital or net worth may add a line of credit, a guaranty agreement, or a license bond of $500,000 (limits under $1,500,000) or $1,000,000 (limits over $1,500,000). A late renewal carries a penalty of $20 per month for up to 12 months.
Texas. An Electrical Contractor needs $300,000 per occurrence and $600,000 aggregate insurance plus workers comp proof or election of non coverage. ACR contractor licenses are valid one year.
Utah. The surety bond, due only if the financial responsibility standard is not met, is $50,000 (B100 or E100), $25,000 (R100), or $15,000 (specialty); general liability of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 aggregate applies since April 20, 2026. Licenses expire November 30 of odd numbered years regardless of issue date.
Vermont. Registration requires $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 aggregate liability insurance, and renews at the same fee (26 V.S.A. chapter 106).
Virginia. Class C has no net worth minimum but must disclose debts, judgments, and bankruptcies. Renewal fees are set by 18VAC50-22-140.
Washington. The continuous bond amounts, or an assigned savings account or CD in the same amount, are effective July 1, 2024. Insurance is $200,000 public liability and $50,000 property damage, or a $250,000 combined single limit, and reinstating a suspended registration is $70.90.
West Virginia. Applicants show proof of workers compensation, unemployment compensation, and general liability insurance plus a wage bond status affidavit. A license not renewed on time lapses, and one lapsed 90 days or more cannot be renewed (W. Va. Code 30-42-13).
Wisconsin. A bond of $5,000 to $25,000 gives a restricted certification (Wis. Stat. 101.654). A credential renewed more than one term late adds a $200 administrative fee (SPS 305.07).
Wyoming. Cities substitute general liability insurance, such as Casper's $250,000/$500,000 personal injury and $250,000 property damage minimum. A Master Electrician renews every three years at $100.
States With No Statewide General Contractor License
Twenty five states leave general contracting to cities, counties, or a single trade board rather than issuing one statewide general contractor license: Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
Inside that list the pattern varies. Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wyoming each license specific trades, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or roofing, statewide while leaving general contracting itself to the city or county. Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and Vermont each run a statewide registration for contractors that, by the state's own description, is not a competency exam based license.
The rest of the list, Colorado, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Wisconsin, leaves general contracting entirely to local jurisdictions or to a narrower home improvement or residential only credential. If your state is not on this list, check the "Who issues it" column above; it names the board that does issue one.
A state with no statewide license is not a state with no cost. In Pennsylvania, anyone doing at least $5,000 of home improvement work a year registers with the Attorney General for $100 every two years. In Nebraska, every contractor registers with the Department of Labor, and the annual fee rose to $40 on August 1, 2026. City licenses in places like Denver, Philadelphia, and Kansas City add their own fees on top.
How Much Is a General Contractor License Compared With a Trade License?
A general contractor license usually costs more than a single trade license for one reason: the financial test. Boards scale net worth, working capital, or bond amounts to the size of job the license allows, and general contractors bid the biggest jobs.
South Carolina shows the scale clearly. Its statute sets Group 1 at $20,000 net worth or $10,000 working capital for jobs up to $100,000, and Group 5 at $350,000 net worth or $250,000 working capital for unlimited jobs. North Dakota does the same thing with fees instead of net worth: Class D ($100) caps a single job at $100,000, Class C ($225) at $300,000, Class B ($300) at $500,000, and Class A ($450) has no cap.
Trade licenses often move the cost to the individual. A master electrician or master plumber pays an exam fee and a personal license fee, as the Maine, Kentucky, and New Jersey rows and state notes show, and the contracting business may then need its own license or registration on top.
A carpenter license is rarely its own credential. Most states treat carpentry as general or specialty contracting, so a carpenter pays the same board fees as any other contractor in that classification; in California, framing and rough carpentry is the C-5 classification, and it carries the same $450 application and $200 or $350 initial license fee as every other CSLB classification.
How to Budget for Your License, Step by Step
- Confirm who issues the license where you will work. Use the "Who issues it" column. If your state has no statewide license, call the city or county building department for the jobs you plan to take.
- Pick the classification and the job size you need. The limit you request drives the financial test in states like North Carolina, South Carolina, Nevada, and Tennessee.
- Add the board's fees. Application fee plus any separate license fee, from the "Application and license fees" column.
- Add the exam fees for every person who must test. Business and Law plus the trade exam, paid to the vendor, and plan for a retake.
- Price the bond or prepare the financial statement. Get the face amount from the bond table, then ask a surety for the premium; if the state wants a CPA reviewed or audited statement, add the accountant's fee.
- Price the insurance the board names. General liability at the stated minimum, plus workers compensation if you have employees.
- Add the recovery or guaranty fund and any education. Arizona, Connecticut, Minnesota, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, and Virginia collect fund payments; Florida, Ohio, Minnesota, and Massachusetts require continuing education.
- Put the renewal on your calendar. Licenses in the tables cost you again every one to three years, and late penalties start soon after the deadline.
What the Tables Do Not Include
A handful of costs sit outside any state's core license fee and are easy to miss when budgeting:
- Recovery or guaranty funds. Several states add a mandatory fund contribution on top of the license fee itself: Minnesota's Contractor Recovery Fund fee runs $320 to $520 with each application and two year renewal, in place of a bond. Connecticut's $220 home improvement registration fee includes $100 for the Home Improvement Guaranty Fund, paid at application and at each annual renewal (C.G.S. 20-432). Maryland's Guaranty Fund adds $100 at initial licensure and $175 at each two year renewal to the MHIC fee, and Massachusetts layers a $100 to $500 Guaranty Fund surcharge onto Home Improvement Contractor registration by employee count. Nevada's residential contractors pay a Residential Recovery Fund assessment of $200, $500, or $1,000 by monetary limit, before the license issues and every two years.
- Continuing education. Florida requires 14 hours of continuing education per renewal, Ohio requires 10 hours every year, Minnesota's qualifying person needs 14 hours per two year cycle, and Massachusetts' Construction Supervisor License requires 12 units per cycle. Course providers, not the state, set the price of the class.
- Background and fingerprint checks. Maine's Master Electrician and Master Plumber applications each add a $21 background check. Utah's Division of Professional Licensing will require a fingerprint based background check for contractor applicants starting January 1, 2027.
- Late and reinstatement fees. North Dakota adds a $50 penalty for a renewal filed after the March 1 deadline and no later than June 1, after which the contractor must apply for a new license. Kansas adds a $75 late fee in Johnson County after February 1. West Virginia bars renewal entirely once a license has lapsed 90 days. Wisconsin adds a $200 administrative fee to reinstate a credential more than one term past expiration, and Washington charges $70.90 to reinstate a suspended registration.
- Bond premiums and insurance. The bond and financial statement amounts in the tables are the coverage a state requires, not what an applicant pays for it. The premium on a bond and the cost of general liability and workers compensation insurance are set by private sureties and carriers based on credit and claims history, not by any board, so they are not part of the fee tables above.
How This Fee Table Was Verified
Every row above traces to the board, division, or statute named in the "Who issues it" column, not to a secondary aggregator. Where we could not confirm a figure with the board, the statute, or the exam vendor, the cell says "not stated" or the state note links to the board rather than filling in an estimate.
The rows were first built from July 14, 2026 to September 5, 2026, and on September 27, 2026 every row was reopened at its board, its statute, or the exam vendor's current bulletin. Figures we could not confirm that day came out of the cells, and many rows gained figures the boards publish, such as renewal fees.
Connecticut's Department of Consumer Protection publishes a single $220 nonrefundable application fee for home improvement registration, and the statute behind it, C.G.S. 20-432, builds that figure from a $120 registration fee and a $100 annual Guaranty Fund fee, so the row shows both. Arizona's Registrar publishes its actual fees, which sit inside the ceilings in A.R.S. 32-1126: up to $500 for an original general residential license, $1,500 general commercial, $2,000 general dual, $350 specialty residential, $1,000 specialty commercial, and $1,350 specialty dual.
Who Qualifies the License for Your Company
Once you know what a state's license actually costs, the harder question is usually who on your team can qualify it. Most states that issue a statewide contractor license require a named individual, called an RMO (Responsible Managing Officer), RME (Responsible Managing Employee), qualifying party, qualifying individual, or designated employee depending on the state, to pass the exam and carry the experience that gets your company's license issued. Minnesota, for example, will not let a qualifying person serve a second company's license unless the companies share at least 25 percent common ownership.
If nobody on staff meets that bar yet, The Licensing Company places a licensed qualifying agent with your company as a real W-2 employee who actually supervises the work, so your company can qualify for its license and start bidding while you build your own team's credentials. See what a qualifying agent does on What Is a Qualifying Agent, or go straight to hire a qualifying agent.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is a contractors license?
It depends on the state, because each state board sets its own fees. Counting exams, the first time state fees for one license in our tables run from $70 in Montana, with no exam, to over $1,000 in Nevada once the $300 application, $600 license fee, and $140 in exams are added. The bond, insurance, and any recovery fund come on top.
How much does it cost to get licensed and bonded?
Add the state fees from the first table to the bond premium and insurance. The state sets the bond amount, such as $25,000 in California or $30,000 for a Washington general contractor, but the surety sets the premium based on your credit. Ask a surety for a quote once you know the face amount.
How much is a general contractor license?
In states that license general contractors statewide, the board fees in our table start under $100, such as $50 for a Mississippi residential license (one classification, plus a $120 PSI exam per portion) or $75 for a North Carolina Limited license (G.S. 87-10). They run through $400 for a Virginia Class A license plus the $25 Recovery Fund assessment, and Nevada charges $900 ($300 application plus the $600 license fee) before exams. The bigger cost is the financial test, which grows with the job size the license allows. Twenty five states issue no statewide general contractor license at all.
How much does a carpenter license cost?
Most states do not issue a separate carpenter license; carpentry falls under general or specialty contracting. In California, framing and rough carpentry is the C-5 classification, and it costs the same $450 application fee plus $200 or $350 initial license fee as any other classification. In a state with no statewide license, the city or county sets the fee.
Which state has the lowest contractor license fee?
It depends on what you count, because boards split the cost differently. Counting exams, the smallest first time bill for a state license in our tables is Montana's Construction Contractor License at $70, with no exam and no bond. Single fees can be smaller: Hawaii's application is $50 with the license fee and an $80 PSI exam on top, and Mississippi's residential license is $50 per classification plus a $120 PSI exam per portion.
A North Carolina Limited license is $75 plus a $79 PSI exam (G.S. 87-10), and a North Dakota Class D license is $100 with no exam but caps a single job at $100,000 (N.D.C.C. 43-07-07). Exams, bonds and recovery funds often cost more than the fee itself. Several registration states charge less, such as Nebraska at $40 a year, but a registration is not an exam based license.
Is the exam fee included in the application fee?
Usually not. Most states pay the testing vendor separately, such as PSI, Prov, or Pearson VUE, and charge per attempt. California is the main exception: the CSLB application fee covers the exams.
How often do I pay again?
Many licenses renew every two years, and the renewal fee is often close to the original license fee. North Dakota, Rhode Island, and Texas trade licenses renew every year, and Michigan and Missouri's statewide electrical license run three year cycles. A late renewal adds a penalty in most states.
Do I have to pay into a recovery or guaranty fund?
In some states, yes. Minnesota charges a Contractor Recovery Fund fee of $320, $420, or $520 by gross annual receipts, Maryland collects $100 at licensure and $175 at renewal, Virginia adds a $25 Recovery Fund assessment, and Nevada's residential contractors pay $200, $500, or $1,000 by monetary limit. These are paid on top of the license fee.
Talk to The Licensing Company
Marshall Schofield and Jeremiah Jaskulski built The Licensing Company around one question contractors ask every day: who can qualify this license so the company can start working? If the fees make sense but the experience or exam requirement does not, we can talk through your state, your trade, and the job size you want to bid.
Browse every state's requirements on our state licensing guides, or read the full picture of contractor licensing on our contractor license pillar page. When you are ready, hire a qualifying agent or call 615-219-2110.
Sources
All pages below were opened on 2026-09-27. Rows in the tables dated earlier carry the board or statute named in the row, checked on the date shown.
- California Contractors State License Board, list of all CSLB fees, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Nevada State Contractors Board, general requirements FAQ, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Nevada State Contractors Board, license requirements, retrieved 2026-09-27
- North Dakota Century Code chapter 43-07, including 43-07-07 and 43-07-10, retrieved 2026-09-27
- North Carolina General Statutes 87-10, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Virginia Administrative Code 18VAC50-22-100, Board for Contractors fees, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Washington Department of Labor and Industries, register as a contractor, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Revised Code of Washington 18.27.040, contractor bond, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Oregon Construction Contractors Board, CCB license, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Oregon Construction Contractors Board, endorsement chart, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, fees, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Arizona Revised Statutes 32-1126, contractor fees, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Arizona Registrar of Contractors, license and renewal fees, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, residential contractor licensing, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Florida Statutes 489.115, renewals and continuing education, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Florida DBPR, Construction Industry Licensing Board, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General, home improvement contractor registration, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General, contractor frequently asked questions, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Nebraska Department of Labor, contractor registration, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Maryland Home Improvement Commission, forms and fees, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, home improvement contractor applications, retrieved 2026-09-27
- New Mexico Administrative Code 14.5.5, Construction Industries Division fees, retrieved 2026-09-27
- South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 40 Chapter 11, including 40-11-260, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Minnesota Statutes 326B.89, Contractor Recovery Fund, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Connecticut General Statutes chapter 400, including 20-432, retrieved 2026-09-27
- North Carolina 21 NCAC 12A .0204, license limitations and financial requirements, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Alaska 12 AAC 02.180 and AS 08.18.071, contractor fees and bonds, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Georgia State Licensing Board for Residential and General Contractors, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Hawaii Contractors License Board, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, guaranty agreement and bond information, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners, administrative rules, retrieved 2026-09-27
- NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection, home improvement contractor license checklist, retrieved 2026-09-27
- Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Rule R156-55a, retrieved 2026-09-27
Disclaimer: This article is provided for educational and informational purposes only. It does not constitute legal advice, licensing guidance, or an offer of services. Licensing requirements vary by jurisdiction. For specific compliance questions, contact The Licensing Company for a confidential consultation.